Unofficial Preview Changes vs Adelaide (thread closed, please post in Game Day thread)

• Thread starter Thread starter Nicco_jj

I don't think Seedsman had a very good game in the VFL yesterday. Probably lacks match fitness. Tried to take on their big ruckman & couldn't even get around him. Plus he needs game time. Playing him as sub would be a mistake. Dwyer & Gault I agree.

Didn't watch the game but I thought he was in the best.

No sub ever makes an impact when they come on. You can't come on late in the 3rd and be up with the tempo of the game. I understand what your saying about rushing him in but he deserves another game. You also don't want him to loose any confidence either by dropping him
That's exactly what a sub's role is, to make an impact regardless of the time, environment or whether the game is in the balance or not. Degoey would be well aware its unlikely he'll play every game and if we've got senior players who are in the ressys who can make more of an impact you play them. His Carlton game wasn't great, he played well against an ordinary VFL Richmond side and he had little impact last night. Play Dwyer if he's right, let Degoey blitz in the ressys playing more game time for the next few weeks and then select him to play again and let him rip. I cant see that killing the kids confidence as he seems to be a very mature kid.

Oxley will be fine on last night's performance - subbed out with cramps but they'll want that precision delivery coming out of defence. I'd like to see Broomhead get a run next week. Not anything against Kennedy, I think people expect that given he was pick 19 he's a natural to be top 22 but there's tough competition - I hope he becomes a champion. Witts, Ried, Seedsman, Freeman, Scharenberg and Moore are all in the frame over the next few weeks and months. We'll have good wins like last night and no doubt drop a few but I like the direction.

Is it just me or does anyone else think that the club is not being totally honest regarding Reids injury. From memory he hurt his calf sometime around X-mas and we were told it is a minor thing. 15 weeks later he is still not playing due to "general soreness" My gut tells me there is more to this. Then again my gut also told me we would lose last night so maybe I am just jumping at shadows.

It was definitely nothing to do with me.

I would like to see us play three talls + a ruck. If Gault can take that second ruck role and allow White and Cloke to roam back and forth in our forward 50, we will be dangerous. It is the best way to separate defenders, by getting on your bike and running 70 metre sprints back and forth. It is that very trait that makes Nick Reiwoldt so very dangerous. Both Cloke, and now White with his leaner shape, can do that. And Gault or Grundy/Witts resting forward as the anchor big man, we are going to be hard to stop.

I'd bring Gault in for Sidebottom. We had 'extra' medium sized defenders and midfielders for Brisbane, due to opponent and conditions, then a tall for a medium probably brings us back to the 'balanced' side most people were expecting for round 1. De Goey as the sub again, as that allows us to re-balance if it turns out that we're too top heavy.

One final thing, Adelaide's new coach is Phil Walsh - a Ken Hinkley disciple from Port Adelaide - so I expect that his side will be one that runs hard and long. We need to make sure we recover. And by that, someone like Travis Varcoe, who I have no doubt came out of last night's game with a corky after Merret led in with his knees, needs to be cherry ripe. If there's an inkling of a doubt, then give him the week and bring in someone like Seedsman.

Dwyer was reportedly the best by a long way in the VFL game so he will go close
Kennedy also played well as did Seed

INS: Gault, Dwyer, Broomhead
OUTS: Sidebottom, DeGoey, Ramsay

B - Toovey Brown Sinclair
HB - Williams Frost Langdon
C - Crisp Pendlebury Varcoe
HF - Fasolo Cloke Goldsack
F - Elliott White Gault
R - Grundy Adams Swan
INT - Blair Dwyer Broomhead Oxley

Oxley will be fine on last night's performance - subbed out with cramps but they'll want that precision delivery coming out of defence. I'd like to see Broomhead get a run next week. Not anything against Kennedy, I think people expect that given he was pick 19 he's a natural to be top 22 but there's tough competition - I hope he becomes a champion. Witts, Ried, Seedsman, Freeman, Scharenberg and Moore are all in the frame over the next few weeks and months. We'll have good wins like last night and no doubt drop a few but I like the direction.

