Changes vs Richmond?

Longy413 said:
OUT -
Mark Johnson - Make a statement to the others underperforming, he's been the worst.

Sheeds has to make a statement and make one soon. you can't promise to drop senior players and continually take the easy way out and drop a kid. He dropped Pev a couple of weeks back and he needs to send another message.

It would also help if the blokes at Bendigo started to exert a little more pressure by performing a lot better than they have been. Its easy to drop blokes but the guys coming in need to have earned their spots.

Sorry longy but Solomons confidence is f*****g shot.

He fumbles the ball and turns over the ball with garbage kicks/poor decision making because he is more often than not kicking on the back foot. Certainly does not take the ball and kick through the ball with authority, he then drops his head every time he does it.

This isnt a man playing with confidence.

Andrew Welsh is having ZERO impact out their, he's giving us no run at all and passes backwards or side ways at every opportunity. WTF?

Its one thing to stick by your players but another to bloody reward mediocrity in the side.

IDGAF said:
Do you reckon Fletcher will pick him up if he`s roaming CHF which has been ploughs want this year ?

Richo would run fletch into the ground. Mcphee may get him if Richo plays high at CHF and hand him to fletch if richo plays deep.

dave_27 said:
Sorry longy but Solomons confidence is f*****g shot.

He fumbles the ball and turns over the ball with garbage kicks/poor decision making because he is more often than not kicking on the back foot. Certainly does not take the ball and kick through the ball with authority, he then drops his head every time he does it.

I disagree. Players lacking in confidence go into their shell. They shirk the opportunity to be involved in the game. Dean Solomon isn't doing that.

Everyone drops their head when they make a mistake, but it's the ability to back up and have another crack that shows the man isn't lacking confidence. He's just not having a good run. Playing him at Bendigo will achieve nothing.

dave_27 said:
Andrew Welsh is having ZERO impact out their, he's giving us no run at all and passes backwards or side ways at every opportunity. WTF?

I agree, he is battling. But I think the reaction towards him has been over the top. If he's asked to come off the bunch and shut down an opponent (which he has been asked to do the last two weeks), and he does that, I wouldn't be too hasty in dropping him.

dave_27 said:
Its one thing to stick by your players but another to bloody reward mediocrity in the side.

I agree. But if you promote players that don't deserve promotion, you are rewarding mediocrity anyway.

Longy413 said:
I disagree. Players lacking in confidence go into their shell. They shirk the opportunity to be involved in the game. Dean Solomon isn't doing that.

Everyone drops their head when they make a mistake, but it's the ability to back up and have another crack that shows the man isn't lacking confidence. He's just not having a good run. Playing him at Bendigo will achieve nothing..

I think thats desperation longy rather than confidence.

Certainly has no confidence when he has the ball thats is for sure.

Longy413 said:
I agree. But if you promote players that don't deserve promotion, you are rewarding mediocrity anyway.

Very good point but all a young guy needs is a opportunity, which I think is different to complacent senior players wasting opportunity after opportunity given to them by sheedy to lift their game.

dave_27 said:
I think thats desperation longy rather than confidence.
Certainly has no confidence when he has the ball thats is for sure.

Why would we drop a player that's desperate?
Playing him at a slower pace isn't going to help him make better decisions. He needs to ride this out in the seniors.

dave_27 said:
Very good point but all a young guy needs is a opportunity, which I think is different to complacent senior players wasting opportunity after opportunity given to them by sheedy to lift their game.

That they do. But let's do it when they are playing good footy.
I'm more than happy to admit someone needs to be dropped, but I'd like to hope that if we dropped one or two, it would send a big enough message to the rest. Dropping three or four could hurt more than it helps if you can't bring in blokes that are playing good footy.

Longy413 said:
Why would we drop a player that's desperate?

Pev is as desperate as they get. He's been dropped, and most thought it was the right move.

I don't think Solly would learn anything new at Bendigo but it might give him a bit of a psychological wake up.

Darealrath said:
Pev is as desperate as they get. He's been dropped, and most thought it was the right move.

I don't think he is, I don't think he is showing the same committment to the footy and to stopping his opponent as he did in years gone by.

