Colonial surface

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

So how they going to go with a double header tommorrow now the freaking idiots AFL!

AFL= JOKE
colonial surface = Joke

afl are dickheads, playing concerts, nrl, afl double headers at the start of the season...how long will it take to fix? all footy season i bet, and then for what? another indoor cricket FARCE??

Dan,

I like Colonial Stadium, however a few weeks ago Ian Collins said that the surface would be in "pristine" condition before the start of the Ansett Cup.

In the first match at the stadium the grass seemed alright however, IMO, it was a bit too yellowish.

Fast foward two weeks later and the surface has deteriated. Imagine how's it going to be in the regular season.

Dan24 opined:
You're all a bunch of sooks. Boo-hoo

rolleyes.gif

Dan, when <unnamed Essendon champion> goes down in a screaming heap with a busted knee courtesy of Colonial's poor surface; don't come crying to us.

As long as the AFL don't have the debt under control- they will continue to utilise the stadium as much as they can - pristine be damned. They are happy with 'acceptable' as long as it means recouping some of the money I reckon.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper:
rolleyes.gif

Dan, when <unnamed Essendon champion> goes down in a screaming heap with a busted knee courtesy of Colonial's poor surface; don't come crying to us.

No doubt he'll be calling for litigation a la Joe Misiti.

I cannot believe how quickly it has deteriorated (sp?) in 1 week (from week 1 to week 2), I'm afraid to see what it looks like this week (week 3). Thank god we only play there a few times (Richmond) this year.

Mr. Ripper
Rugby League has got as much right to be at Colonial Stadium as the AFL. The AFL do not own the stadium, yet and until they do, Storm will keep playing there.
Anyway, I think the original idea for the stadium was it to be a multi-use stadium, rugby/rugby league/soccer/events AND AFL!!

Astroturf anyone?
tongue.gif

Actually, has an AFL/VFL match ever been played on a synthetic surface?

Not that I would push for it, I think Astroturf is horrible stuff (I've played gridiron on it before).

Originally posted by Ms.Storm:
Rugby League has got as much right to be at Colonial Stadium as the AFL. The AFL do not own the stadium, yet and until they do, Storm will keep playing there.

Well, I'm sure you're right, Ms. Storm. No doubt your no-necked namesakes will be shoehorning their 12,000 supporters into the Colonial sardine tin until the day the liquidators are called for.

------------------
Olmy knows best

There was a ground that was always in pristine condition around the ourskirts of Mulgrave. It's probably still in better condition than Colonial will ever be.

Bob

[This message has been edited by Bob_vic (edited 03 March 2001).]

Stealth, I believe Hawthorn played Collingwood in Canada on astro turf in a practise match some years ago. All the players had knee and elbow pads on. I think it was in Toronto (although I may be corrected there).

I notice that Jerry Jones (Dallas Cowboy Owner/GM) is looking at replacing Texas Stadium in 2006 and will be going for natural grass. Astro turn has nearly ended Troy Aikman's career along with numerous knee injuries along the way. You know who invented astro turf don't you?....THE JEWS!! -George Costanza
wink.gif

Originally posted by oh_my_hat:
Astro turn has nearly ended Troy Aikman's career along with numerous knee injuries along the way.

I think you left out the most important injury he keeps on getting and that's concussion. His had it around twice this past season and on numourous other occasions.

[This message has been edited by Same Old's (edited 04 March 2001).]

Mr.Ripper
Just expected that sort of reply from you.
Ignoramus
12,000 supporters.??? (They have already nearly 10,000 MEMBERS..NOT TOO BAD FOR A CLUB JUST INTO ITS 4TH YR.) They also have many more supporters as well.
Get your facts right before you say incorrect facts on the net.
A lot of Storm supporters did not want to make the move from Olympic Park...and perhaps they will move back there if its not successful...but at least they are out there giving it a burl.
No necks....perhaps you are referring to RUGBY UNION NOT RUGBY LEAGUE.
And as much as I love afl too (Demons) I regard rugby league as a very much a hard at it footy code with many plusses, which afl could learn a lot from...and vice-a-versa.

