changes vs North Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter ioppolo

Totally disagree.
Giles will get thumped in the hit outs anyway and your not going to get the same follow up or ground level pressure.

Our mids should be looking to shark a lot more this week.

I have always been a supporter of Brown however Giles was pretty manic against Brisbane and I was impressed that his follow up tackles and harassment remained throughout the game.

Lost me at Manic
C'mon guys, Giles is just a log!! Brown actually held his own in the one on one body contests around the ground.and if your going to use the word "manic" i would apply it to Brown .He has got some speed and some mongrel, things lacking at this club.Yeh i know at times hes a clumsy clot but hes Pele compared to Giles.Where did this effing black print come from ??aaarrgh computers!!!

I am the only one looking at our ruck situation and thinking that if Goldstein can ruck an entire game, why cant Lycett?

I know what the inevitable response will be "goldstein had a bigger tank...."

But, guys who are not "naturally" as fit CAN do it, case in point: Shane mumford.

Its something that has always annoyed me, i mean, at one point nic nat was playing 60% of game time. Is it just a lack of fitness? If it is injury? And if it isnt, what is the reason?

Its always struck me as unusual

I am the only one looking at our ruck situation and thinking that if Goldstein can ruck an entire game, why cant Lycett?

But, guys who are not "naturally" as fit CAN do it, case in point: Shane mumford.

Its something that has always annoyed me, i mean, at one point nic nat was playing 60% of game time. Is it just a lack of fitness? If it is injury? And if it isnt, what is the reason?

He did it against the Hawks in the final last year, with sporadic chop outs from possibly Yeo and Gov? It can be done.

And the weather is going to be absolute trash. Less talls please, more grunt to work the ball forward. The ever opportunistic Ginners has timed his run into form perfectly.

I think we're going to lose the ruck battle regardless of whether Brown or Giles is playing.

Neither of those two will do much to curb Goldsteins influence on the game, which is why it's probably worth just conceding that point and focusing on exploiting somewhere else. Back Slyce to put up a fight.

I like Giles but Brown obviously offers more outside of the ruck, with his ability to fumble any ground ball, send sherrins to space, poke himself in the eye, and possibly free up McGovern.

I think we're going to lose the ruck battle regardless of whether Brown or Giles is playing.

Neither of those two will do much to curb Goldsteins influence on the game, which is why it's pribably worth just conceding that point and focusing on exploiting somewhere else.

I like Giles but Brown obviously offers more outside of the ruck, with his ability to fumble any ground ball, send sherrins to space, poke himself in the eye, and possibly free up McGovern.

Which is why i think we should go with one less ruck and bring in another mid.

Very concerned over our Midfield going into this game Suprise Suprise ...
They'll get smashed.

It'll be the drive off the backbone that gets the job done...if at all.

Not tipping us here, mids are far too shizen for my liking.

Having an updated crack at tonight's team:

B: Barrass, Schofield, Sheppard
HB: Hurn, McGovern, Butler
C: Gaff, Priddis, Masten
HF: Cripps, Darling, Hutchings
F: LeCras, Kennedy, Brown
R: Lycett, Shuey, Yeo
I (from): Wellingham, Hill, McGinnity, Nelson, Redden, Jetta, Giles

In: Hill, Redden, Giles

Giles to be named to keep NM guessing. Last three to miss out. Giles and Redden to play for EP, Jetta to be held over and miss out on a chance to get some confidence back :(

They'll get smashed.

It'll be the drive off the backbone that gets the job done...if at all.

Not tipping is here, mids are far too shizen for my liking.

Our mids need to apply good pressure to force poor kicks from North..and hope Shep/Wellers/Hurn have got their slingshots dialed in. I'm expecting we get murdered in the clearances.

North by 3-4 kicks I reckon :(

May surprise you to learn that that word has two Rs
Sure does don't know what happened there. But one thing i can't stand on Footy forums is grammar Nazis people have to realize that not everyone had a privileged up bringing, Doesn't mean they can't add good input to a Football Forum maybe not on a spelling bee forum......But this is a Football Forum ?

Sure does don't know what happened there. But one thing i can't stand on Footy forums is grammar Nazis people have to realize that not everyone had a privileged up bringing, Doesn't mean they can't add good input to a Football Forum maybe not on a spelling bee......But this is a Football Forum ?

Five Stings is just a bad apple mate. Don't sweat it :)

Sure does don't know what happened there. But one thing i can't stand on Footy forums is grammar Nazis people have to realize that not everyone had a privileged up bringing, Doesn't mean they can't add good input to a Football Forum maybe not on a spelling bee......But this is a Football Forum ?

I've tried to refrain from being a spelling/grammar nazi of late but occasionally I relapse :oops:

Mummy at the same age as Lycett was rucking 60% of game time. Slow build for some rucks.

As for Nic Nat - I thought he got his time on ground % up last year but Simpson has reduced it this year to manage him so he was in better shape come September. As Lycett is a great back up you have had the luxury of having Nic Nat play 65-75% of game time. More to do with player management than fitness. I think he will spend a lot more time on ground during finals.