Tasmania Congratulations on Tassie License. Mens team to enter 2028. Womens team TBA. Other details TBA 3/5

The AFL would need to FIXture games to tap in to the footy faithful of Tas, better FIXturing than we've seen for the Hawks ... literally every Melbourne club to get a game there every 2nd year & more if possible,

Check it out:
The WA clubs 19 times, Collingwood never (??), the SA clubs 15 times, Geelong & Richmond one apeice, the QLd clubs 15 times .... the abuse of the FIX continues to be denied by some, the Saints 12 times (am I wrong to believe the Saints & the Tiges have a strong Tas following).

At the same time the AFL pulls the FIXture into line they could consider Q, the destination of choice for a short stay in the winter months.

Yes I know the stadium deals, the MCC, what chance the national comp Gil?
;) ... yep, I feel better !!

Problem is, it's not the AFL, it's the Tasmanians (you know, the ones writing the cheques).

Vic clubs have too many local fans, so locals buy all the tickets. This means less tourism and thus less $$$.

(Source: The Hobart council report into the economic benefits of games there.)

It does make you wonder how keen these groups really are to get their own team when they're already getting the 'best' games from their perspective (and getting them cheap).

Problem is, it's not the AFL, it's the Tasmanians (you know, the ones writing the cheques).

Vic clubs have too many local fans, so locals buy all the tickets. This means less tourism and thus less $$$.

It does make you wonder how keen these groups really are to get their own team when they're already getting the 'best' games from their perspective (and getting them cheap).
Getting the best games? So you think those groups prefer to watch north vs freo, gws Brisbane port Adelaide these type of clubs instead of watching a local club vs the big Victorian teams not sure how you came up with that !

The best games for the sponsors, not the locals.

The sponsors want tourists from out of the state, because that's where the money is.

North v Richmond (which was the case they covered in the report) was the biggest game of the year and quickly sold out with locals, but that meant almost no tourists came...So few hotel rooms, fewer restaurant meals, less activity at the casino, etc etc etc. The people paying the bills didn't get their desired return.

FOR THEM, the best games are those that get the most people travelling in to see the game (and staying as long as possible...which probably contributes to WA & QLD clubs getting many games...they mightn't get many people travelling in from those places, but they're likely to stay longer and thus spend more).

Come at a massive discount are you serious?👎We’re paying over 2 million a game to watch fifo teams

A club costs $40-$50M to run minimum (top end is around double that).

11 home games = ~$4M/game.

$2M a game (your figure) means you're getting them at around half price.

Games played in Tas come at a massive discount to what they cost. You know this already, you just like to pretend otherwise because, as is so often the case, the truth doesn't suit your argument.

Oh, so on your say so the AFL send games at a discount? Show us the figures.

Even if they did, whose faults that? We didn't force them to come here.

Oh, so on your say so the AFL send games at a discount? Show us the figures.

Even if they did, whose faults that? We didn't force them to come here.

Check any clubs annual report.

The total cost of running a club spread out per game is higher than you pay....therefore, discount.

Check any clubs annual report.

The total cost of running a club spread out per game is higher than you pay....therefore, discount.

So each game is equal then?

Hawthorn v Collingwood is as valuable as Hawthorn v Fremantle?

I note you forgot the gate takings, the corporate events, the sponsorships other than the Treasury handouts.

Maybe you could explain how all that works?

The difference is the money were
Paying for fifo games gets us very little in return apart from a few extra tourists dollars having our own team while more expensive would be a huge boost to the state on a number of different levels that would dwarf the fifo returns if you can’t understand this there is something seriously wrong!

That's a bit disingenuous telsor. Not every dollar derived from a footy club comes from matchday.
AFL distributions (i.e TV), sponsorship, pokies (and other off field sourced) money, trinket memberships with no (or little) matchday access, etc. Clubs earn plenty from outside matchday.

I get your point - a Tassie team would need to generate more per game than what they're paying - but no need to dumb it completely down to the point of absurdity.