Solly is attacking the footy and the man with the same desperation as he was when he was at his best.

If we drop one big name senior player, Pev isn't really a bit name, the others will get a shake up. We don't have to drop all of them, especially not the ones who are having a fair dinkum crack.

Longy413 said:
I don't think he is, I don't think he is showing the same committment to the footy and to stopping his opponent as he did in years gone by.

Solly is attacking the footy and the man with the same desperation as he was when he was at his best.

I thought Pev was under direction by the coaching staff to be more attacking and play more as a link-man, which might explain that. Can't see i've seen anything to question his attack on the footy, though he's perhaps not as kamikaze as he was a while ago (imo never been quite the same since McKee broke his arm fwiw, though he's still played some great games since then). I'd still call him desperate though.

I agree with that about Solly but the problem is that the other areas of his game are letting him down and i'm not sure the solution is to keep playing him. I'd be astounded if his confidence wasn't down a bit. Maybe he'll play a blinder and it'll be all good but i think giving him a week at Bendigo to freshen him mentally might do the trick too. Might kill two birds too by sending a message to some other senior blokes.

Longy,

Surely you can see that the guys confidence is gone. He's playing on the 3rd or 4th defender each week and doing adequately but his disposal and decision making is absolutely abysmal. Unfortunately its a big part of the game.

I hope he can magically turn it around but i reckon against hawthorn his skill errors were at an all time low. I actually wince everytime he gets the ball.

Going back to a lower competition and getting 20 touches will surely get his confidence back rather than making embarrassing errors as he has done for the the last 4 weeks.

I was just wondering who you guys think will take Richo this week. He is the key. He won us the match for Carlton and was best on ground by so far its unbelievable.

Bradley? Fletcher? Solomon?

I think putting Bradley on him is a bad idea, given that he has had trouble holding big name forwards this year, fletcher always gets thumped by Richo. Solomon seems like the best option but i still think hes not quick enough or tall enough. Should be interesting because our teams are very similar. If you compared our best 22's at the start of the year on paper, I hate to say it as a Tigers man but essendon just came out on top by one player. However, now we're missing browny, your missing lloyd, we've found raines and foley and lovett-murray has found form...still pretty even?

Jaymin said:
Longy,

Surely you can see that the guys confidence is gone. He's playing on the 3rd or 4th defender each week and doing adequately but his disposal and decision making is absolutely abysmal. Unfortunately its a big part of the game.

Compare the way Dean Solomon is going about his footy to the way Mark Johnson or Ricky Dyson are going about their footy. One is making repeated efforts, going hard at the ball, body on the line. The others seem timid, reluctant to get involved.

I'm not pretending Solly's confidence is at an all time high. It can't be, he's making too many mistakes with the footy, but his confidence in his ability to beat his opponent isn't gone. And he's still looking to kick the footy, not handball at all times ala Jon Hay.

As for the 3rd or 4th forward each week, perhaps the last 2 weeks he's played on the third forward, the week before he played on the oppositions best forward (Robert Murphy) and kept him to one goal (his second via the Fletcher free kick). He's had four goals kicked on him in three weeks. Defensively he is doing his job.

Jaymin said:
Going back to a lower competition and getting 20 touches will surely get his confidence back rather than making embarrassing errors as he has done for the the last 4 weeks.

If he continues to make mistakes he has to go back. No doubt.
But I don't think it will help him, in fact I know it won't. He's not that type of player.

In: Laycock, Rioli
Out: Ryder, Bolton

I don't think we can afford to drop Solomon. We need him as a back up key defender. We have Fletch.....then McPhee, Bradley and Solly. Bradley is still learning and developing. I like McPhee playing on a lessor player, whereby he can sweep across the backline and take a few contested marks helping others out. If we drop Solly we may be forced to rely on Bolton or NLM to be used as a key defender, particulary if Fletch injures himself. I'd rather drop Bolton.

