Votes: 2 28.6%

Mar 1, 2005
carlton
Where are we headed? Are we finals bound? Do we have the talent to make a finals appearance?

I think it could be useful to compare our list now to our last "SUCCESSFUL" team under Ratten. Obviously the other 17 teams have changed and the game itself definitely has. But nevertheless it could be a useful .
I have used the following stats to use as a comparison between equivalent players.
I thought a poll with pairs of players would be useful- select one or the other, but I cant figure out how to do this.

Screenshot (3).png

2011 would definitely beat our current team. Our 2011 midfield was one of the best that year, fast goal scoring gameplan. We were imo one dominant key forward (fev) away from finishing top 4 and making it further then we did.

I reckon our 2013 team would be a better match up.

The actual key part is what it leads to in the future. 2011 should have been a marker to a real run at in 2012 but ultimately due to a variety reasons fizzled out and we sacked our coach.

Doubt anyone thinks that we can win it this year (barring a minor miracle) but it could be a great launching pad to 2021 with Charlie, Kemp and hopefully an A grade mid added to the team.

The future is bright. The future is blue.

2011 would definitely beat our current team. Our 2011 midfield was one of the best that year, fast goal scoring gameplan. We were imo one dominant key forward (fev) away from finishing top 4 and making it further then we did.

I reckon our 2013 team would be a better match up.
But we were always front-runners in 2011. This current team seems to be able to dig deep and has a plan B. I reckon it clicked into place for quite a few of our players. First time this group has destroyed another team. Gold coast have some really good talent- we made them look second rate

That midfield obviously destroys the current midfield. Forward line significantly better too.

Current defence and list depth is stronger.
Very true.

I will say Jamo was a heck of a fullback at his best, if only his shoulders weren't made of playdoh...

Where are we headed? Are we finals bound? Do we have the talent to make a finals appearance?

I think it could be useful to compare our list now to our last "SUCCESSFUL" team under Ratten. Obviously the other 17 teams have changed and the game itself definitely has. But nevertheless it could be a useful .
I have used the following stats to use as a comparison between equivalent players.
I thought a poll with pairs of players would be useful- select one or the other, but I cant figure out how to do this.

View attachment 942476
Rub, you could ask posters to vote for the option when they thought the 2011 player was better.

Edit. Hope you don't mind I've made it multiple voting

View attachment 942476
I cant figure out how to vote.

View attachment 942476
2011 better mids and smalls but our spine was pretty poor.

Our young spine now is one of the best in AFL.

Our midfield is prohably around 10th-12th but heaps of youth

Much more confident in the group we have now. The older list would still beat the current team however, get our injury list fit and firing and the gap is closed. Add in Charlie, Kemp, Brackets, JSOS, Marchbank, Newman, Cuningham, Dow, Kreuzer etc. and we have the flexibility to mix and match for any opponent.

In another 12 months the current list will go past the older list. We are nearly there, the other team had reached its peak.

I feel for Ratts & agree we never truly appreciated him, but just looking through that list (very easy in hindsight), we are so much better off right now.

A lot more scope for improvement, more difference makers and of course, the foundations of an elite backline. There’s also an air of discipline and toughness I see emerging in the current side that didn’t exist back then. We are yet to prove it in any meaningful way but if it does come to fruition, it puts us in a much better spot for finals footy.

But we were always front-runners in 2011. This current team seems to be able to dig deep and has a plan B. I reckon it clicked into place for quite a few of our players. First time this group has destroyed another team. Gold coast have some really good talent- we made them look second rate
Oh I'm not saying were a bad team, reality is, that 2011 team was a 5th-8th side team, this 2020 team looks to be a 7th-10th side team. That team of brownlow winning chris judd, peak murphy possibly, peak gibbs possibly (both finished top 10 in brownlow that year or the year before from memory) younger kruezer, andrew walker, younger betts, younger simpson, just those players alone will beat the equivalent of 2020s team.

Our defense in 2020 is definitely better compared to 2011, but midfielders and scoring power we had in 2011, would be too much to handle for our defense tbh. It's usually smaller forwards that destroy us, betts, garlett, yarran, hell even armfield would have a field day.

No way that Jamison, Thornton, Duigan and Laidler can cover Levi/TDK, Charlie, Harry and Brackets.

We just haven’t seen them all fit and playing together, won’t be many defences that will keep them all tied down.

That midfield obviously destroys the current midfield. Forward line significantly better too.

Current defence and list depth is stronger.
Hmmm...

On purely the numbers, sure it does; 2011 Murph gets tagged out by Ed, but one of Walsh or Cripps gets done by Carazzo and Judd's running free and so on. I'm not sure it's quite that straightforward, though; despite how good that midfield could be at times, it tended towards losing hard once the match trend shifted, and Teague doesn't mind shifting an extra around the stoppage. We tackle a good deal more effectively than that 2011 team did; they'd get superior numbers, but they'd feel the pressure quite a bit more. There's also the key difference in structure; Jamo couldn't really sit on either of Cas or Harry without conceding height, power or speed, and I say this having had Jamison as one of my favourites. Martin is someone they'd not have an answer to, either; Fish would trouble them. Weitering would - akin to Glass, every single ****ing time we played WC - just intercept the ball and we're off to the races, and let's not underestimate how poor our forward entries could be at times in 2011. We'd frequently go from end to end, smashing it on the boot to the hot spot... only to be drastically outnumbered once the ball got there, opposition shepharding for each other, and the ball out the opposite wing fairly easily and quickly.

The difference in the game would be if the individuals in 2011's side showed up on the day. Sure, we remember how Yarran, Betts, Murphy, Judd, Gibbs turned it on for a quarter or a game, but do we also remember how that group of players simultaneously got Ratts fired with their lack of effort against GC in 2014?

I'd expect 2011 to burst from the blocks, get 30-40 points up, and then coast while 2020 whittled at the lead, before relying on Judd to prevent 2020 from winning when challenged late.

Right now 2011 might be ahead of 2020. That team was a 5th to 8th type at it's peak. By the end of 21 the current team will have at least equalled it and by 22 lwill have left it behind. The current group is more talented as a group and is on the way to becoming a very cohesive and committed unit.

This team is already capable of pushing the top teams, something the 2011 group couldn't do with any great consistency.
I have a lot more confidence in the current team than I did in the 2011 version.

Analysis Compare our 2011 team to current