Chris Knights Appreciation Thread.

His wrong footing of Houli was awesome.

Big long kick, Houli watching the man not the ball, dummy step forward, Houli over reacts, easy chest mark.

Played it like a vet.

Ouch you got me a good one their Mr Football. How many Bronwlow votes did your man Captain Van Berlo get today - GUN:o

Way to prove my point.

You're a fool. What you claimed i said, and what my post actually said in no way coincide.

BTW, van Berlos playing pretty well in the backlines, im happy with his form.

Do you just manufacture things to act like a dick about, when all is seemingly going well? Cant just be a good bloke for one day?

I'm glad you raised this about VB.

I reckon if you asked the armchair critics where VB has been playing for the past few weeks they coudn't tell you.

Just for their benefit, no his form hasn't dropped away to the point where as the less educated have suggested that he should be dropped.

Being the true team player that he is, he's moved out of the mid-field to enable Dogga to move off of his HBF into the middle as a tagger. His form in defence has actually been good, but obviously not as glamorous and eye-catching as when he was playing on-ball.

Can the VB knockers please enlighten us on who the forward was that gave VB the run-around yesterday?

No made up names accepted. :)

The thing I liked about VB yesterday was while I didn't see much of him, every time I did he looked clean as a whistle and FAST! He laid a couple of beautiful tackles yesterday and used the ball well. Didn't do anything incredible with it, just did his role and got it on to one of our many running linkmen and got us started again.

I thought yesterday was VB's best game in a while.

Uh oh the "no right foot" murmings have begun.
I think it's a fair enough discussion point, actually, and I'm definitely a Chris Knights fan. Many of his goals are coming from wrong-footing his opponents. It'll be interesting to see how he goes once opponents start to work that out.

Case in point is Buddy Franklin, whose output this season is down for a variety of reasons, one of them being that defenders now know he'll swing onto his left at every opportunity. Sure, everybody always knew he was a lefty, but it hadn't yet become ingrained in defenders minds so that they'll automatically know any time he swings right, he's selling candy. It's one less trick he's got in his bag. The same thing will likely happen with Knights. One of his goals in the fourth, where he managed to find space in the pocket under pressure from about 4 defenders, would NOT have happened had he been a right footer in the opposite pocket.

Regardless though, Knights has been bloody outstanding up forward for us. I'm just not so sure how long his current output will last. Even when he is inevitably worked out a bit though, he'll still be a bloody weapon with the depth and accuracy of his kicking.

Well done, Knighta! Every time he touched the ball, I was screaming "HAVE A SHOT!"
...and he usually did! :D

The lack of right will hurt him from time to time, but his ability to find it on the lead, the distance he can kick and his ability to work into space, means it'll be a rare thing.

Plus, as we saw yesterday, he's got the ability to put the hammer down with the first dozen steps and get around most opponents.

The lack of right will hurt him from time to time, but his ability to find it on the lead, the distance he can kick and his ability to work into space, means it'll be a rare thing.

Plus, as we saw yesterday, he's got the ability to put the hammer down with the first dozen steps and get around most opponents.

"the distance he can kick..." Ohhh! Woo woo woo!!!

Way to prove my point.

You're a fool. What you claimed i said, and what my post actually said in no way coincide.

Do you just manufacture things to act like a dick about, when all is seemingly going well? Cant just be a good bloke for one day?

Here's your post:

Still, I dont like using current good form to suggest all criticisms were unjustified. Knight's form now is a pretty good indication that he wasnt playing to his full ability previously, hence the criticism of him wasnt unwarranted.

What a cop out. If you were one of those that bagged Knights relentlessly at least have the balls to admit you were wrong instead of hiding behind the rubbish I highlighted.

If Sellar does come good, and I hope he does, at least I will gladly admit I was wrong and eat humble pie.

It wasn't just criticsm, their was a real ugly undertone to all the anti Chris Knights rubbish.

As for Van Berlo, really handy little player but AFC captain, no way.

Here's your post:

Still, I dont like using current good form to suggest all criticisms were unjustified. Knight's form now is a pretty good indication that he wasnt playing to his full ability previously, hence the criticism of him wasnt unwarranted.

What a cop out. If you were one of those that bagged Knights relentlessly at least have the balls to admit you were wrong instead of hiding behind the rubbish I highlighted.

Read the whole post again, very slowly, and try to comprehend. I know you struggle, so ill break it down very clearly.

The post agrees that some of the criticism was over the top, what you've highlighted is me saying that we shouldnt take his current form as an indication that he never had any problems with his game that needed addressing. His form now is an indication of improvement, not an indication of perfection. Case in point, his goal kicking: he previously missed shots that a player with his ability should have kicked. His form now demonstrates that he is indeed capable of kicking those shots, so that critique of him would have been accurate.

Its a very simple idea, you cant use current good form to reverse disprove previous criticisms of form. Players actively address problems in their game all the time. Something not existing now does not prove that it never did.

As far as 'balls to admit it' goes, if you think ive gone rabid on players on this board, feel free to find the post drongo. Maybe you'll have the 'balls to admit' that youve completely misunderstood what was a simple point?

