Prediction Changes v Essendon

Cue in the rack mate, job was done.

Here is the thing though.

Reverse the halves, and we would probably be less scathing of the performance. If you had a slow start and finish strong, you are probably less likely to be upset than starting very strongly then falling away. You are always left with the feeling of a downer, but if you finish in pulsating fashion you are left feeling a bit better about it.

However - the same common theme of not getting return for our entries is a real problem. If Dixon or Gray don't kick a bag, most of our goals come from midfielders. S. Gary and Boak (who admitted his role this year was seeing him spend significant time further forward) for example, are not kicking enough goals to justify the time spent up forward. Our obsession with the defensive forward is probably a lot to do with this.

This attitude separates the also rans from the successful club. It runs through Port from selection night, through to our (non-) trading and 'one too many' contracts and overly long contracts. Whether we win, lose or draw, it should always be about can we make the side better?
Overreaction to what i said.

I think we are playing better more consistent footy this year because the side is more settled with little injuries. Obviously Wingard is automatic inclusion but the others are not so obvious for mine. 3 or more changes normally only occurs when a side is playing like sh!t and things need to be shaked up but it doesn't always work. And that sort of disruption to a winning team is very unusual not just for the PAFC.

If it was Wingard, Ebert and Dixon all due back from injury or suspension then yes, but it's Wingard and any other change is questionable as to whether it improves us or not.

Here is the thing though.

Reverse the halves, and we would probably be less scathing of the performance. If you had a slow start and finish strong, you are probably less likely to be upset than starting very strongly then falling away. You are always left with the feeling of a downer, but if you finish in pulsating fashion you are left feeling a bit better about it.

However - the same common theme of not getting return for our entries is a real problem. If Dixon or Gray don't kick a bag, most of our goals come from midfielders. S. Gary and Boak (who admitted his role this year was seeing him spend significant time further forward) for example, are not kicking enough goals to justify the time spent up forward. Our obsession with the defensive forward is probably a lot to do with this.
Don't get me wrong, i actually cracked the shits in the last quarter because i wanted an 100 point win and i think the first half dominance warranted that. It reminded me of the Choco 2001-2004 days. However, after a good nights sleep i woke up and appreciated that the first half was easily our best half of the season for mine. It was a masterclass in defensive pressure. Things dropped off in the second half but we still got a decent win. Not dissimilar to the Richmond EF of 2014.

We got a fair return from a shots on goal perspective, we just kicked like poo for goals, another common theme of this year. Not sure how easily that is fixed.

I agree, but I think this where the frustration comes from 1.7 in the third better teams would have had a chance to Brisbane in the rain us. Being conservative Kick 4.4 and we would of probably got that 100 point win. Our God modes are something to behold it's just what comes after people are frustrated with.

While it's all hypothetical you can see why people are frustrated given our history.

With Amon not coming back I wouldn't mind seeing Bonner get a run. Pace and a penetrating kick, would give us what we miss with Amon being out.

I reckon he is about 10th in the overall queue unless we specifically get injuries to our "small" defenders, then he is about 3rd or 4th in the defensive queue

Toumpas for Wingard will likely be our only change?

I'd like to see Hartlett further up the ground with Amon out. Will play well at Etihad.
Hartlett needs to get back in the middle of the ground for clearances with his 50m bombs.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Toumpas worries me on a fast ground like Etihad. Last week he looked slow and had the 'deer in the headlights' game about him. On a fast ground like Etihad, we can't afford to have those types of lapses. That being said, his second half was much better than his first, so maybe there's something there.

Apart from Wingard coming back in, I doubt anyone else is going to get a game. I'd be inclined to drop Toumpas for Wingard though especially considering we want to play Wingard more in the midfield, and Toump played pretty much as a winger the majority of the game last week. Oh well, we'll find out in 2 days what the plan is fortunately.

I reckon he is about 10th in the overall queue unless we specifically get injuries to our "small" defenders, then he is about 3rd or 4th in the defensive queue

In terms of players making an impact, sure I get what you're saying.

But Amon is in the side to provide run, carry and long kicking off half back. He is a metre eater.

If you are picking for best type in form as opposed to best in form, Bonner is the logical replacement for Amon. Bonner had another solid performance on the weekend and some eye-catching moments.

Granted Toumpas had the gig last week, but with Wingard coming back in (for Young by my smoky crystal ball) then Bonner would be a good chance to come in for Toumpas. Especially considering the extra carry of the ball at Etihad.

If it's out of Toumpas and Young to make way for Wingard, then I hope it is Toumpas. Mainly because Young, whilst horribly below last years standard, at least is a forward, and that is where we need to improve. If he can click, then suddenly our forwardline looks a whole lot more dangerous. It's definitely notn going to be dangerous if we just keep resting mids in there.

Ideally now though with Amon ruled out, I would like Wingard and Monfries for Toumpas and Young. Maybe Neade instead of Monfries if we want to roll the dice.

In terms of players making an impact, sure I get what you're saying.

But Amon is in the side to provide run, carry and long kicking off half back. He is a metre eater.

If you are picking for best type in form as opposed to best in form, Bonner is the logical replacement for Amon. Bonner had another solid performance on the weekend and some eye-catching moments.

Granted Toumpas had the gig last week, but with Wingard coming back in (for Young by my smoky crystal ball) then Bonner would be a good chance to come in for Toumpas. Especially considering the extra carry of the ball at Etihad.

I reckon AJ would be ahead of Bonner for that role but both probably need to string together a bit more in the SANFL before they get a gig and we may well see a Krak get back in before them should he string a few together. Anyway this is my guess into Hinkley's thinking.

I reckon it straight Wingard for toumpas. I would like Monfries for young as well but I don't think it will happen.

Out - Toumpas too slow for Docklands. Young - doesn't do enough
In - Wingard assuming he is fit. Eddy - I want to see someone who can kick goals and is hungry to kick goals to cement their place. I'm sick of shit conversion and rubbish set shots from simple angles.

.....I reckon it straight Wingard for toumpas. I would like Monfries for young as well but I don't think it will happen.

Listening to Lade, Wingard in for Toumpas sounds right.
I had a big question mark over Gus at the start of the year, but with his and Young's form, that should be a straight swap for this game.