Chris Judd

People are quick to forget.
"terrible footskills" ... please!! :rolleyes:

He's never been an elite kicker of the ball, but he would be above average with ease!
He's lost pace yes, still has core strength, good inside game and a great football brain.

The slump has coincided with the birth of his child, perhaps it's effecting him. I think he will never be as good as he was at the eagles, never has been, but to write him off is a bit premature. He can and will still influence games of footy, he's a modern great.

Please, if the birth of his child is affecting his game then he is unprofessional. Sam Mitchell goes into a hotel the night before each game after the birth of his child so he is well rested. What a joke.

Judd isn't "gone", he is starting to look like the player a lot of us have been saying he has been for the last 5 years, just a handball shoveller. Until he finally sucks it up and makes a concerted effort to learn how to be a forward he will be a middle of the road midfielder.

Well he's in the twilight of his career now. Still believe he can rip a team apart with his skill but I don't expect to see it as often as it was in the past. Still would be in any teams best 22.

Please, if the birth of his child is affecting his game then he is unprofessional. Sam Mitchell goes into a hotel the night before each game after the birth of his child so he is well rested. What a joke.

Judd isn't "gone", he is starting to look like the player a lot of us have been saying he has been for the last 5 years, just a handball shoveller. Until he finally sucks it up and makes a concerted effort to learn how to be a forward he will be a middle of the road midfielder.
Absdolute crap. For 5 years you have been saying he's middle of the road?
Did you watch him over the past 3 seasons? He has been a top 10 footballer each of those years, only the uneducated would state otherwise.

Always said Chris Judd will Retire before 32

He said to the eagles players that his shoulders were stuffed due to carrying them around for so many years

Well it looks like he has a bigger burden on his back with carrying not only carlton but also the coaches at his club.

Chris Judd - West Coast Champion
thats what i prefer to remember him as But Gary Ablett Jnr is better than Judd was imo.

Just getting older. I noticed on friday he cant influence games like he used to. All that hard running has caught up on him i am afraid.. He looked exhausted at certain points in the game. He has been great , but his best is behind him sadly

He has never had a left foot either which makes him vulnerable now that he has slowed down too

Still a gun, no matter what negative crap i hear in the media about him getting older or not having the same influence on the game......what a load of sh^t

Reckon Carrazzo's absence hurting him more than Murphy.

Has being going head to head v the comps best in recent weeks.

We probably got the best we could out of him

What is it with these West Coast folk who believe they got "the best" out of Chris Judd?

It is far from the truth.

I must be a minority in the belief that Judd, since crossing over to Carlton has become the complete player. His all round game was completed and personally, he took his game to new heights.

There is a reason why the Blues got Judd entering the peak of his powers.

Look no further than all the accomplishments he achieved at Carlton from an individual stand point compared to West Coast. Below (highlighted in bold) are his achievements playing for Carlton. The others represent his achievements for WCE.

• Brownlow Medal Winner: 2004, 2010
  • Runner-Up Brownlow Medal: 2009
  • Leigh Matthews Trophy 2006, 2011
  • All Australian: 2004, 2006, 2008 (Captain), 2009 (Vice-Captain), 2010, 2011 (Vice-Captain)
  • Norm Smith: 2005
  • Victorian Team representative honours in AFL Hall of Fame Tribute Match: 2008
  • International Rules Series representative honours: 2002
  • AFLPA Best First Year Player Award: 2002
  • Best and Fairest Winner: 2004, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010.
  • The Age Player of the Year: 2009
  • AFL Goal of the Year: 2005.
Anyone else still really believe his best days were at WCE?

Everyone brings up "his pace" and his "explosiveness" like it had declined post 2007. Sure, he is 29 now and it will slowly be on the downhill but up until now, he was still the same explosive out of congestion Chris Judd- only he developed a contested side to his game that was the best in the competition to boot.

What is it with these West Coast folk who believe they got "the best" out of Chris Judd?

I must be a minority in the belief that Judd, since crossing over to Carlton has become the complete player. His all round game was completed and personally, he took his game to new heights.

Look no further than all the accomplishments he achieved at Carlton from an individual stand point compared to West Coast. Below (highlighted in bold) are his achievements playing for Carlton. The others represent his achievements for WCE.

