Channel 9 commentary whinge thread 2013

• Thread starter Thread starter CakeEater

Remember the good old days when the TV coverage started ten minutes before the start of play... Then they went to half an hour. Now they're starting an hour before and they really have absolutely nothing to say.
Happening with afl too now. So long as it is clear somewhere when the actual play starts, I don't mind too much - I can choose not to watch. Could be a handy way to show highlights from the previous day for thiose who missed it. But in general, your observation that it is just painful filler is spot on.

Overall, it is disappointing, becuase I must say that CH9 do the basics very well (esp compared to Sky). They replay wickets at regular intervals. When a commentator starts talking about something, the vision will match it (e.g. fielding position, replay of incident, etc). The camera work is pretty good too.

I get concerned when they try to make celebrities out of the commentators too much.

Slater and Healy are dire. Taylor and Warne are good if they are paired with commentators that keep them on the straight and narrow. Hussey is growing into the job nicely, although I find his chirpy jockey-like voice highly annoying. The rest I don't mind at all.

Overall, it is disappointing, becuase I must say that CH9 do the basics very well (esp compared to Sky). They replay wickets at regular intervals. When a commentator starts talking about something, the vision will match it (e.g. fielding position, replay of incident, etc). The camera work is pretty good too.

This is very true. The one thing that I think Nine could learn from Sky is the value of commentary silence. I really like the fact that the Sky commentators don't feel the need to be talking constantly - it's nice to just soak up the atmosphere sometimes. Often, they will have two or even three balls in a row without any input from the commentary team. On the other hand, the Nine guys seem to be impatient for the action to finish so that they can start talking again.

I think it's helped by the fact that Sky tend to only have two in the box at a time, rather than the three that Nine seem to favour.

I switched to ABC radio at one stage because that seems to be where the echelon of cricket-fans choose to listen when flabbergasted with channel 9's awful team (listening to the ABC instead of Channel 9 obviously gives you the same indie cred 'chic' as finding an original Stone Roses vinyl instead of buying a Blur cd at Kmart)..... And all I heard for ten seconds was a raspy whistle. I thought my radio must have been faulty. But no, this was in fact the way one of the commentators laughed.

He laughed like a balloon stuck in a lawnmower. At a joke. About his own career. Which he talked about for another 3 minutes after that. This is the better option? Don't get me wrong, he redeemed himself after that with some good calling. But.. This is a better option than 9 currently?
:confused:

I'm assuming your talking about kerry o keefe? He is a bit of an acquired taste but first class knowledge of the game and caller.

Channel 9 is a joke. Slater and Healy aren't commentators. They are cheerleaders. And the efforts before play to re-enact a run out or whatever that was. Is anyone remotely interested in this shite? Someone said it before. Just start coverage half an hour beforehand for pitch conditions, the toss of the coin, anthems and let play begin.

Healy, Slater and Brayshaw all need to go. Healy is an A-grade moron who contradicts himself every 10 seconds, Slater is a cheerleader and seems to think that he is some sort of comedian and Brayshaw carries on with some absolute rubbish and loves wheeling out all his cool blokey slang like "rig", "bowling with some serious wheels" etc. Just shut up and tell us what's happening on the field, or give us some decent insight into the game like Warne, Chappell, Taylor etc. Bugger off back to calling T20s the lot of you.

I'm assuming your talking about kerry o keefe? He is a bit of an acquired taste but first class knowledge of the game and caller.

Kerry is one of the most reliable judges of a player.

It's almost par for the course that everyone whinges about the commentators at this time of year, it wouldn't matter who was doing it, the criticism would come thick and fast. It comes from armchair fans who think they could do a better job.
Envy comes from people's ignorance of, or lack of belief in, their own gifts. I'm not quite sure what people want these commentators to do in a game that lasts 7 hours a day? My only beef is the constant whining of English commentator Shane Warne who leaps to the defence of every England player at the drop of a hat. He now states that spectators and the Australian media are too harsh on Chris Broad? He claims the Australian media are the worst in the world? Fascinating.

Is he? It doesn't say much for the others then. He's an absolute dip****. Banged on about Smith being a formidable test player, only for Smith to then get out.