I have posted several times that I think Dean Solomon's problems are body issues and not so much form issues. He has lost speed and agility IMO. I think the only position for him now is third tall defender. Ryder probably could be rested but I think he has done a sevicable job. Not many 18 year old ruckmen come straight into a senior side. We dont want to punish or flog him like Collingwood did to Fraser in his early years. Also I agree with Longy there should be minimal changes. Mainly because no one is really standing up in Bendigo and our efforts have been pretty commendable. I have said this adnauseum but I think this year will be similar to 97. We will get a good glimpse of a lot of good kids but we just wont have the capabilities to win close games. We need to ensure we are strategic with our selections and make sure that borderline players are given the opportunity to succeed or fail (winderlich, Reynolds, Watson, Nash) blood youth(Ryder, Dempsey, Lee, Firman? Jolley? Hocking? Lonergan?) and put more games into improving players ( Monfries, Slattery, stanton, Dyson, Bradley) I have seen quite a bit of u/18 games already and the talent pool in Victoria looks really good. WA has also got some high quality u/18. Finishing low will not hurt us in the long term and we are still extremely competitive.

This constant talk of dropping Solly is ridiculous. He is a senior player who makes the other boys walk taller.
What people have to also realise is that he is a defender. His number one job is to restrict his man. If he can get a few possessions whilst doing that, then thats a bonus.

Our form isn't that bad. We have been a bit unlucky. If we had won by a point instead of losing by a point would people want to be dropping four players ?
Its just stupid.

Ryder stays in for the dreamtime game. Besides which he may be needed on Simmonds who has been playing super at the moment.

In : Rioli, Laycock
Out : Winderlich/Welsh, Peverill.

Speed isn't really an issue against Richmond. They'll be without Kane Johnson so will be missing a ball winner in the middle.
I'd consider having Solly in a tagging role across half forward on Bowden.

If we lose this game, then its time to panic.
At the moment we are playing well. Lets keep that core group together for the moment.

Daytripper said:
ah - yes that would be difficult.
All fixed now.
now I am unhappy, would have thought Winders held his spot. Additionally two reasonably fit midfielders come in too be replaced by two very unfit types (though we know Rio can influence a match in his present condition)

whirl said:
now I am unhappy, would have thought Winders held his spot. Additionally two reasonably fit midfielders come in too be replaced by two very unfit types (though we know Rio can influence a match in his present condition)

Winders just doesn't influence games. I know he has his fans here but I'm not one of them.
I hope he does prove me wrong one day.

Winderlich is a dud IMO, but he actually looked like a footballer against Hawhorn, so has to stay in.

Changes:
In: Rioli (Campo if fit)
Out: Either Welsh or MJ, ( definitely Bolton if Campo fit)

Thought Peverill did his job when he was on (shut Mitchell down) so can't drop him for that. Boltons miss was unexcuseable and he just vanishes from the game.

And Welsh did not do his job two weeks ago. He went on to didak in the last and got pantsed by his own biatch.

Pevers-Legend said:
And Welsh did not do his job two weeks ago. He went on to didak in the last and got pantsed by his own biatch.

I was speaking of when he came off the bench as a defensive midfielder in the past two weeks. Against Collingwood he went to Swan. Well aware of what Didak did to him.

Longy413 said:
I was speaking of when he came off the bench as a defensive midfielder in the past two weeks. Against Collingwood he went to Swan. Well aware of what Didak did to him.

my side would be
b.mcveigh,fletcher,soloman
H.B m.j, lee,mcphee
c.campo,jj,dyson
hf, rioli,lucas,lovett
f. monfries,bradley,hird
foll,hille,watson,stanton
inter. laycock ,heffernan,slattery,lovet-murray

in.lee,campo,dyson,rioli,laycock,
out, welsh,windalich,peverill,bolton,ryder

If anything Welsh and Solly have gotten better each of the last few weeks, started off horribly but can see signs, would be stupid to drop them know.

MJ has struggled but wouldn't get much out of the magoos IMO, stick him in the goalsquare next to Laycock/Hille and see if he can get a few goals, might be what he needs to get out of a funk.

Winder was quite influential last week, a lot more than others, deserves another game.

IN: Rioli, Laycock, Campo (if fit)
OUT: Ryder, Bolton, Peverill (for Campo)

Changes vs Richmond?