And have you ever got a constructive comment to make, instead of bringing down another footy code that millions adore also.

[This message has been edited by Ms.Storm (edited 04 March 2001).]

Didnt notice the turf last night at the game. Maybe the players will have something to say during the week about it. But they should fix up that bloody sound system, there were three guys out on the ground at half time being interviewed, something to do with the Grand Prix, and you couldnt hear a word they were saying, it was a disgrace.

Originally posted by Daphne:
Didnt notice the turf last night at the game. Maybe the players will have something to say during the week about it. But they should fix up that bloody sound system, there were three guys out on the ground at half time being interviewed, something to do with the Grand Prix, and you couldnt hear a word they were saying, it was a disgrace.

The 3 guys on the ground were the rock group Deep Purple, and they were promoting their forthcoming concert at Melbourne Park, as well as Spider gave them a couple of footy jumpers.

The surface certainly looked terrible, but the players didn't seem to be having much of a problem playing on it.
One thing bothers me about Manuka oval & that is the fence, it is too low, everytime a player from either side ran into it I held my breath, hoping they wouldn't go over the top. I think the fence needs to be made a bit higher so that players don't get injured.
Maybe the fence is too close which caused a lot of players to run into, I think it was only luck that no one got hurt.
Cheers

------------------
mantis

Sandie,

If the fence was higher wouldn't that mean that the player would have more chance of an injury occuring. I'm mean if he's running into it at full steam he got no chance to aviod it and could suffer a serious injury to himself.

However, if it were shorter (as it currently is) he could jump over it. While he could "hit" a spectator with the shorter fence, not much damage would happen most times, IMO.

Ms.Storm thundered:
Mr.Ripper
Just expected that sort of reply from you.
Ignoramus

Thank you!

12,000 supporters.??? (They have already nearly 10,000 MEMBERS..NOT TOO BAD FOR A CLUB JUST INTO ITS 4TH YR.) They also have many more supporters as well.

Any evidence to suggest you have many more than that? And by supporters I mean regular match attenders, not just buyers of club merchandise.

Get your facts right before you say incorrect facts on the net.

First nomination for BigFooty Oxymoron of the Year. Congratulations!

A lot of Storm supporters did not want to make the move from Olympic Park

Soft!

...and perhaps they will move back there if its not successful...but at least they are out there giving it a burl.

Can't argue with that. But how long before the money runs out?

No necks....perhaps you are referring to RUGBY UNION NOT RUGBY LEAGUE.

Same difference...

And have you ever got a constructive comment to make, instead of bringing down another footy code that millions adore also.

And can you ever put a post up on this board without carping on about rug beleaguered or the Storm?

------------------
Olmy knows best

Mr.Ripper
Do you love dissecting posts.? Obviously, well we could get into an even bigger argument, and seeing you KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT THE MELBOURNE STORM, its pointless me even continuing, isn't it.??
Perhaps you are a closet supporter!!

Storms average home attendance is 14,500 and I think that's great for a new footy code in an afl obsessed state.
Their membership is something to be proud of, seeing some afl clubs (mine in particular, Melbourne, is only about 7,000 odd more AND THEY HAVE OVER 100 MORE YEARS TO TO BRAG ABOUT).
And yes I have followed afl for many years, but still appreciate other footy codes, in particular rugby league and I will stick up for them whether you like it or not.

And I do post on matters other than rugby league, but when I read here what seems derrogatory to r/league I then respond. (My right). That does not mean I don't love AFL.
It means I appreciate other footy codes and love rugby league.

I am particularly offended by your post because you are talking thru you backside.
There are many supporters (not only r/l) of many footy codes that do not follow their club when they move home (Hawthorn for instance). Its not something I agree with, but with r/l is should be played on a r/l ground and not on a configured ground and thus many supporters were turned off by that.
Its their choice. Its the only thing I agree with you on. Its is soft in my opinion, but the rest of your post IS UNINFORMED...PROVE IT.
GO STORM
GO DEMONS.