That's a bit disingenuous telsor. Not every dollar derived from a footy club comes from matchday.
AFL distributions (i.e TV), sponsorship, pokies (and other off field sourced) money, trinket memberships with no (or little) matchday access, etc. Clubs earn plenty from outside matchday.

I get your point - a Tassie team would need to generate more per game than what they're paying - but no need to dumb it completely down to the point of absurdity.

Disingenuous?

Saying a club 11 home games need to generate $4mill each time thus Tassie paying about $2mill each game is getting them cheap. That's not disingenuous. Its more like just dumb.

I mean ignoring the simple fact the FIFO clubs also get local memberships, entry fees, merch, sponsorships, corporate events, really silly.

Also, equating what Hawthorn get for paying say Freo or Port in Launy against what they get playing Collingwood, Essendon or whoever in Melbourne is a lot less than simply being disingenuous.

Not sure how they are getting seats 'cheap' .... as for 'all the tickets', you've been living in the home of half full stadiums a bit too long.

Disingenuous?

Saying a club 11 home games need to generate $4mill each time thus Tassie paying about $2mill each game is getting them cheap. That's not disingenuous. Its more like just dumb.

I mean ignoring the simple fact the FIFO clubs also get local memberships, entry fees, merch, sponsorships, corporate events, really silly.

Also, equating what Hawthorn get for paying say Freo or Port in Launy against what they get playing Collingwood, Essendon or whoever in Melbourne is a lot less than simply being disingenuous.

Reality is the Hawks have done their deal to avoid losses on poor drawing games at big stadiums in Melbourne. You will note no one seems to factor in the losses to the Vic clubs when Tas goes it alone - the expectation is the AFL will cover these losses BUT you cant subsidise .... Tas .. NSW ... Q :oops:

The best games for the sponsors, not the locals.

The sponsors want tourists from out of the state, because that's where the money is.

North v Richmond (which was the case they covered in the report) was the biggest game of the year and quickly sold out with locals, but that meant almost no tourists came...So few hotel rooms, fewer restaurant meals, less activity at the casino, etc etc etc. The people paying the bills didn't get their desired return.

FOR THEM, the best games are those that get the most people travelling in to see the game (and staying as long as possible...which probably contributes to WA & QLD clubs getting many games...they mightn't get many people travelling in from those places, but they're likely to stay longer and thus spend more).

Yeah no. There’s a reason the Victorian derbies are games that aren’t moved and it isn’t because we shop more.

It’s because they get more money from moving non Vic opposition than at the their home ground in Melbourne.

Reality is the Hawks have done their deal to avoid losses on poor drawing games at big stadiums in Melbourne. You will note no one seems to factor in the losses to the Vic clubs when Tas goes it alone - the expectation is the AFL will cover these losses BUT you cant subsidise .... Tas .. NSW ... Q :oops:

Well all know this. The VFL clubs have been on a good thing here for too long.

Sending overpriced 3rd rate games, taking players & coaches for SFA, taking membership monies.

Yet Tassie are the ones on the cheap ride, go figure!!!

Yeah no. There’s a reason the Victorian derbies are games that aren’t moved and it isn’t because we shop more.

It’s because they get more money from moving non Vic opposition than at the their home ground in Melbourne.

A post of yours i actually agree with 👍it’s pretty simple really they are moving there low drawing games that would have been losses or break even at best in Melbourne and getting 4 million a season to play them in Tasmania they have no need to play against the big clubs down here

The Tas. Legislative Council AFL Team Select Committee obtained information (under oath, on 9.9.2019) from AFL Tas. CEO T. Squires, & Tas. tourism senior executive L. Martin.

LC Committee Member Siejka said to Squires (see pg 11):-

. "One of our Terms Of Reference is around the impact of future participation rates of AFL if we don't have a national, or State (ie VFL my words) team. Do you have any thoughts on that?"

Squire's evasive reply "I've heard that when we had a VFL side here in Tasmania, the participation went up, but we don't have the same statistics as we have today to prove that. It is hard to know"!

