Changes vs Carlton

• Thread starter Thread starter Dylan8

If you think this is me 'going off' at Colquhoun then you must have a really thin skin. All I'm saying is that he didn't justify his selection over other players this week. I was quite happy to get behind Ah Chee, Moore or Mitchell based on their performance in the SANFL, because they had been consistent. He's also coming back from an ACL. I never said he was the worst, I said he didn't do enough to not get dropped if the coaches want to look at someone else. But I'm not saying to drop him because you don't bring in a player for one game and that's it.

As for me trying to justify my 'hissy fit'...pretty sure our performance on Friday proved me right. The season was on the line, and we coughed it up because the coaches want to stubbornly play the same way with players that have half the talent. And yes, I'm including Andrew Moore in that. When things go wrong, you don't keep playing the same way and try to fit a smaller round peg into the gaping hole you have left behind. You throw it out and you find a square peg to fit your square hole.

Nah, I'm actually expecting it. Ken is stupidly stubborn with his 'more speed' mantra because he can't accept that he stuffed it up during preseason. Which is good in a way because it means he's got that bloody minded belief in his game plan. And he won't let it go until the players actually play the way he wants them to so he can see that it doesn't work. That's what his '7 out of 10 are getting it right' thing is all about - he's using the fact that 3 players aren't doing their job as the reason why it's falling down.

Where I come from, 7/10 would get you a pass mark. If you need to play perfect football to make it work, it's no game plan that is going to sustain under finals pressure.
The thing is janus... i agree with majority of what you are saying except your evaluation of the hoon and the blame game.....

Im sick to death of the same spud ins every ******* week....
the biggest spud of all was in this week and he dominated...

the bloke on the left...
18119583204_403a4b1a4b.jpg

Will there be a meltdown if O'Shea leapfrogs Ah Chee and Moore as a tall on baller? :D
Chad Cornes would be a great fit for our current midfield. Probably the missing piece.

You obviously missed the last 3 or 4 minutes of the first quarter. 2 really poor errors. One cost us a goal the other should have but a bad kick from Geelong saved us. Wasnt as bad for rest of game.

I may of, I was up the southern end. Fair point but he genuinely looks like a decent player. There were a couple of kicks to players that were spot on though, well weighted, again, unlike half the team, Hartetts kick forward under no pressure went out of bounds after being kicked too long. Funny how we are all experts after a loss, I'm definately not one but can see basic problems. Structure and game plan all year have been woefull. Teams are clogging us up and it's causing big problems. Wait till this year is over and a waste, watch the gameplan have a change next year.

Colquhoun was lucky to come in the side based on his SANFL form but he was probably in our top half of players against the Cats, especially considering that he's a 20 year old in his first game back from a reco. Some of the crap written about his game by the 'whenever Moorey isn't in the team, all the other players should be asking Where's Moorey?' brigade is pretty disappointing. If we were adding an extra inside mid last week it would've been Ah Chee anyway.

Moore should and probably will come in this week but there are plenty of players who deserve to go out for him before Colquhoun.
This is why i rate you one of the best posters ...you tell it how it is no matter who it is posting.

Based on my assumption we are looking at what we've got Moore will play this week. Remember we will quite likely lose Ryder and Monfries next year so I can understand them working to see what's on the list.

Will there be a meltdown if O'Shea leapfrogs Ah Chee and Moore as a tall on baller? :D
I'd rather Ah Chee, Moore, O'Shea in that order, but at this point as long as we played another bigger bodied midfielder it'd at least be a tacit admission by the coaching staff the current selection policy has been wrong.

I'm not actually. He's first half was ok watching on the replay.

I'm more concerned with the inconsistent put put of Jonas, Ebert, Boak, Schulz and Westhoff to name a few.

I'm. Also more concerned with our game plan which has no continuity to the structure and method.

I'm. Also.more concerned about our fitness and lack of run.

If dropping SAM Gray will.fixed that I'm all for it but I suspect not.
So an 'ok' first half keeps him in the team? I know the team's going badly at the moment, but if one average half a week is enough to keep someone in the team, we're in a lot of trouble...

Also, really, Ebert?

I said he was ok he wasn't great but how many great players were out there?

I'm not say Ebert is drop able I'm just saying his out put to what I expect from him isn't there.

People need to stop thinking a forward pocket is a 20 plus disposal 3 goal player every week.

I think there will be some obvious changes this week, Gray will definitely go back to the SANFL - I've struggled to understand his place in the side from the start. He has obviously got the most out of his ability but I don't see him as having a future at AFL level.

Stewart was most ineffectual and only had 7 disposals on a beautiful night for footy, he will also spend time back in the SANFL and suspect the only chances he will get going forward will be under dire circumstances. A genuine depth player for the squad.

What is clear is that KEN, and the players, have been allowing other teams to dictate the terms of play. I don't buy into the 'they've worked you out' theory because that is just too simplistic and doesn't show Ken and his staff enough respect. To that point, our game style in 2013 and 2014 was pretty basic and driven by hard running players that happened to be faster than average and players that were confident enough to take a risk.

To state the bleeding obvious, because a large portion of our team is down on confidence, our previous style of play simply isn't working. Our backline is holding up incredibly well but isn't the attacking backline we've previously had and the way Ken played as a player.

Carlisle - a run and punch defender.
Jonas - previously a key component to our backline run, is now a run and punch defender and grossly down on confidence.
Impey - complemented our backline in 2014 with explosive speed (great game on weekend) but is largely a lock down player in 2015.
Hombsch - Likes to attack but is largely a lock down player in 2015 (in AA form in 2015).

