Changes vs saints

• Thread starter Thread starter GIRO

Honestly cannot see ourselves winning this one, have a feeling it'll get ugly. Hope I'm wrong though

Sparrow out with a broken collarbone as expected ... but don't expect Jordon to replace him, as he's also out after having plastic surgery on his finger after a gym mishap, which I think we can all agree, the less details on that, the better.
But he will learn from that mate, it’s a learning

Did anyone see the Langdon tackle he got fined for?

fu** me dead. Put bibs in the shorts and make it contact free. What a joke.
It might as well be non contact. I’ve always maintained that if a tackle is executed the right way then it isn’t the fault of the tackler if the other player gets hurt. You get hurt playing footy. I am not advocating a Steve May on Stefan Martin, but **** me, I am still seething over ANB getting a month for tackling that crow chap.

How are we only marginal outsiders in the betting this week against the Saints?

Saints @ $1.75 is money for jam. We never win these games.

Can't get my head around it. Gawn back in, maybe. We also have a good record at Alice?

Alan Richardson stealing the Saints InTellEcTuaL PrOpeRtiEz? **** knows

Can't get my head around it. Gawn back in, maybe. We also have a good record at Alice?

Alan Richardson stealing the Saints InTellEcTuaL PrOpeRtiEz? fu** knows
yeah you look at our record against sides that can play any half decent football and know that we have very little chance of winning this, I'll be incredibly surprised if we get up, could put some serious money on the Saints and feel pretty comfortable you'll get more back.

Surely our abysmal record against better sides is known to the coaching group, getting ridiculous.

It might as well be non contact. I’ve always maintained that if a tackle is executed the right way then it isn’t the fault of the tackler if the other player gets hurt. You get hurt playing footy. I am not advocating a Steve May on Stefan Martin, but fu** me, I am still seething over ANB getting a month for tackling that crow chap.
I see this morning it was upheld, meanwhile Grimes got off for jumping so far forward, he nearly set a long jump national record.

The AFL will never cease to amaze me whilst Steve Hocking runs the show. He has Christian around his finger, and makes the rules up as he goes.

Absolute blight on the game to the highest order.

1.75 is juicy but Ladbrokes $2 the line at +4.5 is absolutely free money

Free money.

It's bizarre we have to be one of the most overrated teams in the media. Fox footy predicted a Richmond vs Melbourne elimination final. How can they trust Melbourne to win 4 of 5?

Did anyone see the Langdon tackle he got fined for?

fu** me dead. Put bibs in the shorts and make it contact free. What a joke.
Un real. Been saying for ****ing years that all this softening will never stop. At what point so all the **** wits constantly bitching and complaining stop and go yeah that's the way the games gonna be played, seems like every 6 months they focus on a new part of the game to destroy and strip back.

How long before they ban brining the tackler to the ground? How long before you get suspended for kneeing someone in a marking contest if they get concussion? How long before they ban closed fist spoiling etc

I still don't think the Saints are that good tbh

I'm ready to double down on last weeks loss and take the $2.10 on offer

I reckon we will murder them around the contest, Saints still strike me as a rather soft team. They worry me a bit with their small to medium sized forwards though

It depends, at our best if we play our game (puke) we should win. Do I think we can manufacture the game to be on our terms against them? **** no. They'll play the game how they want and keep it wide of the contest. Granted they don't have the class inside of the dogs to get it outside but they generate scores from our turnovers around the ground and then run us off out feet.

Un real. Been saying for ******* years that all this softening will never stop. At what point so all the fu** wits constantly bitching and complaining stop and go yeah that's the way the games gonna be played, seems like every 6 months they focus on a new part of the game to destroy and strip back.

How long before they ban brining the tackler to the ground? How long before you get suspended for kneeing someone in a marking contest if they get concussion? How long before they ban closed fist spoiling etc
you already see it with the "unrealistic attempt" and the Toby Greene rule. They bring rules in for something that happens on such a minor occasion, and all it does is create doubt for players on what they can and can't do. It is so frustrating watching players and these stupid rules bought in to "protect the player" just make players lose any creative flair. No wonder we get left with the defensive borefest that is on the tv most weeks. What about running backwards at a player who's marking and if you contact them it's a free now too... It's all designed for a big game of contact free keepings off.

I honestly can't watch that footage of Langdon with out thinking it'd the perfect tackle. VanderMeer tried to take Langdon on, such is his right. Langdon closed the space and the tackle is made by a guy 5'11 and 80kg, on a guy similar size and in my opinion is executed as close to perfect. What option does Langdon honestly have? The weight of a 80kg athlete fighting his arse off to not get tackled is bound to fall somewhere.

It's just constant. As you say week after week they harp on something. These blokes go as hard as they can in the top echelon of sports stars Australia has to offer, and are paid handsomely to do it knowing the very minor but still present risks.

The dangerous tackle rule is so far away from the spirit of the game, it's as messy as the holding the ball rule and Stephen Hocking is so far out of his depth, and the public opinion of how it should be regulated, that he is absolutely to blame. He's effectively running the league and how it's portrayed on field, and he is an absolute disaster. This is the same bloke so far out of touch who bought in 6-6-6 among other rules that have done nothing to make the game better, only worse.

Anyway saints changes thread off the rails.

They are probably having a flattering year, but they are the type of side who could cut us up easily. Pacy, move the ball cleanly on the outside, some dangerous smalls and talls up forward.
We'd need to really smash them in the contest to get on top. I don't know that they have brilliant intercept players, but Clark, Long, Coffield etc could still pick us off easily if we do our dumb shit bombs from contests.

you already see it with the "unrealistic attempt" and the Toby Greene rule. They bring rules in for something that happens on such a minor occasion, and all it does is create doubt for players on what they can and can't do. It is so frustrating watching players and these stupid rules bought in to "protect the player" just make players lose any creative flair. No wonder we get left with the defensive borefest that is on the tv most weeks. What about running backwards at a player who's marking and if you contact them it's a free now too... It's all designed for a big game of contact free keepings off.

