GeeCat

Sep 26, 2003
TJBC
TDot, LFC
Hate to do it, but credit is due where credit is deserved.

Your team played with everything we lacked. They showed some heart, some desperation, and enough skill to make the opposition look ordinary.

Enjoy the deserved win.

Geelongs skills were the worst Ive seen in a long time from them. Most likely an off-night. Midfield didn't have it all their own way as expected and forward line was beaten I thought by our in form backline. Corey and Playfair missing obviously wasn't in Geelongs favour but then again we had some key outs aswell, Rocca Buckley and Johnson.

Pleasantly suprised by the win, loving the 'new' Collingwood. Never thought we'd play this way under Malthouse.

Strawberry Pancakes said:
Normally I don't watch Collingwood games because their negative style of play, but last night they played a very attractive style of football.

Full credit.
negative :eek:

We are no Sydney or Carlton

Strawberry Pancakes said:
Normally I don't watch Collingwood games because their negative style of play, but last night they played a very attractive style of football.

Full credit.

mate did you watch your team last night try and drop 2 blokes back in the hole so tarrant had no chance whos playing negative footy :eek:

Most of my family are Geelong and they've therefore been my #2 team and as someone who likes to see them succeed I thought last night they were absolutely ********e. There skills were terrible and we capitalised on all their errors. Hope they step up next week and hopefully go all the way (unless we're up there of course :D )

Lockyer24 said:
Pleasantly suprised by the win, loving the 'new' Collingwood. Never thought we'd play this way under Malthouse.

this is because you have no idea about coaching or what a tremendous leader Mick is.

Lockyer24 said:

Mate, where were you in 2002 and 2003.
Attacking football is all we ever played in those years

Murray said:
Mate, where were you in 2002 and 2003.
Attacking football is all we ever played in those years

Correct. Its possession football, but its attractive. The Malthouse gameplan hasnt changed over the years, its just the quality of the execution that has gone up and down.

When you're confident and in form and have a target, you move the ball quickly. When you're out of form, Tarrant is triple teamed and your only other forward option is Kinnear or Walker or equivalent, then you move the ball slowly and chip around and eventually you get run over.

Same game plan, different players. Its all confidence.

The reason we are playing well is because T Cloke has stood up and is covering the loss of A Rocca, leaving Tarrant one out and creating opportunities for the "smaller forwards" Didak Caracella etc.

hotpie said:
Correct. Its possession football, but its attractive. The Malthouse gameplan hasnt changed over the years, its just the quality of the execution that has gone up and down.

When you're confident and in form and have a target, you move the ball quickly. When you're out of form, Tarrant is triple teamed and your only other forward option is Kinnear or Walker or equivalent, then you move the ball slowly and chip around and eventually you get run over.

Same game plan, different players. Its all confidence.

The reason we are playing well is because T Cloke has stood up and is covering the loss of A Rocca, leaving Tarrant one out and creating opportunities for the "smaller forwards" Didak Caracella etc.[/QUOTE]

Exactly. Rocca is our most important player, structure wise, that we have. We have never been able to cover his loss. Travis has given us his type of presence and look what happens, ball comes in longer and stronger..a marking target across half forward....a long 55 mtr goal kicker. He makes a huge difference to us. Rusling also gives us another great option up forward which enables Taz to cut space up the ground and wear down his defender.
Two more quality midfielders and we would be away I reckon.

jimmy35 said:
Exactly. Rocca is our most important player, structure wise, that we have. We have never been able to cover his loss. Travis has given us his type of presence and look what happens, ball comes in longer and stronger..a marking target across half forward....a long 55 mtr goal kicker. He makes a huge difference to us. Rusling also gives us another great option up forward which enables Taz to cut space up the ground and wear down his defender.
Two more quality midfielders and we would be away I reckon.

The 2005 Travis Cloke in the lineup in place of Jason Cloke on GF day 2003, and we could've won that game.

But then again, he'll take us to Premierships soon enough...

Congratulations