Opinion Commentary & Media VIII

• Thread starter Thread starter BoomerRoo

Correct. Harry was the straw that broke the camel's back. His attacks on Sonja have been relentless, vindictive and the very definition of bullying. No way he'd talk about Kennett or McGuire or Koch like that.
100%

Cornes is a bully and his employer loves to see him in action. They care more about ratings than ethics.

His mocking of Sheezel’s name was highly inappropriate and unprofessional. Even his co-panellists called him out on it.

His Hood criticisms have had a veneer of sexism as well.

It isn’t cowardly at all to not engage. Playing nice with him knowing he will just keep wacking us is the cowardly option.
A little more than a veneer if you ask me.

So to clarify your position would have been to invite Kane down to the NM rooms tomorrow night (in the area where the players undoubtedly will be) and have a debate with him just prior to the game?
Precisely. A ludicrous proposition. Cornes is already banned by the Bulldogs and West Coast. What we have done is not unusual 👀 with regard to that twat. We are not obliged to play his egocentric games.

So to clarify your position would have been to invite Kane down to the NM rooms tomorrow night (in the area where the players undoubtedly will be) and have a debate with him just prior to the game?
If they do invite him down they should remind him to bring a mouth guard. I'm sure he wouldn't want his $20k worth of veneers being swept into the cleanaway bin at the end of the session.

The problem was that 7 were putting Kane forward to hold an interview with the coach - presumably in or near the rooms - before the game tomorrow night.

Hence the club's options were to either indulge Kane in this regard or bin him.
A simple "No" to 7 would have worked. We could have binned him without the public statement.

This Simmo & Horse segment on 360 every Wednesday has become must watch TV. Best 15 minutes in the media each week. Could watch them for hours. Fox should have them on more game broadcasts.

They would be odds on to coach somewhere again. Would be great if it was with us.

Are you ****ing serious? Do you really think that a club needs to debate a cockroach bottom feeding media scab like Corn?

Nah mate, just close him down and **** him off.
I agree, but saying he is a bully gives him more validation.

It’s now a talking point in the media.

I agree, but saying he is a bully gives him more validation.

It’s now a talking point in the media.

It limits him if clubs refuse to talk to him.

Don’t know how you can’t understand that, if the clubs, coaches & players stop talking to him he becomes irrelevant.

Correct. Harry was the straw that broke the camel's back. His attacks on Sonja have been relentless, vindictive and the very definition of bullying. No way he'd talk about Kennett or McGuire or Koch like that.
And don't forget WilPhil trolling for years. The club doesn't come out like this lightly.
I'm sure they'd know more than most what these comments do to young players early in their careers.

With every passing week that I watch these clips the more I want Simmo to coach us.
They both understand the modern game so well. More so than Clarko I'd say. Plus they speak better and articulate well, a change from Clarko's grating ummms and ahhhs.

It’s a Catch 22 for us. People would be annoyed, if we did nothing. Other people would be annoyed if we went all “Ross Lyon”. So, no surprise, some people are annoyed with the “line”we’ve taken. I reckon it’s no coincident that we are parroting a similar accusation that Caroline Wilson used against the “Volkano”…
Well, Clarko has already been clipped for the Dempster incident and the "bullying" of reserve umpires sitting on the boundary for disputing on field decisions, after all the Hawthorn accusations.

Do we really need Clarko being baited by some shock jock, clickbait flog right before a game near our rooms, possibly within hearing distance of other players, coaches and officials?

Clarko biting his tongue, or giving Cornes a dressing down on national TV was probably not the tight way to handle this given he would also have a game to coach and a post match presser.

Brad Scott looked like a bit of a tool for the shoulder bump on David King.

I reckon this is putting the media on notice that ripping on the club is one thing but the individual stuff has got to stop.

Calling out Cornes is just isolating the tool and as we have seen with the #metoo movement, people love a pile on.

His mocking of Sheezel’s name was highly inappropriate and unprofessional. Even his co-panellists called him out on it.

His Hood criticisms have had a veneer of sexism as well.

It isn’t cowardly at all to not engage. Playing nice with him knowing he will just keep wacking us is the cowardly option.
I think his comments about Jy were probably the ones that tipped the Club over. The comments were what you'd expect from a spiteful supporter on an online forum not a highly paid industry figure.

Regardless, good on the Club.

Comments and threats made since by the likes of Gullan only reinforce the fact the Club did the right thing.

Dogs have also banned him from their rooms.
Good, it is their workplace and Cornes employer will now either clip his wings, or face social media backlash (and I am sure some of Cornes peers won't mind giving the 5MF a clip either).

Trump might be an idiot but he has banned some media from his pressers.

Just heard we too have a history of banning Cornes from our media events We stand with you...our Bouncy brethren
Pedro Pascal Hug GIF by HBO