Strategy Changes: Round 17 Sydney Swans vs. Fremantle Dockers

Can everyone please stop using the word average as if they mean to say mediocre, bad, or poor. Average does not mean any of things! It means... average, and there are three types of average:
  1. Median;
  2. Mode; and
  3. Mean.
There is no such thing as very average, more average, extremely average, bog average, or subtly average. They are all the same thing: average.

Every time I read a player is average I am wondering why this is being phrased as an insult. If you're referring to mean, please specify exactly what standard deviation from the mean equates to a player being average. Most AFL players are close to the average. That is what average means. So, in fact, most AFL players are... average!

Average certainly does not mean that that player is below AFL quality. Do you mean the average AFL player that is currently playing AFL, or do you mean all AFL players total? Or do you mean all footballers? In the last example, all AFL players are exceptionally above average.

There, it's been said. Rant over.

Can everyone please stop using the word average as if they mean to say mediocre, bad, or poor. Average does not mean any of things! It means... average, and there are three types of average:
  1. Median;
  2. Mode; and
  3. Mean.
There is no such thing as very average, more average, extremely average, bog average, or subtly average. They are all the same thing: average.

Every time I read a player is average I am wondering why this is being phrased as an insult. If you're referring to mean, please specify exactly what standard deviation from the mean equates to a player being average. Most AFL players are close to the average. That is what average means. So, in fact, most AFL players are... average!

Average certainly does not mean that that player is below AFL quality. Do you mean the average AFL player that is currently playing AFL, or do you mean all AFL players total? Or do you mean all footballers? In the last example, all AFL players are exceptionally above average.

Strongest Man GIF by HISTORY UK

1. Median;
  2. Mode; and
  3. Mean.

Could also mean the average football player which equates to a C grade amateur footballer so average to an afl player is an insult

I have zero idea how either Bolton or Voss have escaped any sanction at all.

I think we need to drop Amiss now.

Shame about Fyfe - honestly think we should tap him on the shoulder to retire. If he can't make it through a warm up we can't afford to carry him into games for the rest of the year or finals.
Hope Fyfe maybe can get fit enough to have a farewell game against the Eagles (probably as the sub) but that's about it now unfortunately.

There’s up to six inches of rain falling on Sydney the next day or two but then no rain to our game

1. Median;
  2. Mode; and
  3. Mean.

Not an Aussie so always found this amusing when I come here first.
However isn’t it almost universally accepted that the term “average” means shit? Especially in footy circles.

Ordinary is another one.
Eg: Garry Lyon on fox most weekends:
“That was a pretty ordinary effort by the North Melbourne defence today Gerard”

Translates as: the North defence has been absolutely terrible today.

If the game is going ahead in SCG (and let's face it, there's almost no chance they are moving it), I'd be very hesitant to bring Pearce back in, even he is fit...we really need a fit and firing Pearce in our run home..
I just can't see them pushing his return this week, especially for an away game when there's travel involved. And speculation on ground quality/safety. Best case scenario he is back next week at home vs Hawks.

SCG seems to be getting a fair bit of media this week, I'm thinking the game is going to get moved.
Its pissing down today.

Ironically my work is actually replacing a door in the Clive Churchill stand today at the SCG.

I asked the 2 x contractors to take there flippers and snorkel with them.

Hasn't stoppee

1. Median;
  2. Mode; and
  3. Mean.

Average rant
React Tbh GIF by Celebrity Apprentice Australia

Banfield isn't coming out or going sub. Dudley/Erasmus might go to the sub.
Could also mean the average football player which equates to a C grade amateur footballer so average to an afl player is an insult
No not really, it means he's an average AFL player which is heaps better than a C grade amateur footballer.

Banfield with the left foot has been very useful out of defense. Stands out like an extra thumb how useful it's been. Moves Chapman to the corner of the centre square and has Banfield out by the boundary for the eventual kick down the line on his natural foot - where as Chapman will try and cut back inside to get onto his right foot. Sometimes that works, sometimes it's holding the ball against right on the edge of our defensive fifty.

Banners sending the ball up field on his left foot has made movement more predictable and reliable.

If Banfield isn't going to play defense forever, can we please look for another left footer to play there?

Have to defend 'ordinary' and 'average' as classic Aussie understatement, like 'feeling a bit crook' when you're at death's door or describing Nigella Lawson as 'a bit of a babe'.

And I reckon I'd rather be described as an average footballer than a 'mean' one.

Banfield with the left foot has been very useful out of defense. Stands out like an extra thumb how useful it's been. Moves Chapman to the corner of the centre square and has Banfield out by the boundary for the eventual kick down the line on his natural foot - where as Chapman will try and cut back inside to get onto his right foot. Sometimes that works, sometimes it's holding the ball against right on the edge of our defensive fifty.

Banners sending the ball up field on his left foot has made movement more predictable and reliable.

If Banfield isn't going to play defense forever, can we please look for another left footer to play there?
Yes.
Hayden Young.
Really think for his longevity and conditioning, he needs to go back to defence. Build confidence and back up whenever needed

1. Median;
  2. Mode; and
  3. Mean.

If you want to win a premiership, average is pretty average, averagely speaking.

1. Median;
  2. Mode; and
  3. Mean.

Ummm actually …

There are many more measures of the average than those 3,

There are things like the harmonic mean, geometric mean, trimmed mean, mid range, mid hinge etc

But true none of them equate to a meaning of poor.

However i don’t mind the interpretation of averaging over all footballers. So if you say the defence has been average today in an AFL context, it’s bad. However if you’re playing with your mates at the park and they say that effort at tackling was average welll then it’s probably a complement!

1. Median;
  2. Mode; and
  3. Mean.

Thats a pretty average post I gotta say.:):););)

Strategy Changes: Round 17 Sydney Swans vs. Fremantle Dockers