• All Australian: 2004, 2006, 2008 (Captain), 2009 (Vice-Captain), 2010, 2011 (Vice-Captain)

Everyone brings up "his pace" and his "explosiveness" like it had declined post 2007. Sure, he is 29 now and it will slowly be on the downhill but up until now, he was still the same explosive out of congestion Chris Judd- only he developed a contested side to his game that was the best in the competition to boot.
You are making too much sense for BigFooty. Stop it already!

Finished.

Glad he didn't come to Collingwood. Would have cost us 2010 and anything else we might achieve. We have better performers at less than half the price.

Gotta laugh now at Walls giving him the AA Captaincy once he donned the Navy Blue.

You are making too much sense for BigFooty. Stop it already!
That isn't sense at all. You can list all the awards you want to, all you had to do is watch Judd in his years as an Eagle and it would be blatantly obvious he was a much better player for us than he has even been for Carlton.

Mate, if you really think that then it just goes to show that you either didn't see him much when he was in his early 20s or you have just forgotten. Why don't you jump onto YouTube and watch some replays to refresh yourself.

Turn it up.

His highlights reel at Carlton is just as good as his playing days at WCE.

I have not forgotten.

He has been enormous for the Blues.

I just don't believe his best playing days were at WCE which the evidence backs up.

yep the judd at west coast was a class above the judd at carlton.
the post from dt13 was irrelevant for the most part.
watch the player, compare the player and you shouldn't find it hard to reach the obvious conclusion.

Irrelevant? Why?

Because the facts are clear as day for all to see.

Watch the player, compare the player you say.

His achievements for Carlton suggest a breaking even at the very least in comparison to his WCE days if not ahead for the Blues.

Do you honestly believe a guy at the absolute peak of his powers entering his prime years at 24 years of age played "lesser" football in that period of time than his pre-prime years i.e. 18-24?

Get off it will you.

He was already the competitors best player and a complete midfielder before he went to Carlton- from the 2007 prospectus:

Judd continues to build his reputation as the best midfielder of the modern era with his dominance in 2006 culminating in a set of numbers that may never be matched. Judd averaged more clearances, contested possessions and hardball-gets than any player in 2006 and also booted more goals than any other midfielder (29). He had an elite kicking efficiency of 83% and he remarkably turned the ball over only 12 times from his 332 kicks. His work when not in possession can often go unnoticed, however he averaged five tackles per game last season which ranked sixth in the AFL. Judd's dominance in the big games is outstanding with averages of 29 disposals, 14 contested possessions, eight hardball-gets, eight clearances, five inside 50s and four tackles in the past two seasons.
Just look at those numbers- best in the competition inside and outside. Elite kicking efficiency, elite tackler, elite big game player. And he was playing even better in 2007 before the OP. Hasn't regained the explosiveness or goalkicking he had since then, but his contested game has improved.

You've probably watched him a lot more since he went to Carlton, but he hasn't reached the heights he scaled for us. And I am a massive Judd fan, he has still been the best player in the league in a couple of seasons while at Carlton, but he was the best player we've ever had at the Eagles in his prime. And started his career like no player I've seen, made it almost unfair for new draftees.

He was already the competitors best player and a complete midfielder before he went to Carlton- from the 2007 prospectus:

Just look at those numbers- best in the competition inside and outside. Elite kicking efficiency, elite tackler, elite big game player. And he was playing even better in 2007 before the OP. Hasn't regained the explosiveness or goalkicking he had since then, but his contested game has improved.

You've probably watched him a lot more since he went to Carlton, but he hasn't reached the heights he scaled for us. And I am a massive Judd fan, he has still been the best player in the league in a couple of seasons while at Carlton, but he was the best player we've ever had at the Eagles in his prime. And started his career like no player I've seen, made it almost unfair for new draftees.

I'm not doubting Judd's impact at the Eagles, I just believe he is being undersold for his output at Carlton.

Those numbers in 2006 are awesome. I'd love to see his statistical career averages between his time at WCE and Carlton. I don't think there would be much in it at all.

Statistically he would more than likely be similar, if not a little lower
But its the hurt factor of his possessions that is far less nowadays

For example
Judd taking the ball out of the pack, running 20 metres then setting up a forward with a kick inside 50 is worth 1 stat
Judd quickly getting he ball in a pack and kicking forward with no sense of direction is also worth 1 stat

Chris Judd