Strategy Changes: Round 7 Fremantle Dockers vs Adelaide Crows

Big big game for JLo this one. Possibly in my mind his biggest. Not because of the importance of the game in the context of the season but because of what he has said in the presser and what he has allegedly said at training and what he has implored them to do.

It sounds to me like he has finally wandered on to the problems of forward 50 pressure and manning up through the corridor and not letting oppo players slink out wide of the contest whilst all our ball hunters gather into the congestion. Hes noticed it, hes mentioned it and now he`s presumably, training it.

Half of me is hoping he has only just noticed it and now, the boys will listen and he will coach them to prevent it and we instantly become a 20% better team overnight. It is possible.

I`ll admit Ive become a reluctant but solid critic of the coaches. If he finally learns and his team responds to these specific things he has mentioned, then Im OK with waiting longer. If he is just a slow learner but he gets there in the end, then I have the patience.

I dont care if the Crows beat us but I want to see every one of their possessions come under the most ferocious heat they`ve experienced this year, not one Crow to have more than one second before they`re ripped to the ground! When the Crows get the ball I want to see every Docker close the gap to their man and give them absolutely no outlet. Especially in the forward 50. I want to see uncontested Crow marks hit an all time low.

If we see a team that doesnt massively improve their defensive forward half pressure and gets slaughtered in the midfield centre bounce through poor strategic match ups and positioning and the post match presser starts with "we didnt get our handover right with Rankine", Im gonna go straight to the Vent thread. There are literally no excuses if Switta, Freddy et al turn up with 4 tackles for a game again.

In the meantime, in the spirit of Easter, hope and miraculous rebirths and the courage of the Anzacs, come on JLo, I`m barracking for you, go Freo, you can still do this!!

Figarty has been ruled out apparently, not flying
well last week I thought the outs + May not making it worked in Freo's favour...and looked what happened there! Adelaide still have plenty of weapons to hurt, so it's about effort; intensity, method and execution now and whether that's good enough to over-run the Crows

I've posted this in the 'media' section but thought it is just as relevant here.

Stumbled across this pod called 'Freo Faithful' a couple of weeks ago and I gotta say, I'm bloody impressed with this young lad's (Noah) footy brain/analysis. His insight, knowledge of Freo, the competition as a whole and strategy is remarkable.

Here's his analysis of the upcoming game against the Crows. Check it out and give him a thumbs up. He makes some well informed calls here.

Well done Noah and keep up the great work lad!

I've posted this in the 'media' section but thought it is just as relevant here.

Stumbled across this pod called 'Freo Faithful' a couple of weeks ago and I gotta say, I'm bloody impressed with this young lad's (Noah) footy brain/analysis. His knowledge of Freo, the competition as a whole and strategy is remarkable.

Here's his analysis of the upcoming game against the Crows. Check it out and give him a thumbs up. He makes some well informed calls here.

G’day Noah (or Noah’s dad), welcome aboard mate.

Been playing midfield for Peel so I'm thinking he will play JOM's role. Don't think we play him as a midfielder for Peel and then make him play forward for Freo

Big big game for JLo this one. Possibly in my mind his biggest. Not because of the importance of the game in the context of the season but because of what he has said in the presser and what he has allegedly said at training and what he has implored them to do.

It sounds to me like he has finally wandered on to the problems of forward 50 pressure and manning up through the corridor and not letting oppo players slink out wide of the contest whilst all our ball hunters gather into the congestion. Hes noticed it, hes mentioned it and now he`s presumably, training it.

Half of me is hoping he has only just noticed it and now, the boys will listen and he will coach them to prevent it and we instantly become a 20% better team overnight. It is possible.

I`ll admit Ive become a reluctant but solid critic of the coaches. If he finally learns and his team responds to these specific things he has mentioned, then Im OK with waiting longer. If he is just a slow learner but he gets there in the end, then I have the patience.

I dont care if the Crows beat us but I want to see every one of their possessions come under the most ferocious heat they`ve experienced this year, not one Crow to have more than one second before they`re ripped to the ground! When the Crows get the ball I want to see every Docker close the gap to their man and give them absolutely no outlet. Especially in the forward 50. I want to see uncontested Crow marks hit an all time low.

If we see a team that doesnt massively improve their defensive forward half pressure and gets slaughtered in the midfield centre bounce through poor strategic match ups and positioning and the post match presser starts with "we didnt get our handover right with Rankine", Im gonna go straight to the Vent thread. There are literally no excuses if Switta, Freddy et al turn up with 4 tackles for a game again.

In the meantime, in the spirit of Easter, hope and miraculous rebirths and the courage of the Anzacs, come on JLo, I`m barracking for you, go Freo, you can still do this!!
Well said.
Big apols for being a cracked record on tackling, but imo Freo players' tackling technique is woeful apart from Andy Brayshaw (also our Rising Star who does a neat minimalist arm grab). Most seem to tackle round waist or lower and it slides off like water off the proverbial.
Where are the boys going wrong?

Stumbled across this pod called 'Freo Faithful' a couple of weeks ago and I gotta say, I'm bloody impressed with this young lad's (Noah) footy brain/analysis. His insight, knowledge of Freo, the competition as a whole and strategy is remarkable.

Noah you little ripper! Splendid stuff.
Sad that you're not tipping Freo to win this one - I hope this is the one part of your analysis that's not on the money.

How ?

Fyfe is certainly retiring.
Brodie is definitely out.
Erasmus asks for a trade.

That leaves us with no depth for midfield.
JOM is out of contract end of 2026.

Unless we’re going for Warner, Johnson and most likely Erasmus needs to be persisted with
I agree. We need to use 3 of SSP, delisted free agency and rookie selection and perhaps our 4th rounder to bring in ready to go state league midfielders. 21-25 years old. Our midfield depth is terrible already and if we loose Fyfe and Brodie, (who could b paid out) its even worse. I agree we need to keep Erasmus.

cobie smulders dancing GIF

Let's go to the Freo game everybodyyyyyy

Sparkle Narkle

No, my time is valuable. If the team isn't putting in an effort worthy of me spending that time on them then I am fully within my rights to walk away early.

If the team is trying their guts out but lose, I'll stay. If the team aren't putting the effort in, as per a couple of the losses this year, I have no issue with an early exit.

Exactly the same as watching them on TV - i'll change the channel if they aren't putting effort in.
Don't call yourself a supporter then

You are a viewer

It's pissweak to leave early if you are a supporter

Rachele and Rankine will smash us up forward.
Think we lose, but it'll be how we lose that will be the interesting part.
I agree with above, this is Longmuir's most important game in his tenure.

Strategy Changes: Round 7 Fremantle Dockers vs Adelaide Crows