Jasper Pittard is a barometer of where we are at. Whilst I love him as a player, he has a crack at all costs, he is being let down by our forwards and is being forced to bomb the ball. His indecision is also a product of our forward movement.

Walsh is also turning out to be a big loss for the club as is Polec's absence. Our forward half has been absolutely horrible in 2015 and is very predictable. Even our forward line players are allowing defenders to dictate the terms of play forcing our midfielders to bomb the ball forward.

I'd like to see Moore and Ah Chee come into the side if only to see where they are at as potential AFL regulars. I'd love to see Neade get a game at some point but is too big of a risk based on how we are currently playing, I'm still uncertain whether he will be an AFL regular.

The Blues will be licking their lips at the prospect of playing us this week, hope we smash them.

People need to stop thinking a forward pocket is a 20 plus disposal 3 goal player every week.

that is true, but at his height having 12 disposals with NO goal and NO tackle doesn't cut it..

At his height, you have to be pretty special - remember Alwyn Davey and the forward pressure he provided?

I'd be ok with Gray if he punched out 12 disposals and 6 tackles.

Given that I've lost all hope for this season already, part of me hopes this happens just to see Janus' head explode :p

In what way was he OK?

Did he get heaps of the ball? 12 touches. No.
Did he use the ball well? 33% disposal efficiency, 4 clangers, 0 goal assists. No.
Did he trouble the scorers? 0 goals, 1 behind, 1 OOF. No.
Did he offer a lot defensively? 0 tackles (the first time since Round 5 that a non-Port player has had 0 tackles) and 0 one percenters. No.

Obviously he doesn't have to be a 20 touch 3 goal a game player, but he has to give us something. He didn't. He was terrible in every category.

I thought his pressure was good.

You can focus your attention on Gray if you like bit you'll be missing the bigger picture. Neade could come in for him and do you remember the calls to drop Neade after 3 games? Spin rice and repeat.

Neade gets caught playing man on man too much for his size and is taken out of the game given his size.

Give Neade a crack when our forward line is once again fluid and functional.

S gray isn't a crumbing player, Neade is in if we wanted a genuine crumber he wins every time, if we want someone to play up forward in a variety of roles and in the middle the coaches chose S gray, Neade doesn't go in the centre bounce

S Gray for the first time this year didn't attend any centre bounces on Friday night (from memory and i was keeping a keen eye on it) that shows to me that Ken has had enough of him as the midfielder and he will be an out for Ah chee or Moore (or that he is really thick and likes up him forward)

Also the fact that Moore had his biggest 4 quarter game from reports says to me he is the next in

time to try out some youth
+1

Out: S.Gray, Young, White, Stewart, Broadbent
In: M.Harvey, Ah Che, Moore, Amon, Trengove

FB: Clurey, Carlile, Jonas
HB: Pittard, Trengove, Hombsh
C: Hartlett, Wines, Colhoqun
HF: Ebert, M.Harvey, Wingard
FF: Amon, Schulz, Westhoff
Fol: Lobbe, R.Gray, Boak
Int: Moore, Ah Che, Impey
Sub: Monfries

FB: Clurey, Carlile, Jonas
HB: Pittard, Trengove, Hombsh
C: Hartlett, Wines, Colhoqun
HF: Ebert, M.Harvey, Wingard
FF: Amon, Schulz, Westhoff
Fol: Lobbe, R.Gray, Boak
Int: Moore, Ah Che, Impey
Sub: Monfries

Would be EXTREMELY confident in this line up knocking off Carlton

Time to try youth? Nah - time to play the best available players with a simple game plan.

Ken's mantra of 'defence first' has not been mentioned lately because ... it hasn't worked.

We are too scared to leave our opponent - Jonas is a perfect example - he is playing only half of what he is capable of. Where's the run - aggression?

Wingard - a brilliant game last week - he is playing his natural game - watch him closely - will run ahead of the game to create an opportunity.

When he took that mark in the pocket and kicked the banana - the reaction from his teammates was 'muted' as best. Where's the 'LOVE' and passion.

There's more to this slump.

OUT: Hartlett - S.Gray - White
IN: Harvey - Ah Chee - Moore

Ryder and Trengove will play after the break v Swans.

I maintain its all to do with Hinkley trying to manufacture run with his selections rather than realising that if he just picked whoever is in the best available 22 the run would be there because the players would subconsciously know that there is no one better. We saw it against Hawthorn when we were missing Wines and Gray. We didn't see it against Sydney because we played Redden.

I'm more concerned with the inconsistent put put of Jonas, Ebert, Boak, Schulz and Westhoff to name a few.

I'm. Also more concerned with our game plan which has no continuity to the structure and method.

I'm. Also.more concerned about our fitness and lack of run.

If dropping SAM Gray will.fixed that I'm all for it but I suspect not.

I am agreeing with you on this one FR04. You are right on all counts as there are some fundamental issues that have to be addressed. Shuffling the deckchairs will not fix these issues.

Matt White has a hamstring issue so that is in the mix and if Ryder is fit he obviously comes back in and maybe Paul Stewart and Sam Gray will go for Ah Chee and Moore but these changes will not address the real issues.

For what it is worth I would go 'back to the future' and do what we did in 2013 and stick with players like Amon, Clurey, Ah Chee and Colquhoun over the season. If we are going to develop our list we need to give these guys AFL experience and find out what they can do. This will rot your socks FR04 but I would even agree to giving Lobbe a spell in the SANFL to have another look at Redden. I would not go as far as delisting Lobbe.