Chants in AFL Games

The Barmy Army's inability to shut the ******** up drives me mad. Are they there for the cricket, or just a jolly good sing-a-long?

I go to Football / Soccer / Cricket matches to WATCH THE GAME.

If I wanna sing with a bunch of bored, drunk foreigners, I go to a karaoke bar.

Victory fans carn't chant. If you want to listen to good chants go listen to the Barmy Army or go to a South Melbourne Soccer match and listen to our boys.

Victory fans are mostly South Melbourne fans anyway
******** of ********er, you just pwned yourself in your own post.

Good luck trying to get into the A-League.

You obviously haven't heard the Richmond Cheer Squad before. Every match at 3 qtr time the old Tiger Army chant comes out and the fans go crazy. The Tiges have several chants some borrowed from the Barmy Army and some made up.

Funny, I didn't hear much of that going on during our round one clash this year (and I'd hazard a guess there wasn't too much going on in rounds 7, 17 and 22 either) :eek:

The Barmy Army's inability to shut the ******** up drives me mad. Are they there for the cricket, or just a jolly good sing-a-long?

:mad:

Some people really have no sense of fun whatsover. Tell me, does other people singing impact on your ability to watch the game? No.

I was highly impressed with the fact that even when getting hammered, you could still hear the Barmy Army's singing dominating the crowd noise. Especially in Perth i was mega impressed with them.

I'd like to hear the crowd go nuts not just for goal but throughout the whole game, and save up one huge cheer for the end of the game when they win the game.

Richmond have the Tiger Army at 3 quarter time.

By the way, in the youtube clip, what are the words of the main chant that takes up most of the video? The North East South West one, I think.

Victory fans carn't chant. If you want to listen to good chants go listen to the Barmy Army or go to a South Melbourne Soccer match and listen to our boys.

Victory fans are mostly South Melbourne fans anyway

How BITTER is your cup of coffee this morning mate!:D :rolleyes:

Seriously, up here in Sydney the A-League and Cove has sent a broom through the rugby league supporters groups like you wouldn't believe.:eek: The bar has been raised completely. And with rugby league tending to have a less insular culture than AFL in Melbourne people have gone to the point of stalking the Cove's forum for ideas. Suddenly we see South Sydney and St George with massive block flags. We see the Wests Tiger Fanatics (Yep, WTF! :eek: ) trying to use megaphones to get their chants going, we have a group of terrace singers at Cronulla, we have the Chook Pen making you 'Ultra-style' standards and giant flags. The Swans CEO wanted them to come to games & copped it (futbol fans in Sydney are more anti AFL than RL it seems. As they dislike the attituide of Demetriou & his cronies, which I can completely understand.)

I just wish the same supporter revolution would happen in Melbourne though. But I could see Demetriou & his cronies stamping out any attempts at getting grog squads back. Because people swearing & singing destroys the 'wholesome G Rated' image the AFL wants to give its sponsors and corporate partners.

Good to see people starting to open their eyes and see that AFL footy culture is not the bee-all & end-all of life in Melbourne. Australia, it is time to start singing and supporting more! :cool: :thumbsu:

JF

But I could see Demetriou & his cronies stamping out any attempts at getting grog squads back. Because people swearing & singing destroys the 'wholesome G Rated' image the AFL wants to give its sponsors and corporate partners.
One of the biggest reasons which has turned me completely off AFL football.
Fake, plastic and dull.

Cheer squads have always tried to get the crowd to chant. The fact the the crowd doesn't join in shows that they're not interested.

I think people wrongly equate noise with atmosphere. The best atmosphere has periods of silence as well as periods of cheering.

I HATE that wossy "insert teams name clap clap clap" cringe factor of 1000%.
Cheer squads would have to be THE biggest bunch of childish MORONS on the face of the earth wouldn't they!!!! Have any of them actually ever taken 10 minutes out of their painful lives to come up with a decent and individual team chant rather than reusing that tired, AFL generic, "clap, clap, clap" rubbish that couldn't inspire an under 9's team to run through crepe paper!

Cheer squads have always tried to get the crowd to chant. The fact the the crowd doesn't join in shows that they're not interested.

I think people wrongly equate noise with atmosphere. The best atmosphere has periods of silence as well as periods of cheering.

See my post above and it might not be too hard to work out why:rolleyes:

.....and i am sure that you thoroughly enjoy the cut sanga lunch, tartan blanket, and thermos of coffee that Deloris packed for you the night before:rolleyes:

The Barmy Army chant is noise pollution. Their original chants, with a theme, are great though. At the cricket they give individuals a chance to respond before taking the piss out of him or her, it is great. Just less self obsessed "Barmy Army", please - and no chanting through acceptance speeches.

And ban the Fanatics, pleeeaassseee! I have never been more disappointed with a group of travelling Aussies internationally in my life.

As for the footy, no chants needed as the action is too good (as mentioned numerously). A few choice chants could not hurt though, just ban the team name clap, clap, clap!

See my post above and it might not be too hard to work out why:rolleyes:
Do you seriously think that if they just got more creative the crowd would join in?

The crowd will chant the name of the team, but that is it. When the cheer squad ties to do anything fancier than that, the crowd ignores them. Not everyone wants to sing songs about bubbles while they're at the footy.

If there was an interest in group choreography at the footy, then more complicated chants would have been developed a century ago. So it's Hawthorn *clap* *clap* *clap* or nothing.

Are you suggesting that soccer fans are more 'cultured' than AFL fans?:eek:

I remember as a teen in the mid to late 80's, the Hawthorn cheer squad had a few original chants but have not heard them in a long time!!! One of them was as easy as chanting the club name slowly over and over again.........Hawwwww - thornnnnnn.........Hawwwww - thornnnnnn..........Hawwwww - thornnnnnn..........etc..... Usually sung to push the team on when the team was 10+ goals ahead:p !

While a very simple chant, it was a welcome change from the clap, clap clap garbage and was very effective when a large section of the crowd joined in.

Are you suggesting that soccer fans are more 'cultured' than AFL fans?:eek:

I remember as a teen in the mid to late 80's, the Hawthorn cheer squad had a few original chants but have not heard them in a long time!!! One of them was as easy as chanting the club name slowly over and over again.........Hawwwww - thornnnnnn.........Hawwwww - thornnnnnn..........Hawwwww - thornnnnnn..........etc..... Usually sung to push the team on when the team was 10+ goals ahead:p !

While a very simple chant, it was a welcome change from the clap, clap clap garbage and was very effective when a large section of the crowd joined in.
No. I think the tempo of Aussie Rules is not well suited to chanting. That's why they like the clapclapclap, it can be done between a goal and the bounce.

Sydney used to do the Syyyyyyyyyyyyyydneeeeeeeeee thing after goals in the mid 90s, and the clapclapclap used to involve the whole crowd at Waverley for Hawthorn games.

But I doubt that you could ever get the crowd to sing songs during the play.

No. I think the tempo of Aussie Rules is not well suited to chanting. That's why they like the clapclapclap, it can be done between a goal and the bounce.
Sydney used to do the Syyyyyyyyyyyyyydneeeeeeeeee thing after goals in the mid 90s, and the clapclapclap used to involve the whole crowd at Waverley for Hawthorn games.

But I doubt that you could ever get the crowd to sing songs during the play.

Clapclapclap IS a chant and DOES get done mainly between goals and usually when there is a ball up. But do we have to hear the SAME boring, droning chant between EVERY goal?????????

I thought chants were meant to inspire the players????

There are moments when a 'chant' can work in Australian Rules Football.

For instance when a player is lining up to take a kick at goal after a free kick has been given or he has taken a mark is an example.

But as I said before. It is not in the culture of Australian Rules to chant. Thousands of people shouting 'ball!' after a good tackle or booing in unison is the tradition. And it's not less valid than organised chanting at a Association Football game.

... chants aren't needed. You're too caught up in the action.

You shouldn't be so quick to dismiss. Maybe Essendon could win a few more games if all of their fans link hands during the game and practise some form of meditational chant. Two million Tibetans can't be wrong. The power of prayer... Believe!

Chants in AFL Games