I honestly can't watch that footage of Langdon with out thinking it'd the perfect tackle. VanderMeer tried to take Langdon on, such is his right. Langdon closed the space and the tackle is made by a guy 5'11 and 80kg, on a guy similar size and in my opinion is executed as close to perfect. What option does Langdon honestly have? The weight of a 80kg athlete fighting his arse off to not get tackled is bound to fall somewhere.

It's just constant. As you say week after week they harp on something. These blokes go as hard as they can in the top echelon of sports stars Australia has to offer, and are paid handsomely to do it knowing the very minor but still present risks.

The dangerous tackle rule is so far away from the spirit of the game, it's as messy as the holding the ball rule and Stephen Hocking is so far out of his depth, and the public opinion of how it should be regulated, that he is absolutely to blame. He's effectively running the league and how it's portrayed on field, and he is an absolute disaster. This is the same bloke so far out of touch who bought in 6-6-6 among other rules that have done nothing to make the game better, only worse.

Anyway saints changes thread off the rails.
Langdon got a htb free too, right? Very dumb charge.
Agree the rules are being overthought. The below the knees free is a shit show, called once every 2 games now despite the scraps where blokes are diving everywhere and arguably are taking legs.
I can understand the league wanting to cover their arse from concussion lawsuits, but it's not going to be stopped by pulling up blokes like this.

Midfield isn't as deep as ours but they have a lot of moderately skillful runners/flankers that could cut us up. Especially at Alice where it will most likely be cool and mild at game kick off on the fast deck.

I think we probably need to change up our forward pressure to keep the ball in, Melksham needs to add a lot more to that instead of playing like he is Jason Dunstall, and McDonald needs to piss off out of weidemans way and take Carlisle with him. McDonald always leads so close to weideman and it stifles him.

And hope that Embrey doesn't kick 5 straight.

Langdon got a htb free too, right? Very dumb charge.
Agree the rules are being overthought. The below the knees free is a sh*t show, called once every 2 games now despite the scraps where blokes are diving everywhere and arguably are taking legs.
I can understand the league wanting to cover their arse from concussion lawsuits, but it's not going to be stopped by pulling up blokes like this.
Below the knees was called almost every quarter last year. Now you see it missed every week.

The trouble with all these jumping at shadows rules. Umpires get just as confused and police it in a way that has it so confusing too.

The game would work itself out if that germ resigned, but alas I have a horrid feeling they're grooming him to take over from Gil.

I bang on about this every week, but we have to come out and physically dominate them.

Smash them in tackles early, make them hurt. Let our bull inside mids get the early psychological advantage. The best way to disrupt a quick, skillful team is to win the ball on the inside and make them hurt and second guess themselves whenever they get it by piling on huge pressure. AVB needs to set the tone early, has gone missing in too many games this year, needs to stand up like the Pies game.

Steele and Jones are about their only mids with real grunt. Ross is pretty weak in the contest. Bytel has played a handful of games.

If we let Sinclair, Billings, Butler, Clark, Hill get easy ball on the outside then we will lose.

Membrey always bothers us. Not sure what the matchup will be but we need to get it right. Maybe even Hibberd. If Lever plays on him Membrey will drag him up the ground and beat him on the lead which will keep Lever from intercepting. Tomlinson to Battle. May to Ryder/Marshall. Lever to take King.

We need a big game from Melksham. 1 goal 3 behinds last week wasn't good enough. He needs to get up the ground more and get some touch. Would like to see him with 18-20 disposals and less scoring shots if it means he sets up 6+ goals with his deadly kicking inside 50.

How about Fritsch tackling English last week, was about to complete the tackle (wasn't going to end up in a sling, but he had some momentum) then just lets go and English disposes of the ball easily.

Such an awful look for the game. A bloke 20kg lighter than the other team's ruckman not completing a tackle because he doesn't want to get a free paid against him? ****en hell

How about Fritsch tackling English last week, was about to complete the tackle (wasn't going to end up in a sling, but he had some momentum) then just lets go and English disposes of the ball easily.

Such an awful look for the game. A bloke 20kg lighter than the other team's ruckman not completing a tackle because he doesn't want to get a free paid against him? fu**en hell
It's frustrating it happens all the time worrying about free kicks. Just give the free away it's better than an easy forward 50 entry.

It depends, at our best if we play our game (puke) we should win. Do I think we can manufacture the game to be on our terms against them? fu** no. They'll play the game how they want and keep it wide of the contest. Granted they don't have the class inside of the dogs to get it outside but they generate scores from our turnovers around the ground and then run us off out feet.
Thats obviously our key to winning, or at least mitigating the damage. Take enough of an advantage out of our superior inside game to nullify their superior outside game.

The inside superiority wasn't there against the Dogs, and I don't think we paid nearly enough respect to the likes of Vandermeer who cut us up repeatedly.

They are probably having a flattering year, but they are the type of side who could cut us up easily. Pacy, move the ball cleanly on the outside, some dangerous smalls and talls up forward.
We'd need to really smash them in the contest to get on top. I don't know that they have brilliant intercept players, but Clark, Long, Coffield etc could still pick us off easily if we do our dumb sh*t bombs from contests.

They always beat us the same way - get the ball outside and waltz around the ground. If we dont address this in our positioning then we are guaranteed to lose. Thats why the game is interesting - can our coaches respond or will they lose in the same way