Cleve Hughes show us the talent

richmondkickass2

My friend keeps on telling about Cleve Hughes has talent. All I can say is. Cleve get out there show us what you got?
I don't believe he has any talent at all. There are other players at the club that have more talent than Cleve hughes.

he aint the worst i guess not the best shot in the team though big bodied player though and a strong mark over head and on the chest

agreed. It'll be a shame if he doesn't develop. He's got size and strength and a good boot, just doesn't work hard enough when he's in the side.
Needs to stand up and stop taking a free ride.

A couple of years ago hughes kicking was perfect hes set shots for goal were one of hes key strong points...

I guess its just a confidence thing which i highly believe he will get over.

Re: Hughes

He's got my support!

Was looking great this time last year and obviously has the talent to play well at AFL level.

Great mark, has good skills, footy smarts and courage - I like players who have few weaknesses and don't turn it over. Cleve has no "chronic deficiencies" and needs to work on his ability to get to more contests.

Kick a bag Cleve :thumbsu:

He's in this week, thoughts? happy? unhappy? couldn't give a flying ____?

Unfortunately, his major drawback is a significant one, PACE! At such a young age he certainly won't get nay quicker and the days of the pure marking player, are limited. He tries hard and can catch it but simply gets beaten too easily when it hits the gorund as he isn't quick enough.

He won't get any faster either!

Unfortunately, his major drawback is a significant one, PACE! At such a young age he certainly won't get nay quicker and the days of the pure marking player, are limited. He tries hard and can catch it but simply gets beaten too easily when it hits the gorund as he isn't quick enough.

"At such a young age he certainly won't get any quicker" - why not? Young guys tend to be able to improve their speed better than older players.

"the days of the pure marking player, are limited" - someone call Jon Brown and tell him his career is over!

I don't know, Sausage. Maybe you're thinking of Dave Hughes.

looks goofy but still to early to say he cant offer us anything. Will develop into a big unit, so me will sit on the fence with this dude.;)

This is his big chance. Schulz doesn't impose himself on the game enough but the thing I like about Schulz is that he has developed a very good worth ethic. He dives and chases. Are we living in the 80's thinking you can plonk a bloke in the square and he can kick 8? I like Wallace and reckon he deserves 5 years (Thompson won a flag in his 7th) but I sense that's what's gonna happen!

I hope he gives us something like he did against West Coast last year.

remember that game very well (tambo's 4 snags in 1 qtr)

I was on one of my rare (unfortunately) excursions to the G that day and ever since then I have wanted to see more of Cleve in the 1's. Not saying he is a definate long term prospect but for whatever reason I reckon he could be a goer. I am not great judge of talent so I could be barking up the wrong tree with this but let's give him a fair run. come on tezza make it happen, now's as good a time as any;)

Gee some supportrers frustrate the hell out of me. We are screaming out for a key position forward, the kid is dominating at coburg, yet some people are still wanting to write him off. Give him a chance, he is a 20yo still developing in mind, body and skills, he may still take another 2 years before he gets the best out of himself, most key position players take along time to peak except for a very small percentage.

Lets stop burning our kids and let them develop.

He's a good size, good grab and when his head's right a laser-like kick at goals. Course he has a fair few elements of his game that need improving but he has all the tools to become the power forward that will fill the Richo gap. Give him a month Terry!

Yeah very happy.Nothing I like better than a forward who is a shithouse kick.
lucky for you that he isn't a shithouse kick then isn't it.

I don't know, Sausage. Maybe you're thinking of Dave Hughes.

Remember who you're talking to.

Sausage Troll makes Parrot's opinion of anything to do with Richmond look optimistic.

Are some of you people on drugs? It must be the Hughes "he's a great kick" drug. Hughes will be a dominant forward and Oakley-Nichols will win the brownlow.This is not the direction we want to go.

But he is a good kick. Where did you get the impression he wasn't any good? He and Reiwoldt should be left in the side. This is the direction we want to go unless you enjoy failure :cool: