Toast Congrats.

A big :thumbsu: from me as well. It's a wonder I could be heard all 2000ks away screaming at my TV, willing that ball through at the end.

p.s. only thing i hated about that game was that dumb female commentator. grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr:mad:

Agree with all of the above, but especially the bolded bit:thumbsu:.

I would rather watch the game with the sound all the way down than listen to that woman commentating the game.

Her inflections and tones were completely wrong. It detracted from the enjoyment of the game. (I thought it was just me until my wife confirmed everything I'd been thinking during the telecast).

The only worse sporting voice I've heard on the box would be Wally Lewis attempting to read the sports news.:thumbsd:

Agree with all of the above, but especially the bolded bit:thumbsu:.

I would rather watch the game with the sound all the way down than listen to that woman commentating the game.

Her inflections and tones were completely wrong. It detracted from the enjoyment of the game. (I thought it was just me until my wife confirmed everything I'd been thinking during the telecast).

The only worse sporting voice I've heard on the box would be Wally Lewis attempting to read the sports news.:thumbsd:

I thought it was just me too and I am a woman! No not right.....

Anyhow....couldn't help listening to the radio and heard the final whistle...What an end.....well done Catters....Roll on September! :)

I thought it was just me too and I am a woman! No not right.....

Anyhow....couldn't help listening to the radio and heard the final whistle...What an end.....well done Catters....Roll on September! :)

Female here as well. Have discussed this issue via email with a couple of friends who are neutral female fans and we all agree. One of them tells me the P.C. police are up in arms from all the complaints. Don't care what the gender of the commentator is as long as they are DECENT and know what they are talking about. I'd rather listen to Eddie calling the Pies in a GF than this stupid bimbette.

I've mentioned it elsewhere, but gender has little to do with it. Just like when Terry Wallace used to commentate on Fox Footy, Kelli Underwood's voice sounds like a rusty chainsaw and makes it impossible to listen to. Thankfully I'm at the games and only have to endure the replay should I choose, but the sad fact is we're all going to have to hear her voice every time that Bartel winning kick is shown.

I'm actually going to go against the grain and say that I don't mind Kellie Underwood. I actually prefer her straight-forward calls to commentators like Bruce McAvaney who feel that it's necessary to call players by their nicknames and 'jazz' up the match. I also think it's steps in the right direction that a woman is being 'allowed' to call matches, and - while Kellie may not be everybody's first choice - this exercise demonstrates that the role of women in footy is increasing.

Have a look next time you're at Skilled Stadium - the Auskick umpires at half-time are nearly all girls. The Auskick teams have girls playing. But once they reach a certain age, their ability to stay involved in the game they love will be diminished. Sure, there's a womens' footy league - but it's not necessarily the path that girls want to follow. There's a couple of female goal umpires in the AFL, but not every girl wants to take on that role.

This ended up being a much longer case for the defence of Kellie Underwood than I intended, and is going quite off-topic from the OP! ;) So I'll just finish with: there aren't many career avenues for women who are passionate about AFL footy, so why not let them in the commentary box?

I actually prefer her straight-forward calls to commentators like Bruce McAvaney who feel that it's necessary to call players by their nicknames and 'jazz' up the match.

She does that too. And tries to copy Bruce's abortion of an excited 'growl'.

I noticed her use 'Buddy' a bit, but that was all, no? And - happily - I'm not exactly sure what you're referring to re: the excited growl... but quite thankful that I can't remember it! That'd be the stuff of nightmares. Haha.

Like you, more often than not I'm at the game so have only heard Kellie call Geelong matches by watching the replay - perhaps I take less notice of the commentary in general because I know what's coming. But watching McAvaney call Collingwood matches is still worse than Underwood on a Cats replay!

I'm actually going to go against the grain and say that I don't mind Kellie Underwood. I actually prefer her straight-forward calls to commentators like Bruce McAvaney who feel that it's necessary to call players by their nicknames and 'jazz' up the match. I also think it's steps in the right direction that a woman is being 'allowed' to call matches, and - while Kellie may not be everybody's first choice - this exercise demonstrates that the role of women in footy is increasing.

Have a look next time you're at Skilled Stadium - the Auskick umpires at half-time are nearly all girls. The Auskick teams have girls playing. But once they reach a certain age, their ability to stay involved in the game they love will be diminished. Sure, there's a womens' footy league - but it's not necessarily the path that girls want to follow. There's a couple of female goal umpires in the AFL, but not every girl wants to take on that role.

This ended up being a much longer case for the defence of Kellie Underwood than I intended, and is going quite off-topic from the OP! ;) So I'll just finish with: there aren't many career avenues for women who are passionate about AFL footy, so why not let them in the commentary box?