. Siejka then asks Squires

"The aspiration factor for some players, I guess, would be compelling when there is something to look up to as well, especially for younger kids, getting them engaged and seeing that pathway. It is likely it would have a positive impact?".

Squires "prevaricates" in her pathetic reply "It is hard to know because we just don't have the statistics behind it". BS answer for the AFL Tas. CEO.

EDIT:

Squires would have known that AF GR participation growth in Tas., effectiveness of elite pathways, was a MAJOR part of the Tas. govt's. Terms Of Reference; & that it would seek the stats re how adding 4 AFL teams has VASTLY improved GR AF participant nos. in NSW & Qld generally- & in these teams' local areas also.

Leg. Council Chairman Dean appeared to be discontented with Squire's BS, when he later questioned her, & returned to this issue (pg 14 & 15)

"...For instance... AFL Queensland, they would have known what bringing the teams (GC Suns- my words) into the GC have done for local football in the area...if we can take that on notice. I am interested to know how having a national team has boosted football".

Squires said she would supply the statistics. No room for the AFL to BS over the statistics of strong GR AF growth in NSW & Qld., when the 4 AFL teams entered.

Squires said, I'm sure with a straight face

"AFL Tasmania's focus is to strengthen and grow grassroots football across the state".
It's wonderful they are so focussed.

The Tas. Legislative Council AFL Team Select Committee obtained information (under oath, on 9.9.2019) from AFL Tas. CEO T. Squires, & Tas. tourism senior executive L. Martin.

LC Committee Member Siejka said to Squires (see pg 11):-

. "One of our Terms Of Reference is around the impact of future participation rates of AFL if we don't have a national, or State (ie VFL my words) team. Do you have any thoughts on that?"

Squire's evasive reply "I've heard that when we had a VFL side here in Tasmania, the participation went up, but we don't have the same statistics as we have today to prove that. It is hard to know"!

. Siejka then asks Squires

"The aspiration factor for some players, I guess, would be compelling when there is something to look up to as well, especially for younger kids, getting them engaged and seeing that pathway. It is likely it would have a positive impact?".

Squires "prevaricates" in her pathetic reply "It is hard to know because we just don't have the statistics behind it". BS answer for the AFL Tas. CEO.

EDIT:

Squires would have known that AF GR participation growth in Tas. was part of the Tas. govt's. Terms Of Reference; & that it would seek the stats re how adding 4 AFL teams has VASTLY improved GR AF participant nos. in NSW & Qld generally- & in these teams' local areas particularly also.

Leg. Council Chairman Dean appeared to be discontented with Squire's BS, when he said (pg 14 & 15)

"...For instance... AFL Queensland, they would have known what bringing the teams (GC Suns- my words) into the GC have done for local football in the area...if we can take that on notice. I am interested to know how having a national team has boosted football".

Squires said she would supply the statistics. No room for the AFL to BS over the statistics of strong GR AF growth in NSW & Qld., when the 4 AFL teams entered.

Doesn't surprise. She was the office girl for the Cheese maker.

Whlslt wating for his call up to AFL HQ by his brother he oversaw the loss of 2 SWL teams. He did SFA for anyone but himself.

Squires is just a mouth piece for AFL HQ. As such she too does SFA for Tas footy.

That’s hawthorn and north Melbournes problem to deal with it’s not the afl or Tasmania’s problem if they go back to Melbourne and loose money on those games all the other Victorian clubs have to deal with it so it sh
Doesn't surprise. She was the office girl for the Cheese maker.

Whlslt wating for his call up to AFL HQ by his brother he oversaw the loss of 2 SWL teams. He did SFA for anyone but himself.

Squires is just a mouth piece for AFL HQ. As such she too does SFA for Tas footy.
rob and Travis auld how these two still have high level jobs at the afl is beyond belief one completely screwed the Gold Coast the other did even worse with Tasmanian football the fact they still have jobs and rob got promoted shows how much of a joke gill is as a ceo