Changes versus Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter Chrizzt

So you should, you are closer to the bottom, we have been there and are further advanced. There was nothing wrong with us believing we were flag fancies, the boys did enough to convince us, not only us but the media. Has the show flopped? Season is early, I'd say the first stanza wasn't what people were expecting, however a grand croscendo could still prevail.
Lel my ****ing mum wasnt born when you ***** won your one

Hopefully the desperation and intensity is back this week , we have the talent just need to match the intensity of these teams and we should come out on top . If we don't we'll get rolled again . Come Onnnnnnnnnn !

With Cornes retiring there is a pace for Moore or Young in the 25 but not both.

who do you think out of the two would be able to do the run with role? not so much as a tagger but a player than can run with the oppositions best midfeilder?

I think Moore has that question covered quite easily..

must admit though, I am a big fan of Young and would love to see him as a regular at AFL level.

In reality, both are at risk of seeking trades if they don't get more game time - whether they deserve it or not.

I'm expecting
IN: Wines, Carlile
OUT: O'Shea, White

However, it'll never happen but.............

If it was me selecting the team however there'd be some major changes, mainly to inject run and make our midfield as deep as possible. I'd be going:
IN: Wines, Carlile, Moore, Young, Neade
OUT: White, O'Shea, Amon, Krak, Impey

FF: Ryder, Schulz, Neade
HF: Monfries, Westhoff, Wingard
C: B Ebert, Gray, Hartlett
HB: Broadbent, Hombsch, Pittard
FB: Trengove, Carlile, Jonas
R: Lobbe, Wines, Boak
INT: Moore, Young, K Cornes
SUB: Mitchell

EMG: Krak, Amon, AhChee, White, O'Shea, Impey, Colquhoun, S Gray, Stewart

- For mine Krak is playing outstanding footy but his lack of fitness is alarming and hurting us massively. He needs to build up his tank in the SANFL or play as sub. Watching him leave holes in our zone against WCE and fail to feature at all in the last half the last 2 weeks has said to me that no matter how well he is playing we can't carry unfit players in our game style when we have already lost some run due to the inclusion of Ryder.
- Amon looked quite good, very servicable. Look forward to seeing more of him but right now we need an injection of energy in our forward half, Neade brings that. He is a beautiful ball user, very composed and brings great pressure to our forward half. We need him back and he is playing well for the Maggies.
- White adds a bit with his pace, but at the end of the day he is a fringe player whose form has started to dip. For me we will get more from Young playing that HFF role, Young will give more of a presence in the clearances and open up the possibility of more goals in a flooded forward half, than White will who relies on uncontested ball. Young is a HFF and not a main clearance mid and I'd hope we eventually realise this and give him a chance to run and link through a HFF role.
- Moore, there's polarising opinions on this guy but for mine he comes in immediately. He is a good developing player and way ahead of AhChee for class at the moment. Our midfield rotation depth at the moment is an issue and not only can he help that but he can add a desperately needed big body in there.
Mitchell to sub, and give us that injection of run that he can provide. Hopefully we finally bite the bullet and use the sub on Lobbe too and really inject the run we need late. We can't forget that Trengove in ruck can give us something late that Lobbe can't.
- From here I see Hartlett, Broadbent and Pittard as rotating back flanks
- I see us having an extremely deep midfield and possessing a large amount of rotations and an incredible amount of run.
- I also see plenty of potential for forward line to mid rotations with Gray, Wingard, Moore, Boak, Wines, Young and Moore.
Outstanding analysis!

Was lucky enough to bump into Alipate today.
I gave him the hard word about Sunday and he said he's good to go.
He promised me that we'd win.
I trust him.

If Wines comes in this weekend, what role would Moore play. Moorey is big, but so is Wines. Wines is proven to run games out. Im less convinced with Moore as yet.

Agree with letting Krak have a rest in the twos. Can we see a return of Muffins for a bit of dash and sublime kicking

I just realised that we don't have to change the team at all this week, well besides bringing wines back in.

