- Banned
Griff will be back. Wouldn't be surprised to see Post, Browne OR Astbury in for Derrickx. One of the three will get a gig this week I reckon.

StK v HAW · CAR v GEE · SYD v RIC · BL v FRE · WB v COL · MEL v GWS · WCE v ESS ·
Weekend Wrap and "Liked, Learned, Hated" right here -- How did tipping go?
x4plus 3
Our coach made an interesting statement during the pre-season that only about half the positions in the side were currently claimed by players. I don't think his motivation is to play untried second tier kids in roles, there just wasn't anyone who had been playing the roles well enough and we had to try different players in different roles. The only senior player that is playing now that wasn't playing at the start of the year is Grima, and that was due to injury. The reason for the change of form is because the second tier group has stepped up and some are pushing to be first tier and claim roles that were previously unclaimed.
I can't think of any 'second tier' or 'young' player that was getting games ahead of anyone that was playing well. The only senior players not in the side are Edwards, McKinley, Pedersen, Richardson, Warren and Greenwood. Edwards played early in the season, was good early but his form dropped off quite savagely in the end before he got dropped and he was the best performing of that senior group. Pedersen has had deficiencies in the game he has been working on and is showing good form currently and should get a look if a position arises, but it is hard to make changes to a team currently playing well.
Not having injuries is a definite bonus, but it depends on who gets injured, our problem in 2010 and 2011 where we had a lot of injuries was we got hit in terms of core players and depth players in the same role which made it hard to cope with.
Guys like Atley, Wright, Harper, etc might be considered second tier but they are evolving into roles and filling roles that have been left vacant or aren't being filled by senior players. Atley has taken over Rawling's role from retirement, Wright has taken over Greenwood's run-with/utlity role and offensively he is far more potent than Greenwood, but Greenwood has been in terrible form this year and doesn't deserve a senior game. Harper has also largely pushed Campbell out of the side, he also hasn't had the form to warrant much footy. We are still giving kids games ahead of guys who are out of form.
Yes and no.Our best 22 are those who are currently playing well. Last year Pedersen, Greenwood, Edwards, etc were in our best 22, they are not in our current best 22 this year. The benefit of fewer injuries is your pool of available players is larger, it comes down to who gets injured and what form they are in. We are in good form because that second tier of good quality young kids is forcing older players with much more significant limitations out of the side. We have had injuries to some important players, they just haven't been long-term thankfully.
Question is if the form will hold or not and if we cop injuries who gets injured and how easy are they to replace while maintaining the structure of the side.
On form Roos should win
I personally thought you guys were in trouble for the rest of the year after the Hawks game so just shows how quick things can turn around.
If the Tigers can get some of there earlier year form back this weekend and play 4 consistent quarters then we are a big chance
i also think if Petrie and Adams don't play this will also even things up especially now with Ziebell out.
However if we play like we did against the GC then we will get beaten badly.
Im hoping that we can do what you guys did 5 weeks ago and turn things around starting this week.
If only it were that simple. When the siren blew against the GC Suns, we had more points than them![]()
![]()
McGuane aint going anywhere, has done the job. Marks, tackles, pressure, goals.
Griff comes back also, so no to Astbury and Post.
I'm still confused re Webberley, playing crap or not, a very early sub out last week. But if they did just sub him out, he's finished...wow. Promoted then executed in 7 days.
I agree. Tas is welcome.I appreciate your input, you know your club well.
Out: Batchelor(inj) McGuane Webberley Derickx Graham(all omit)
In: Martin Jackson Maric Post Astbury
B: Newman Rance Morris
HB: Houli Moore Dea
C: Grigg Martin Ellis
HF: Deledio Post Conca
F: Edwards Riewoldt Nahas
R: I.Maric Cotchin Tuck
INT: Astbury Jackson A.Maric
SUB: O'Hanlon
Still have no idea who is second ruck if Gus and TD are dropped
And with Maric playing hurt, we need a genuine second ruck, because he's probably only going to be able to shoulder 60-70% of the load rather than 80-90% (and there is a risk he'll break down), so Miller/Post/Elton just wont cut it.
On that basis, I'm guessing Gus will stay.
So you dont give the Browne Dog a chance for a call up? Tipping he might get the call up, as there are going to be ramifications from last week, at the selection table this week. One of them surely will be Gus's inability to have a relevant impact on a game, which in the cold light of day, he was up against 1st and 2nd year players and should have racked up the numbers.
A mate just offered me $52 (twice TAB odds) on Tigers winning by 80+. I have to bite.
$100 wager. I know it's highly unlikely, but a value bet doesn't always have to win to make it worth the punt
A mate just offered me $52 (twice TAB odds) on Tigers winning by 80+. I have to bite.
$100 wager. I know it's highly unlikely, but a value bet doesn't always have to win to make it worth the punt
Nice odds, but when was the last time we beat a side by 80 points?!
Yeah, though I'd need to pick him up off the floor first. It was his idea and he's probably got that in his car ashtraySo your "mate" will actually produce the 5 large if it gets up?