Changes vs Carlton

Good luck after this week. Hope you guys pummel the Tiges out of the finals.
If the price for belting Richmond out of finals is a round 20 loss to Carlton it’s one I’d be happy to pay

I reckon our backline functions a lot better with Schoey in the team. He's got a tonne of experience and takes the opposition's best forward, allowing Gov and Tb to be a little more freewheeling. I'd feel more confident taking him into the finals than any of the others who're pressing for a spot, and I think our best back 7 at the moment would be: Hurn, Tb, Gov, Jetta, Duggan, Schoey, Sheppard.
I agree that a backline is a 7 person operation. And you have provided a list of 7. For what it's worth I think it is...

1. Hurn, gold standard lock
2. McGovern, as above
3. Barrass, again
4. Sheppard, also
5. Jetta, gold plated best 22 over 2018,19
6. Duggan, took a while to find his niche and could end up back in the middle but at the moment an important part of the back six.

That leaves #7. You've gone for Schofield and I have to grant that he always gives 100% and each time he has played he has done a good job. For me however it is a best balance/conditions/match ups for spot 7. Against a fleet of nippy smalls or in the wet we are too tall. Schofield becomes the obvious injury replacement for Hurn, Gov and TB, but 4 talls is one too many here. Nelson also has done a good job lately. Watson had a fabulous first game and a quieter (still not bad) second one. Rotham looked good in his two games. Cole is a bit out of it atm, but is no dud.

So for me spot 7 (in a full available list is)...
Nelson - day to day probably first choice (I admit that I never thought I would be saying this. Expected him to be cut at some stages)
Schofield - if a suitable match up
Watson - long term Jetta replacement but current backup for Shep and Jetta
Rotham - long term Hurn type and if Schofield retires at year end, then becomes first tall(er) choice
Cole - Duggan, Shep backup.

That leaves #7. You've gone for Schofield and I have to grant that he always gives 100% and each time he has played he has done a good job. For me however it is a best balance/conditions/match ups for spot 7. Against a fleet of nippy smalls or in the wet we are too tall. Schofield becomes the obvious injury replacement for Hurn, Gov and TB, but 4 talls is one too many here. Nelson also has done a good job lately. Watson had a fabulous first game and a quieter (still not bad) second one. Rotham looked good in his two games. Cole is a bit out of it atm, but is no dud.
IMO Hurn isn't a tall defender, he's a rebounding defender with a similar role to Jetta (he just executes it differently), we need him in space as much as possible. I'm definitely in the camp that has Schofield in the team as a genuine lock down defender, McGovern is a genuine attacking defender and Barrass is the hybrid who will be accountable to the second tall while still trying to win a bit of high footy coming in. The beauty of Schofield is that he can also reliably lock down on a small defender.

Look it's mainly just the ex-player media personalities who overreact to everything.

If you look at our BFooty board, most of us are just hoping to be competitive against you, Geelong and Tiges...and then pinch one final win against Saints.

Wouldn't be surprised if we get spanked given you are a top 4 team and we are dealing with a massive injury list.
No offence to you guys of course, bloody difficult time for your team. But yes some of the media guys are def blowing a bit of wind.
End of the day just being competitive against the reigning premiers who are currently 2nd on the ladder would be a massive tick to heading in the right direction.
Obviously with such a close finish to the season and teams up our butt % is everything, so I do hope we have a good win.

I agree that a backline is a 7 person operation. And you have provided a list of 7. For what it's worth I think it is...

1. Hurn, gold standard lock
2. McGovern, as above
3. Barrass, again
4. Sheppard, also
5. Jetta, gold plated best 22 over 2018,19
6. Duggan, took a while to find his niche and could end up back in the middle but at the moment an important part of the back six.

So for me spot 7 (in a full available list is)...
Nelson - day to day probably first choice (I admit that I never thought I would be saying this. Expected him to be cut at some stages)
Schofield - if a suitable match up
Watson - long term Jetta replacement but current backup for Shep and Jetta
Rotham - long term Hurn type and if Schofield retires at year end, then becomes first tall(er) choice
Cole - Duggan, Shep backup.

I think what you're saying is true and that all 4 of Nelson, Watson, Cole and Rotham have shown that they are AFL quality players. Rotham and Watson, despite only playing a few games each, haven't looked out of place, Nelson seems to be greatly improved and Cole's 2018 shows he's definitely got what it takes. It's been good that we've been able to rotate through them and expose them all to AFL this year, but I think now that we're so close to the business end of the year we will want to get our best most consistent team playing together as much as possible.

Rotham and Watson in my opinion are too green at this stage to expect them to carry much of a load in the finals, and Cole has been down on form after having a wonderful 2018 (going into the finals last year I was happy to take Cole in over Schoey). Nelson at the moment is probably the only one of the 4 that I could see getting the gig now, but I still just feel a lot more secure with Schofield out there.

If I was a Carlton supporter I reckon I’d be tooting my horn too after the recent years they’ve had. Hope they get ripped to shreds on Sunday but good on em for getting excited

I'm going to guess the 4 left on bench 5pm tomorrow are - Nelson, Hutchings, Masten, Watson.

This means Waterman and Cameron out for Hutchings and Hurn

Just six forwards? [emoji849]

Could see Watson, Cameron and Waterman coming out with Williams, Hurn and Hutchings coming in.

Are there seriously people who have an issue with Carlton fans being up and about? They went 3-30 in the stretch of games leading into this, and are 5-2 since the coaching change. If they want to throw a parade, who could blame them?

Media might be getting carried away, but what’s new there, just substitute the VFL flavour of the month and that’s a talking point year round. If the supporters want to be happy with the first clear indication of turning a corner in years, well credit to them for sticking it out and all power to them.

Are there seriously people who have an issue with Carlton fans being up and about? They went 3-30 in the stretch of games leading into this, and are 5-2 since the coaching change. If they want to throw a parade, who could blame them?

Media might be getting carried away, but what’s new there, just substitute the VFL flavour of the month and that’s a talking point year round. If the supporters want to be happy with the first clear indication of turning a corner in years, well credit to them for sticking it out and all power to them.
Carlton one of the form teams in the competition. They wont be a pushover.

Cheers mate. Our grand final was against the Crows. Stuck it to them for the pick swap and all the animosity stemming 3 years of trade period shit fighting.

Obviously hope we have a good showing this Sunday but to us the rest of the season is just gravy.

Time to enjoy!

I'm going to guess the 4 left on bench 5pm tomorrow are - Nelson, Hutchings, Masten, Watson.

This means Waterman and Cameron out for Hutchings and Hurn
I think it's one of Nelson and Watson, not both. Similarly, I think they will go with one of Waterman and Cameron.
Williams and Cole miss. Probably Watson and Cameron as well.