All that's needed is for me to finally remove my own 2014 membership sticker from the car and put this year's on.

I also never keep my membership cards and I still have let years in my wallet.

It has been my fault all along.... sorry.
And I need to start wearing my Tommy the Hitman Jonas badge to games again … he has been shite since that badge went missing

I might need to revert to my Ollie Wines members names prison bar guernsey as the Boaky EF prison bar has been shizen.

In for the Tiges is a new away jumper

367185-tlsnewslandscape.jpg

Seems that might have been the sensible solution last year, but then we wouldn't have seen this:

150520_richmondclash_620.jpg

Richmond to wear reverse strip

I am not confident about this weekend, not sure the boys are switched on this year. Have a horrible feeling that all our amazing work we have done in the past two and a half years is coming undone in the blink of an eye.

Oh no, really? I thought you might be all sunshine and rainbows this week...

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/ha...at-adelaide-oval/story-fndv8s6g-1227361846495
Hamish Hartlett says Port Adelaide can snap its 2015 funk with win over Richmond at Adelaide Oval
HAMISH Hartlett concedes Port Adelaide has reached the witching hour after its most confronting team inquest under Ken Hinkley – but de-bunked simplistic myths surrounding Darren Burgess and Phil Walsh.

Port has addressed its damaging Gabba loss to Brisbane with a stripped back midfield blueprint. Focus ahead of Sunday’s clash with Richmond at Adelaide Oval is on the “grunt” and “instinctive” tracking back Hinkley demands while preventing a repeat of the 10.6 triumphant Brisbane scored from stoppages last Sunday.
“We have probably gone away from a few things we were doing at stoppages last year and I know a few of us have spoken about it and it is something we will address through the week,” 97-game midfield ace Hartlett said.
More ...
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/ha...at-adelaide-oval/story-fndv8s6g-1227361846495
upload_2015-5-20_21-7-32.png
Hamish Hartlett ... says the Power must deliver against Richmond.

I've a feeling Neade will be in for some forward pressure.

Following that, Carlile & Wines

Outs: Mitchell, O'Shea & Amon

OUT: Westhoff, White, O'Shea, Mitchell, Amon
IN: Wines, Ah Chee, Carlile, Neade, Stewart

out; White, Mitchell, O'Shea ....and put Westhoff on notice...playing like a lazy disinterested spectator and also Jonas and Broadbent.
in; Wines, Ah Chee, Carlile
Amon showed in 1 quarter what others failed to do...got plenty of possessions and when he get the ball with his use of the ball we retained possession.. We should not play Amon, Ah Chee as subs but in the starting 21. It appears they automatically become subs because they ate the younger inexperienced player. That's bull shit as they were good enough to be selected start them.. Mitchel should never be selected again as his skills are simply not up to.
We have to get back some old fashion hunger and aggression at both the ball and player and be totally team focussed...what can I do for my team mate attitude...that is not there at the moment.
Could make a case for dropping a few others however I would reluctant to make whole sale changes but all must lift!
B Impey/Jonas, Carlile Hombsch
HB; Broadbent Trengove Pittard
C; Ebert Wines Amon
HF: Wingard Westhoff Gray
F; Ryder Schultz Monfries
R; Lobbe, Boak, Hartlett
Int; Cornes, Ah Chee, Jonas/Impey,
sub: Krak

I'm sure they remember the 11 and 12 pain to be too complacent.

As REH pointed out a freeo were 4 and 4 and Lyon quoted they were an average side. They came home strong.

I reckon you should give Wines one more week to really make sure he's alright, dont wan't to rush him back :thumbsu:

This game is hard to read, you guys obviously haven't been playing great footy and neither have we, although Sunday was definitely a step forward for us. Game could be close, or you could snap into form and whack us it's really hard to tell. If I was you guys I'd certainly be expecting nothing less than your boys coming out spitting fire this week which worries me.

Goodluck for the weekend (not too much), hope it's a good hard game with no injuries to either side.