Preview Changes Vs Essendon Round 11

• Thread starter Thread starter kane249

Starting to get flashbacks of Heppell getting off the chain last year when Hutchings couldn't keep up with him. Still wouldn't have anyone to bring in to run with him, so hopefully he keeps having relatively quiet games. At the very least Winderlich won't be back to bully us.
That's not how I saw it at the match. Essendon shifted Hepple out of the middle and the coaches didn't react react quickly enough. IIRC Hutchings was left in the middle a wee bit too long.

I don't rate us much of a chance, but you never know.

I noticed you guys are coming off two six day breaks - stuff knows how the AFL manage that but we need all the help we can get at the moment, although our performance against Geelong wasn't as bad as the score board suggested.

Every West Coast game Essedon start getting player's back, I remember you got Jobe back last year and he was all the difference, Bombers will have there back's to the walls and expect them to come out firing could be a cracker, Would love to see Zaka go head to head with his mate Shuey

Sooo whats the boo threshold on Jobe for another social media meltdown?

Out The Grannies
In YOU

;)
yep and the scott bro s wont bring their kids to the footy at westcoast games ever again , I can see them both now in the media complaining about westcoast backing up Hird and Watson after they cry all week . Hird complains of the fog that hangs over them , thats what all druggies say when they are having withdrawal .

It gets better next week, another six day break and travel to face Richmond coming off a bye. I don't know why people say our draw is easy.

Skipped the last 7 pages or something because I'm pretty sure it's all the same.. Drop selwood etc.
We all know it's not going to actually happen. In saying that I think I do recall being wrong once before...

Touch wood, but knowing the Eagles there'll be some belated injury information coming out today/tomorrow that'll throw all our carefully considered selections out of whack "[insert player] broke his [insert bone] in the last 5 minutes of the game on the weekend and will miss the next 2-12 weeks"

Simmo was interviewed on 3AW last night and said Darling will 100% play this weekend. He thought he has done enough to come straight back in after one game for East Perth.

Not sure if you're having a little go at him, suggesting that he's not ready after just one game, but he's been training with the main group for more than a month, and has been at full pace for some weeks. Simpson said his fitness levels were very good, even before he started full training, so I'd reckon he'll be ready to go.

Okay, well I'm now officially through my profound mourning period following the weekend. Simmo presser:

- Three goals in two minutes was very ordinary. Third quarter was going well until we took our foot off the pedal, or at least, they took the most of their opportunities and we didn't.
- I don't think the players were complacent about the breeze in the last - both team had wind-related tactics. Then in the last quarter, we got done out of the middle and we didn't win the hunt.
- North were more desperate.
- I thought we hunted the game for the most part, but the Roos were ruthless.
- We got out tackled in the first quarter, which doesn't always mean success or failure - and then we responded - but then when the crunch was on in the last, we didn't take our opportunities.
- Travel didn't affect the result. We fly every second week.
- Game was in the balance at 3 quarter time. Players were up for it - but sometimes you get teams who want it more, and frankly the tactics go out the window.
- I regret ever having played for North Melbourne - particularly alongside that Harvey bloke. Filth merchant.*
- Last 15 minutes we had opportunities, but we didn't capitalise. We also saw that the harder we pressed forward, the more vulnerable we looked.
- We want to play a brand of footy that stands up in a game like this and we didn't. We're very disappointed.
- Six day break into the bombers, so we have no choice but to move on quickly.
- We'll take 7 and 3. We think we're in a good spot for the rest of the year - but today still hurts.
- Kangas probably deserved it more than us, but we had our chances and didn't take them.
- We don't really look at the ladder as such - momentum is shifting every two or three weeks - we're not fixated on the ladder; long way to go.
- I didn't rant and rave to the boys post-game, but we do need to reflect on it.
- Darling is in the mix for this week.
- List health isn't looking terrible for the first time all year - hopefully no injuries today either.
- If Jack isn't sore, he's right in the mix. We'll see how he trains.
- I don't think it's about a shake-up after today. It's not panic stations. It's not about playing yourself in or out of the team today.

* May be my interpretation as opposed to anything actually said.

For me just the one change:

In: Darling
Out: Mcinnes

- Ellis has stated he needs more game time in the WAFL.
- Rosa needs to come back and play some WAFL games to make sure he is fully fit.

Butler Mcgovern Hurn
Shep Schofield Wellingham

Duggan Priddis Gaff

Masten Darling Lecra
Cripps JK Hill

Ruck: Nic Nat, Yeo, Shuey

Bench: Sinclair, Sheed, Scooter, Sub: Nelson.

- Sheed needs to play a full game.
- Scooter as sub is pointless as he needs to find full fitness and being sub would be helping.
- Nelson not the best choice for sub , but i would use him as a mid rotation when he comes on.
- Scooter should play as a utility in the HF line or down back but leave the center clearances to Shuey, Sheed, Yeo & Pridda. I back Simmo in to mange his minutes in the middle like he has down with Pridda.
- Hurn to play a more defensive role to help out down back. Not a popular choice but Wellingham and Shep will offer some pace and class down there. This also allows Yeo to play mainly as a mid.