You're not the only one. I thought she was alright. Only cringeworthy part on Saturday was when she mentioned that two Hawks players were flatmates and said she wondered who did the housework. :eek:

She seems to know what she's on about, and I thought she tried her best to relate the excitement at the end in the way she commentated, which is all you can ask for. I remember people bagging the Channel Seven commentators after a similar close finish either earlier this year or last year, and made it sound like a ho hum affair.

Watching the replay. On Fox now. And it's like. She has to. Break every sentence up. To a handful of words. At a time. And use the word 'and'. At least four times. Every passage of play. She commentates.

"And he kicks it to Mitchell. And he looks up. And he kicks it to Rioli. And Rioli marks it."

OMG she just used the term 'PB'. I hate how gay that sounds in swimming/athletics, let alone footy.

I noticed her use 'Buddy' a bit, but that was all, no?
She was definitely worse in the Dees game, with 'Gazza!' & 'Chappy' featuring prominently. Probably been reeled in a bit following that, although 'The big Tommahawk', 'Gaz' & 'The little master' still got a run alongside Buddy this week.

...and she certainly liked using 'Sewellwood' a few times, whoever he was ;)

And - happily - I'm not exactly sure what you're referring to re: the excited growl... but quite thankful that I can't remember it! That'd be the stuff of nightmares. Haha.
If you're keen for a refresher, watch Buddy kick his first of the day with about 90 seconds to go in the first. Ugh. Or the Mooney/Murphy crash around the 16m mark of the second. Or pretty much every goal she called. Makes my throat hurt and my ears hurt. Now I have two owies.

Somebody buy her some Anticol.

Watching the replay. On Fox now. And it's like. She has to. Break every sentence up. To a handful of words. At a time. And use the word 'and'. At least four times. Every passage of play. She commentates.
Haha, point taken. Although I will still stand by my post about the importance of women having roles related to the AFL. It doesn't have to be Kellie though.

She seems to know what she's on about, and I thought she tried her best to relate the excitement at the end in the way she commentated, which is all you can ask for. I remember people bagging the Channel Seven commentators after a similar close finish either earlier this year or last year, and made it sound like a ho hum affair.

Worst commentary ever is the Channel 7 commentary on the dying moments of the 2007 prelim.

Less than a goal the difference, one minute left, ball-up in the centre and the commentators are about to go to sleep.

Thank god for the Triple M guys, who I normally can't stand but they were all losing their voices and jumping out of their seats - as everyone in the stadium was.

Respect sums up the two clubs. Highlighted by the fact that you're the only fans who don't jealously boo Franklin just for being good.

yes agree i think it shows the respect that the cats supporters did not boo him i was happy at that a player like him any club and its supporters would love ie Selwood would love him to be at hawks but he is not , i will never boo some player cause he kicks goals for the other team i may try and put him off but will not boo the only time you may hear one is if an opposition player hurts one of my players [an accident no a punch yes] that would be the only time

I must say, I've been impressed with the way Hawks fans have handled themselves since the loss.

Apart from the "lucky" jibe and some predictable sooking about umpiring, 90% of them have been gracious and have given due praise.

Good work Hawks. :thumbsu:
ignore the lucky jibe ok,
it was a great game,
we had our chances.
the umpiring was rubbish for the whole day for both sides no matter what quarter ,
you guys won and we lost simple .
it was not a boring match and no one left till siren went !

Female here as well. Have discussed this issue via email with a couple of friends who are neutral female fans and we all agree. One of them tells me the P.C. police are up in arms from all the complaints. Don't care what the gender of the commentator is as long as they are DECENT and know what they are talking about. I'd rather listen to Eddie calling the Pies in a GF than this stupid bimbette.

Im with you on this one, ive been all for females in the AFL. How ever the woman commentating during the Hawks vs Cat game made the loss all the worst. The more i listened to her the more i just wanted to throw the remote at her...... Please try a diffrent chick southern cross!

Thankyou for the most amazing game ive been too. almost walked out at the start of the last quarter.

I love you geelong football club.

and sorry to the mcg for snapping my seat in half.

tears of absolute joy.

Awe.

LOL @ the apologies for snapping your seat in half........ My poor remote copped it at home.

True passionate supporters we are, good luck to the Catters for the rest of season 09. I hope the hawks get in and we meet again, we have excellent games. :D

Also wanted to add my respect to the plethora of Hwaks supporters adding their congrats here - unexpected and makes my eyes water. Sorry it took so long but been in NZ and they have no real football there. It hurts me that my best mate of over 15 years, a Hawks supporter himself, but only really active since last years GF, was unable to add such a note when i saw him after the game. Instead focused on the GF last year, and Hawks being better, and the umpires fault and blah blah blah. It saddened me - but you people have made me feel better!!

thanks heaps,

"Disgrunteld with friends......"

"And he kicks it to Mitchell. And he looks up. And he kicks it to Rioli. And Rioli marks it."
:thumbsu: It was awfull!!It reminded me of my 2nd grade reader.. Run Scotty run. She has no excitement in her call.. just states the bleeding obvious:rolleyes: