The Butters Cup: Changes vs Port in Ballarat

At least the weather will be good in the Rat this Saturday. Sunny and 19 degrees forecast at this stage. Sitting in the bistro at North Ballarat Sports Club ATM. Chilly and overcast today but the oval looks great, no footy played on it over the weekend. Watching the workers dismantle the video scoreboard. They only started back working today having taken a full week off after Easter. Inside the club, workers are removing the wall in the back sports lounge to create one big room with an open view out onto both ovals.

View attachment 2298101

View attachment 2298102

View attachment 2298104

View attachment 2298109
& space for car parking behind the goals ... car horns, the real sound of country footy

I’d give Adsy one game in the VFL then bring him back in to manage libba.

I don't reckon, if he's 100% you play him. Injury just as likely in the VFL (pretty much).

Even if he's a touch rusty Treloar's 30-odd possessions is a huge upgrade on Hynes' or Dolan's 3. McNeil for the other if he's 100% too.

I think Dolan and Hynes are/will be great but we also need to put our best team on the ground for today.

"He is chomping at the bit to pull the jumper on again, so if he gets through training like we expect, he will return to availability."

I doubt they would have included this in the injury report if he was coming back through the VFL.
He looks in ripping nick at the moment.... I guess now it is just about where you fit him in and how much game time he gets etc..

Not sure how I feel about Treloar coming back. Our midfield is absolutely humming at the moment. I know he's a good player but our current midfield set up feels more dynamic than in previous years when our midfield on paper was excellent but in practice was mid-table.

Midfield is more dynamic is due to the numbers we run through there.

Treloar isn’t going to affect that he will strengthen it and provide even greater ability to rotate.

It only becomes an issue if we go back to what Bevo was doing which was having Bont, Libba and Treloar in there and barely anyone else whether things were going good or bad.

As long as Ads coming back doesn't see us return to the old ways of bont libba treloar on repeat, it'll be great to have him back.

Need to keep this mix of players running through seems to be working well.
Having Adz back back will allow Bont to spend more time forward in the absence of Darcy.

Re Bont, Edmund was on SEN earlier tonight and said although there’s no injury there was concern at the time over calf ‘tightness’ which you’d suspect is likely why he was subbed. If that tightness lingers you wouldn’t think they’d take the risk with him.
I guess we’ll just have to wait for the training reports.

Having Adz back back will allow Bont to spend more time forward in the absence of Darcy.

Re Bont, Edmund was on SEN earlier tonight and said although there’s no injury there was concern at the time over calf ‘tightness’ which you’d suspect is likely why he was subbed. If that tightness lingers you wouldn’t think they’d take the risk with him.
I guess we’ll just have to wait for the training reports.
If he comes back he will be on restricted minutes, I reckon

My bad, I should have looked more closely regarding Mars capacity being reduced to 5,000 people. Normally decide 5 days before the game just got back from Canberra to find out it was all sold out. I think to only have capacity of 5,000 is wrong and we should not be playing there until the redevelopment is finished except for pre-season games. If need be bank some pay back games when the ground is upgraded.

It is probable that the round 18 game against win be a battle for the top 8 and possibly top 4. To have a capacity of 5,000 is is not on. The date, time and day is still to be determined and there only 3 other games in Melbourne games for the round so it could easily be at the G or Marvel.

Over to you Ahmet.

Bevoball will only benefit with Adzy, he’s a goal kicking mid & can play that high half forward role as well. The ability to be able to rotate most of our mids through other roles makes us more dynamic than past iterations. Libba is probably the least flexible of the lot, but he can still sneak forward and kick a snag or two.

If he comes back he will be on restricted minutes, I reckon
Yeah I was thinking about this earlier today. Ideally would it be best to start him as sub or sub him off or just restrict his time on field.
Starting him on field would allow for a full warm up, whilst starting him as sub would mean he’d come on cold but the pace would be out of the game.

Dolan's below average basically across the board statistically, he's not putting any pressure on either. It's similar to Vandermeer where you can carry players in the forward line that put on consistent pressure but neither if them do.

Reading through the injury report is that Treloar already had his caution/easing by election not to play him last week - he was already training fully this time last week.

But strange to talk about not treating him as 100% fully fit quite yet as it's on repeat from last week.

Often lots of complaints about how coy we are with injury reports... yet our medical team is quite detailed and upfront re Treloar this week and for some reason everyone is choosing to ignore it?

Reading through the injury report is that Treloar already had his caution/easing by election not to play him last week - he was already training fully this time last week.

But strange to talk about not treating him as 100% fully fit quite yet as it's on repeat from last week.

Often lots of complaints about how coy we are with injury reports... yet our medical team is quite detailed and upfront re Treloar this week and for some reason everyone is choosing to ignore it?
I think we are a bit paranoid about injuries, there have been so many 🙁

Gday dogs fans.

I liked the look of Busslinger on the weekend.

He should hold his spot for awhile?
Yeah I'd think so. We are down on tall forwards so need a back to play there which makes room for him. That situation won't change until Darcy is back after the bye. If Jones hits form could change things.

Gday dogs fans.

I liked the look of Busslinger on the weekend.

He should hold his spot for awhile?

I grabbed him in fantasy too ;)

To be honest he will be a week to week proposition. If he were to have a stinker this week and Jones looks good he could find himself back out of the team again and in the VFL

Not sure if this is the right thread, but I am on the hunt for tickets to this game if anyone is looking to sell theirs.

Completely stuffed up the purchasing process the other week. Love going to the Ballarat game, it’s awesome.

The Butters Cup: Changes vs Port in Ballarat

Write your reply...