He's very, very good. A bit like Sam Newman, can play the fool but when he actually discusses the game there's few better. Only Kerry talks the game much more.

One dismissal doesn't prove that point wrong though.

It's almost par for the course that everyone whinges about the commentators at this time of year, it wouldn't matter who was doing it, the criticism would come thick and fast. It comes from armchair fans who think they could do a better job.
Envy comes from people's ignorance of, or lack of belief in, their own gifts.
What do you mean by this.

He's very, very good. A bit like Sam Newman, can play the fool but when he actually discusses the game there's few better. Only Kerry talks the game much more.

One dismissal doesn't prove that point wrong though.
That was just one example. He also said the GABBA pitch was 400+ at the start of the first day. I notice he often changes his opinion on the characteristics of the pitch/conditions to suit the situation, but never acknowledging the mental/psychological aspect. Often exaggerates the strengths and weaknesses of players, to the point where I sometimes think he's making it up. Do you want me to note down everything he's says that's iffy? I can't remember all of it, I just accept that he's often wrong, like I do with Rodney Hogg.

Jesus! Pinning me straightaway on KOK, and I haven't yet expressed my disagreement to your pov about the current F1 season on the motor board. Mind you, there's plenty of others taking up my slack!

What do you mean by this.
It means we all have our own talents, we shouldn't be envious of those who have played the game at the highest level and now find themselves passing on their knowledge of it to us at home. If you leave smallest corner of your head vacant for a moment, other people's opinions will rush in from all quarters. The problem with that is the greatest deception men suffer is from their own opinions. Cricket is a difficult game in which to commentate, it's played for 7 hours each day over 5 days, the game can change in an instant, it really is an amazing game. When it comes to commentators i always get the feeling that the average sports fan thinks he can do a better job of it.

I can see you pov, but I think it's a tad harsh. I myself appreciate the insight I heard Hussey give during the test, regarding the movement of the ball

"When it looks like it's moved a millimetre on TV, it feels like it's moving around a lot in the middle"

That is awesome. Nobody will knock a commentator who focusses on that and wants to give to the audience.

But when Michael Slater then calls Michael Clarke "Captain Courageous!" Then even the dimmest of us plebs are justified in having a pop at the commentary. Unfortunately it's more of the latter with ch9 and KOK.

Michael Slater co-hosts The Footy Show (rugby league), a show renowned for being as funny and entertaining as cancer.

It used to be far far far funnier than this, back in the Sterlo and Matt Johns days, now it's hugely sanitized, which is stupid really

I can put up with most of the box.

Taylor is easily the best of the new nine crew, he gets excited, but not over the top. Warne's pretty good in small doses.

Brayshaw/Nicholas need work.

Slater/Healy though, jesus ****ing christ, there aren't bigger morons commentating any sport in Australia than these two. Absolute cheerleading flogs, when they aren't driving the bogan pride angle, they are talking absolute dribble.

Amazed that nine haven't tried to raid Fox, every single one of them are better options, as are some others in other mediums.

I'm not a huge Mark Waugh fan, but like Geoff Lawson, he can give good insights at times, if you move past some of the bias.....

The 9 stable, in reality should be:

Mark Nicholas, Brendan Julian, Mark Taylor, Shane Warne, Damien Flemming, Greg Blewett, Alan Border.

They need more Billy Birmingham.

With Tony gone and Richie and Bill on the way out, he's the only way of reliving the old glory days.

He was great value at Sunday tea time.

I can see you pov, but I think it's a tad harsh. I myself appreciate the insight I heard Hussey give during the test, regarding the movement of the ball

"When it looks like it's moved a millimetre on TV, it feels like it's moving around a lot in the middle"

That is awesome. Nobody will knock a commentator who focusses on that and wants to give to the audience.

But when Michael Slater then calls Michael Clarke "Captain Courageous!" Then even the dimmest of us plebs are justified in having a pop at the commentary. Unfortunately it's more of the latter with ch9 and KOK.

Slater is pushing the envelope i'll grant you that. Hussey fresh out of the game is a welcome addition.