BTW, im aware you're trying to troll me on the van Berlo issue. Its a pretty poor effort. Grow up.

Read the whole post again, very slowly, and try to comprehend. I know you struggle, so ill break it down very clearly.

The post agrees that some of the criticism was over the top, what you've highlighted is me saying that we shouldnt take his current form as an indication that he never had any problems with his game that needed addressing. His form now is an indication of improvement, not an indication of perfection. Case in point, his goal kicking: he previously missed shots that a player with his ability should have kicked. His form now demonstrates that he is indeed capable of kicking those shots, so that critique of him would have been accurate.

Its a very simple idea, you cant use current good form to reverse disprove previous criticisms of form. Players actively address problems in their game all the time. Something not existing now does not prove that it never did.

As far as 'balls to admit it' goes, if you think ive gone rabid on players on this board, feel free to find the post drongo. Maybe you'll have the 'balls to admit' that youve completely misunderstood what was a simple point?

BTW, im aware you're trying to troll me on the van Berlo issue. Its a pretty poor effort. Grow up.

yesum Mr Southern me not have the education off of you so me really slow to comprehend. Take it easy on the insults little man, it makes you look more rattled than you already are.

You know damn well that the criticsm of Knights was over the top and unjustified it wasn't just constructive criticsm, it was a blo*dy witch hunt. Anyone with even an ounce of football knowledge would know that he had some very good tools but was still young/inexperienced. In the very week when he was one of the few Crows going hard to get the ball he was still heavily criticised on this board, even despite the smashed face. Then for one of his critics to turn around and say all the criticsm was warranted becuase he wasn't playing to the best of his ability really stinks.

A real man would have come out and taken a large chunk of humble pie. Now put down your West Coast Cooler and admit you were wrong instead of hiding behind some pathetic comment.

yesum Mr Southern me not have the education off of you so me really slow to comprehend.

Only accurate statements you've made tonight.

You know damn well that the criticsm of Knights was over the top and unjustified it wasn't just constructive criticsm, it was a blo*dy witch hunt. Anyone with even an ounce of football knowledge would know that he had some very good tools but was still young/inexperienced. In the very week when he was one of the few Crows going hard to get the ball he was still heavily criticised on this board, even despite the smashed face. Then for one of his critics to turn around and say all the criticsm was warranted becuase he wasn't playing to the best of his ability really stinks.

Ok, apparently explaining it in depth, and simple language still hasnt gotten it into your skull. Ill try one last time. With bold. Noone could fail to understand bold, right?

I have held all along that the criticism went over the top. You're making yourself look slow by pretending otherwise. If you think im being dishonest by saying this, prove it.

As im not one of his over the top critics, your claim that im trying to justify my own over the top attacks is inaccurate. Again, if you think i was one of these over the top attackers prove it.

Since you've been unable to address the actual logic of what i said, and have gone instead for strawmans, and emotive junk, im guessing you're conceeding the actual points. I notice Stabby was able to understand them fairly easily.

A real man would have come out and taken a large chunk of humble pie. Now put down your West Coast Cooler and admit you were wrong instead of hiding behind some pathetic comment.

Irony at its sweetest.

You've given up actually arguing the point, and have gone the hillarious route of demanding i make ammends for statements i never made.

Tell you what mate, again, find any unreasonable criticism of Knights ive made on this board, and ill happily eat humble pie. ;)

Have to agree completely, would love to know what Knighters time is over the first 20 as he has an under-rated explosive capacity, he bursts away from packs so well.

Plus after the Dons game he just needs to pull out a douglas and he can kick one from anywhere on his left (his right in Douglas' case)

I remember reading somewhere that Charlie Walsh reckons that he and maybe Sellar (not sure on this one) have great explosive capabilities on the bike.

Burton's the one Walsh reckons could have made a good Tour de Frog rider, if he'd focused on cycling instead of footy. I'm assuming that would be as a sprinter rather than a climber/time triallist.

Was Knights.

Said that, not just on the bikes, but in general, Knights had real explosive acceleration - more so than Knights himself was aware of at that stage.

Knights having explosive acceleration doesn't surprise me, how often have we seen him sprint at the ball, grab it and burst away from the pack.

Yeah, i keep telling myself...how stupid is the opposition, just guard his left side so he cannot run around into space and snap the goals. Problem for them is he just bursts away! They would like to stop him but they can't:thumbsu:

I am loving the fact he is a hungry hippo atm.

Obviously if he keeps this form up he'll attract even more attention and a better defender. It will then be up to Porps to make them pay! How good is it having options:thumbsu:

Yeah, i keep telling myself...how stupid is the opposition, just guard his left side so he cannot run around into space and snap the goals. Problem for them is he just bursts away! They would like to stop him but they can't:thumbsu:

I am loving the fact he is a hungry hippo atm.

Obviously if he keeps this form up he'll attract even more attention and a better defender. It will then be up to Porps to make them pay! How good is it having options:thumbsu:

Yeah, this is the strong position we are now in. Put Burton back into this forward line and who do you send your 1st, 2nd, 3rd best defender to? One of the six of our forwards is likely to kick a bag of goals every week.