El Tigre

As the rumor mill goes around as to who will be coaching where next year, Leppas name came up as an outside for the Adelaide job. I remember in the middle of the year that Leppa in a media appearance made a comment about Dimma and coaching from the boundary line. He made it clear that he didn't think it was a good idea. Now its all ok to have a different opinion, but i thought to myself then that this guy is already thinking about the next step....

Anyway, that got me to thinking about the Football Department in general.

When did Cambo go from being midfield coach to opposition and training coach?
Are there any expected changes in position for Lade and Daly?
And Hartly, Jackson and co? Are these guys employed on a permanent basis or on a contract basis?

Well there was an article only tiny in the HUN today saying we are adding two more development coaches next year.

Tim Clarke & Daly are currently employed in this position. Good to see we are spending more money on the footy department.

Well there was an article only tiny in the HUN today saying we are adding two more development coaches next year.

Tim Clarke & Daly are currently employed in this position. Good to see we are spending more money on the footy department.
This!

I have been saying this is the most important part. Our recruiting has improved out of sight. I think Dimma is doing a good job with the game plan when the players stick to it we look really good. Leppa has clearly done a good job with some of our defenders. I believe this will give us almost as many as Collingwood if not on a par. Whether or not they are as good is another matter. We should be setting up a kind of academy for our 1st-3rd year players and to do that we needed development coaches. If true, well done RFC.

As the rumor mill goes around as to who will be coaching where next year, Leppas name came up as an outside for the Adelaide job. I remember in the middle of the year that Leppa in a media appearance made a comment about Dimma and coaching from the boundary line. He made it clear that he didn't think it was a good idea. Now its all ok to have a different opinion, but i thought to myself then that this guy is already thinking about the next step....

Anyway, that got me to thinking about the Football Department in general.

When did Cambo go from being midfield coach to opposition and training coach?
Are there any expected changes in position for Lade and Daly?
And Hartly, Jackson and co? Are these guys employed on a permanent basis or on a contract basis?

Leppa has done an amazing job this year under difficult circumstances - please lock him in.

The rest of the assistants should have to re-apply for the positions at the end of the year. It's one area I was concerned about when Dimma took over and I'd think it's obvious we can improve our Football department.

Leppa is awesome, I think he's worked closely with Rance and developed us a fantastic KPD. Grimes, Astbury, Post and guys like Bachelor need a little more work but they are improving.

Lade is now the midfield/ruck coach, we've under performed this season in both areas and a review needs to take place before any positions are filled.

Daly is the forwards coach, he was responsible for helping Riewoldt improve his kicking technique and I'm certain he's worked very closely with Vickery. Too me this guy is a keeper, don't move him anyway.

Campbell is the opposition analyst, helped Rance study Goodes' game a few weeks ago and dominated because of it, I heard he also helped Houli plan how to stop Davey this week, so I'd say Campbell is doing a fantastic job too.

Hardwick is a lock, won't be moving.

I'm unsure on the development coaches, if someone could throw some details around Newett & Clarke it would be appreciated.

I'm concerned about Lade, that's all right now.

:thumbsu:One would hope Leppitsch had senior coaching ambitions and is not content to be a career assistant coach.
I would worry if he didn't have ambitions.
It's part and parcel of the game, you dont hold on to top notch assistants forever!

Ben Cousins is never going tomb midfield coach people need to stop putting his name up, was a great player and on field general but a coach he isn't.

I wonder if Tarkyn Lockyer is locked in at the Pies. I think he's reserves coach down there, and by all reports they're pretty happy with him. Is very fresh out of the game, and would be very well drilled on all things press/flood related... as a player and a coach.

Just throwing it out there.

I wonder if Tarkyn Lockyer is locked in at the Pies. I think he's reserves coach down there, and by all reports they're pretty happy with him. Is very fresh out of the game, and would be very well drilled on all things press/flood related... as a player and a coach.

Just throwing it out there.

Not a silly suggestion, i think Lockyer would be a great aquisition, i would actually prefer him to Gavin Brown for some reason. Knighter for midfield coach!!!! Actually, just put him back in the line up.

Leppa is definitely safe if he wants to stay. Daly is doing okay, some ups and downs. He's the one responsible for our kickouts so he's got a bit to answer for there, but the forward line seems to work quite adequately. Everything Lade has touched has turned to shit, it seems. I believe Stevens has been working on our outside ball movement which is definitely improved. Campbell is Campbell, it's hard to measure his influence.

kick ins a re a joke a bit of a raffle, mid coaches need more focus, lade is questionable, as I have said many times we need someone experienced to help out dimma more in a mentoring capacity and on match day, laidley springs straight to mind........

CT, for some reason i'm just not sold on Laidley. I reckon he's run his race, file in the Brian Royal file for mine.

Leppa is definitely safe if he wants to stay. Daly is doing okay, some ups and downs. He's the one responsible for our kickouts so he's got a bit to answer for there, but the forward line seems to work quite adequately. Everything Lade has touched has turned to shit, it seems. I believe Stevens has been working on our outside ball movement which is definitely improved. Campbell is Campbell, it's hard to measure his influence.

its a hard one with Lade, is failing to have an ijnfluence on our rucks or has he got ordinary material to work with...gus and brone have improved but boy, they were coming from a mile back and seemingly have a long way to go before they have an impact reg at senior level

possibly mate but dimma needs some exp in there, all the coaches are young and it shows

Yeah i'd agree with that, but the romantic in me says Knighta. The head says Craig or Eade. I reckon any of those blokes would help. If i had a choice, i'd say Craig, has a presence/air about him. And i think he would suit the model we are striving for.

Dont want eade, he would always be after the number 1 job & that would unsettle the whole ship.

! totally out of left field but if brad ottens retires this year Ruck Coach
He a pretty smart bloke and know about both ruck & foward play !

possibly mate but dimma needs some exp in there, all the coaches are young and it shows

What do you mean? How does it show and what would Laidley have done?

Last time I saw Laidley he was having zero or negative impact at PA.

I reckon Dean Bailey is a good coach with fine character and would fit in well. We should steer clear of big names with questionable reps and track records. Craig sounds good, poor record. Laidley, chip on shoulder, under achieved. Knights, not a patch on dimma. I don't see any glaring game day tactical issues, are there any that a genius would fix?

I reckon our coaching staff is doing a mighty job developing the list. Only frustration is clearances, so bring in an expert there if one can be identified. Otherwise continue as is, we're on track.