Chris Dawes

I'd consider a handjob from Adrianna Lima

It's a bit over the top because of the gap between our first rounder and yours, but it's not as outlandish as you make out.

I'd be interested to see an Adelaide perspective on what a trade involving Dawes and Gunston would look like. They were both drafted around the same spot in the draft, Dawes is obviously more developed and established though Gunston arguably has more upside/potential.

I'm not sure what Adelaide fans are thinking they'll get for Gunston at the moment but I would've thought considering he has put you blokes in between a rock and a hard place, the potential of getting someone like Dawes in return for him would be a massive win for your club.

No need for Dawes, having Tippett and Walker, and I'm not a massive fan personally. I think he works well in your system due to his work rate.

People were saying the same things about Reid last year as well, average player made to look better by a good side yada yada now half your clubs would sell their left nut to get him. Dawes will be the same, he was stymied by a broken hand this year but if he manages to get through next year without injury he'll be pushing AA I think. His form early in the year was electric, better than Clokes.

Interesting.

As far as I can see, by rd 14 Cloke had 35 goals, probably 3 clear BOGs and 80 odd marks; to Dawes' 21, 0 BOGs & 63 marks... Dawes playing closer to goal you'd expect more goals if not more marks... so not sure I can agree there.

As a stand alone player, I don't rate him very much. He is a decent KPF, but no star.
Structurally though, he is very important to the Pies.

I think Collingwood will probably end up getting a deal done with him, but if he were to be traded, it would be for a first round pick. Around pick 15 would be fair, no matter how much Collingwood fans attempt to overrate him.

Watts or Kreuzer? You're dreaming.

That sums it up perfectly for me. Not someone I'd want North to pick up tbh. And if he were to leave Pies would be after a established player, not a pick imo.

Would he been keen to come to Adelaide?

Jack Gunston + 2nd Round Draft Pick For Dawes?
Why on earth would Adelaide do that? We already have Tippett & Walker as KPPs in our forward line, I doubt there would be room for a 3rd in Dawes.

Like WALL-e, I don't rate Dawes that highly either. I think he works well in Collingwood's system, but I'm not convinced he'd be a great fit for a lot of other clubs.

Well you would never Know how he be in another Side and I think people never will.

Though be intresting what Teams would pay for him anyway

Not sure it's been brought up, but if the reason Dawes will go is due to salary cap constraints, then Pies would only want draft pick(s), as they couldn't pay a comparable player anyway.
Melbourne offer of about Pick 12 is probably about right.
Blues would battle to trade into a position to offer Pies something similar, especially if we have to part with our 1st rounder to secure Dylan Buckley - which we shouldn't - but probably will.

^^Isn't Tippett going to GC?
He's definitely not going anywhere this year. 2012 is a possibility, though I wouldn't be betting on it.

Steven Trigg (the Adelaide CEO) was rather emphatic about it when asked during the Sanderson press conference earlier today.
Though be intresting what Teams would pay for him anyway
It's a legitimate thread. I've got no qualms about that - I think he's probably a player who polarises opinions, so you could get a fairly wide variety of valuations.

True - People would have Different Views on Him.

Doubt he would go but you can never say 100% he will stay until he Re-Signs

Then you are an idiot. Watts will end up a lot better than Dawes.
What a player from another team end up better than a Collingwood player? No way

No he won't, Dawes won't even make it into the top 5 KPF

At the start of the year, that is until about Rd 8, there was quite a lot of discussion amongst the media whether Cloke or Dawes was the better forward. Cloke then took over & even before he broke his thumb, Malthouse made comment that he was carrying a leg injury.

I love the comments that he only does well in Collingwood's system. You put any forward next to the best contested mark in the AFL & their output will be low.

No need for Dawes, having Tippett and Walker, and I'm not a massive fan personally. I think he works well in your system due to his work rate.

Fair point. I didn't really think much beyond KPF leaving = need a KPF to replace him.
Dawes wouldn't fit well into your setup at all now that I think about it.

He's definitely not going anywhere this year. 2012 is a possibility, though I wouldn't be betting on it.

Steven Trigg (the Adelaide CEO) was rather emphatic about it when asked during the Sanderson press conference earlier today.

Is that rumoured clause in his contract actually true? If he has to be traded for a 2nd + 3rd rounder if he chooses to leave next year and Adelaide has any inclination he might leave next year, they should offload him ASAP.

Go to your window and look just above the horizon. See those little dots? They're pigs flying backwards. The odds of Tippett's contract containing the clause reported by Caro would be about the same as you seeing pigs with wings.

In any case, Adelaide's CEO has made it abundantly clear that Tippett won't be traded this year and they'll be working damn hard to re-sign him again when his current contract expires next year.

Well he is way better the Q Lynch

Such a typical BF response. Respond to analysis of your own player by naming a player in the team of original poster whom he may be better than.

Grow up.

Interesting.

As far as I can see, by rd 14 Cloke had 35 goals, probably 3 clear BOGs and 80 odd marks; to Dawes' 21, 0 BOGs & 63 marks... Dawes playing closer to goal you'd expect more goals if not more marks... so not sure I can agree there.
If you watch the games and not just read stats you will see that Dawes was probably the better of the two in the first 2/2.5 months of footy..

Such a typical BF response. Respond to analysis of your own player by naming a player in the team of original poster whom he may be better than.

Grow up.

That, and he's kinda wrong, Lynch has been pretty damn good this season ... would love him at Collingwood.

Dawes is an average player in a good side. Dont rate him as highly as what Collingwood supporters do (obviously). Late 1st rounder at best.

Yeah, but what you think isn't what everybody else things, and clubs who need a key forward will trade what needs to be traded ... despite one nobodies opinion on the player. :)

Just saying'

I reckon he's worth more than pick 15. Maybe around 8-10.

And obviously not worth Watts or Kreuzer, but he was just making the point that the pies would prefer him to pick 10-15, and obviously Blues/Dees fan would prefer Kreuzer/Watts to him.

KPFs are like gold, and Dawes is more than decent. He holds heaps of currency and Collingwood would be massively disadvantaged to give up a potential 7ish year partnership with Cloke.

He's showed more then both to date and is the better player currently, he is only 21/22 btw so long way off his best football.

He has a bit of a way to go but is a solid KPF for us and is very important to our structure, he will only get better once he stops trying to chest mark everything.

He's showed more then both to date and is the better player currently, he is only 21/22 btw so long way off his best football.

He has a bit of a way to go but is a solid KPF for us and is very important to our structure, he will only get better once he stops trying to chest mark everything.

Kreuzer >>>>>>>>>> daylight >>>>>>>>>> Dawes

Sorry buddy, but you just made an arse out of yourself :thumbsu:

Doubt he will be going anywhere.

He is studying law -the Galbally's will fix him up in a nice law firm once his footy career is over. An extra 100k or so won't drag him away.