Oxley had 8 touches at 50% disposal efficiency and was like a headless chook early. Either he or Ramsay has to make way for Broomhead/Kennedy

I'm a bit perplexed at the deepness of love which Kennedy attracts, and I find it curious that BenKen would strike people as a natural and ready replacement for Sidey. Of course, we don't have anyone who can so what Sidebottom does, and he proved his value last night most emphatically.
I probably feel about Kennedy the way others do about Blair, Sinclair or Ramsey. The difference with Kennedy is that he is a first round draft pick. I will be surprised (overjoyed) if he ever becomes a good AFL player. With him I feel we played the midget card once too often and got bitten. Maybe we erred by attempting to keep together 3 SA mates. Broomhead needs to show that he is capable of stepping up to AFL football too, but as you say, seems to have more to offer, and a little more size, than Kennedy.

I thought he hurt his ankle?

Dwyer looked to Injured his Ankle in last Qtr

Minimal changes for mine, try and get as much consistantcy in the 22 as possible, obviously Sidey goes out and that will be the only change I reckon. Grundy has made it difficult for Witts to get a spot for now after that performance.

My comments are based on still not having seen the Brissie game

We need to bring in some players but be mindful of balancing the need to blood new kids vs having the experience throughout the rest of the team

Sidey out:
a like-for-like replacement would see someone such as Broomy come in...but although they are similar type players, there's a big difference in experience and ball winning ability (at this stage)
Dwyer would prob be the best one in terms of experience but i, not sure he'll come up with his ankle

Does Gault come in? If so, who's out?

DGo either has to play a full match or go back to the 2s to get some game time

The Ox - should he keep his spot - do we need to keep continuity in the team?

Ramsay - be harsh to drop him from a winning team and, as above, probably needs continuity to develop his game. However, is he too similar to Sinclair and therefore need to be dropped for team balance?

At this stage:
Out: Sidey / DGo
In: Broomy (unless Dwyer comes up) / Gault or PK
...im a bit worried about losing all Sidey's experience

Last VFL game watchers: any chance Freeman could be a left field choice?

I'll reserve an opinion until after I see Adelaide play today, but the one definite OUT is Sidebottom (injured :mad:), so the one definite IN is between Dwyer and Broomhead, Dwyer's fitness pending.

I also don't think we need so many defensive small/medium backs, so they will be the first on the block when considering further changes, for mine.

INS: Gault, Dwyer, Freeman
OUTS: Sidebottom, DeGoey, Ramsay

B: Alan Toovey ~ Nathan Brown ~ Marley Williams
HB: Ben Sinclair ~ Jack Frost ~ Tom Langdon

C: Travis Varcoe ~ Taylor Adams ~ Jack Crisp

HF: Alex Fasolo ~ Travis Cloke ~ Jamie Elliott
F: Jarryd Blair ~ Jessie White ~ Corey Gault

R: Brodie Grundy ~ Scott Pendlebury ~ Dane Swan

I/C: Sam Dwyer ~ Tyson Goldsack ~ Adam Oxley
Sub: Nathan Freeman

We need another person to come in that can do the ruck. Grundy although he played great still ran out of legs so he needs more of a break, but also I don't think we can drag White in the ruck too long. So I think that's where Gault comes in. I'd pick over Witts because he looks more dangerous up forward and is more athletic. Dwyer or Broomhead whoever looks like running out a game better gets Sidebottom's spot. Dwyer played better I heard so if there even I'd pick him. I picked Nathan Freeman as the sub because I don't think De Goey's game was good enough t get him a full game and I don't want him to be the sub twice. Freeman's also shown he can run so he might add some extra legs in the last quarter.

**** I can't wait till Greenwood, Seedsman, Scharenberg and Reid are ready with De Goey and Freeman getting more match fit as the season goes on.