Simmo 6pr interview:

- The conditions were certainly unique - very hard to prepare for. Ultimately North handled it better than us.
- We had plenty of supply but couldn't get it done.
- We had a specific plan going into the third which was working really well, but the last two minutes was messy - for no obvious reason other than that 50 metre penalty.
- We gave them a sniff and they took it. I think we'll learn from it though.
- It was a see-sawing game with that 4-5 goal breeze. I thought we had probably got not enough reward for effort in the first half.
- We'll learn from it and move on quickly.
- Asked re Wellingham: Really pleased with his game. He's found his position and now it's about consistency and being part of a back six that is reliable. He's really taken a step forward in the last month. He's beginning to pay us back a bit.
- We're building something - the development this year will really be put to the test in the next couple of weeks. All of our players in some shape or form have taken a step forward - consistency is the next challenge.
- We just weren't as sharp this week as we had been in the previous month.
- Asked re Darling: I think he's definitely in the mix. See how he trains and pulls up. He kicked five and it was pretty dominant - probably the difference at EP along with one or two others. Great return - he ticked a lot of boxes.
- Asked re McInnes: Fraser has been important for us and has really contributed in ways people probably don't see on television. He's complying to his role and that is what has kept him in the side. It's an interesting situation to be in given with what he's given us for a seven-game player.
- Asked re: JK's crap marking: I can't understate the conditions of the day.
- It probably looked like we just bombed away - and sometimes we did - but both teams were reluctant to be precise with the ball because the wind was so unpredictable.
- Asked re: travel to Tas - I think we won in Hobart last time - perhaps I'm the jinx as opposed to Tassie. We don't feel like the travel is no different than Melbourne. I've not changed the travel routine since getting to the club - we've always done that well.
- The one frustrating thing about the Tas trips is sitting in the airport with the opposition team.

Yeah right. The hardest position to play is a key forward. Kennedy is one of the best and you want to make him into a half back flanke...which, by the way, is one of the easiest positions to play. You're right, it does sound crazy...probably because it is,.

Ah that was a typo. As you can see from the rest of the post I meant playing Darling down back not Kennedy.

Not sure if you're having a little go at him, suggesting that he's not ready after just one game, but he's been training with the main group for more than a month, and has been at full pace for some weeks. Simpson said his fitness levels were very good, even before he started full training, so I'd reckon he'll be ready to go.

No not having a go at him, I'm glad he is coming back into the team we looked for JK too much against Norf!

I wouldn't mind Scooter staying in the 22 as a sub. Token game time of no consequence.

I stated mine already, but I think Darling and Ellis will come in at the expense of McInnes and Nelson.

The side need a chance to prove themselves after last week, but dropping two youngsters is hardly conducive to any kind of knee-jerk or unfairness. Nelson is a first-year player who'll get his time again. McInnes hasn't been too bad as the second tall. Given he's played less than ten games, the criticism levelled at him as been far too harsh. West Coast will value Ellis' class over Nelson's potential right now and like I said, I'm sure Nelson will have plenty more opportunity. Being omitted for experience is hardly a punishment, and he hasn't been setting the world on fire (world = WCE midfield) like Duggan has.

If we manage to lose this the knee jerking will be EPIC if this week is anything to go by.

I for one, will be doing exactly what you have written at the bottom of all your posts (not sure what they are called, signature maybe:confused:), the bit about flailing arms.

If we are to make top 4, I reckon we need 14-15 wins, which means we have to win this game, if not, we then have to make it up by winning one of our harder games, Hawks, Swans, Freo, Crows away, which I had down as losses.

Forget top 4... If we're to be competitive in the finals we need to be able to beat teams like North Melbourne and Essendon.

A loss this week is not acceptable, especially after Essendon's performance against Geelong last week.

I agree that a loss this week will have us in struggle town with a huge amount of pressure coming on to beat Richmond before the bye or be caught up in the morass of teams from 6-12

If Richmond get us they will have 7 but do run into the Swans at the SCG in R13.

Cats and Port play this week. The winner moves to 6 games and the following week have Melbourne and Carlton respectively so one side is basically a lock for moving to 7 wins.

Regardless of the result Coll v GWS game one of them will go to 8 wins and force us down.

Adelaide have Hawthorn but also Lions over the bye rounds and would be confident of sitting on 7 wins at the start of R14.

Bullies have Lions and StK and would also be a good chance to be sitting on 7 wins.

The season is very evenly poised so we could slide backwards at a pretty alarming rate if we don't keep our noses as far in front as possible at this stage.

Interesting that only Naitanui (79%), Sheed (72%), Selwood (68%), Lamb (68%), Duggan (60%), McGinnity (66%) have less time on ground that Shuey (80%)

I wonder if he's carrying an injury?

Compare it to Gaff (91%), Priddis (87%), Yeo (85%), Masten (90%), Lecras (89%)