List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Based on current draft order it’s not hard to imagine Sharp getting to 6, and were only in April with plasters still emerging.

Pick 1 WC Duursma
Pick 2 GCS Uwland (matched bid by WC)
Pick 3 WC Curtin
Pick 4 BL Annable (matched bid by RFC)
Pick 5 RFC Rodriguez

The above scenario isn hard to imagine. Things are far less set than what people believe.
I don't know if I'm biased after watching the other two Duursma's but I hope we don't take Willem #1. Seems like a tweener, a bit like Zane. More of a utility and not quite a midifleder which we have an abundance of.

We need good ball users and contested ball winners. This far out I'm hoping we take Sharp and Rodriguez with picks 1&2. Think they would complement each other well, along with Harley and Hewett who have more of the burst game.

Curtin would be a nice to have but I don't think we'd take a KPP that high. We don't want to do a reverse Norf and have an abundance of quality talls and no midfield. If he lasts to Hawks pick then he might be too good to pass up.

I was actually just thinking this exact thing. Premiership player, met his missus over here after the 2021 GF, what’s to say she hasn’t expressed interest in moving back over here? If we somehow managed to get them both, as unlikely as it seems, oh boy.

Certainly seems like a pipe dream, and too good to be true, but just the thought of it…

Jamarra having a few pipe dreams of late i'm led to believe

A name like Bont would be way better for any young non wa kids, who have they got to learn off now? They barely even know who Yeo/Kelly/Duggan are

Big help retaining players for sure

Yeo spends 20% of the season on the field at a maximum, and that % aint going to get any better with age

And learning from kelly and duggan? what how to jog at half pace and miss targets? pulling ye olde plonka you are

I don’t think many people think the November draft order is set in April and Christ I hope we don’t take Duursma at pick 1 if we have it.
Seems to me that Sharp is being written off by a lot of people based on a couple of quieter games.
Bounced back on the weekend with a pretty solid game at colts level.
He still seems to be the best fit for us if we hold pick 1 but really need to see the state champs to be absolutely sure.

Maybe Bont is the "other premiership player" that apparently told Warner he'd be interested in a move west if Warner was heading back home?? Just a thought.

I have a well connected mate in Melb and there is a bit of a belief Rivers may come to West Coast. It wasn’t a strong rumour by any means but it would actually make sense if it was Rivers. Premiership player and a teammate of Warner’s previously

Any thoughts on the other NGA’s Caton & Williams & what range they could go?

Also I was impressed with Oscar Hine-Baston the weekend. Draftable?

the above link from fox footy mentions tyler Williams going under the radar

— In the WAFL colts, South Fremantle midfielder Toby Whan (184cm) had a big game against Peel Thunder, booting 2.2 from 35 disposals and five tackles. Whan, who finished third in the Bulldogs’ colts best and fairest in 2024 as a bottom-ager, is tied to Fremantle via the club’s Next Generation Academy.
— West Perth utility Sam Swadling had one of his most prolific games yet, racking up 36 disposals against Perth. He had a strong bottom-age campaign for the Falcons last season, averaging nearly 20 disposals and one goal per game.
— Classy Swan Districts hybrid forward Tylah Williams kicked 1.1 from 19 touches and nine marks against East Perth. One scout claimed Williams was the Eagles NGA prospect “going under the radar” at the moment.

As for Jake Caton thought he was in East Perth best two on the game on the weekend
I love his size and way he moves and his hardness

I don’t think many people think the November draft order is set in April and Christ I hope we don’t take Duursma at pick 1 if we have it.

I don't know if I'm biased after watching the other two Duursma's but I hope we don't take Willem #1. Seems like a tweener, a bit like Zane. More of a utility and not quite a midifleder which we have an abundance of.

We need good ball users and contested ball winners. This far out I'm hoping we take Sharp and Rodriguez with picks 1&2. Think they would complement each other well, along with Harley and Hewett who have more of the burst game.

Curtin would be a nice to have but I don't think we'd take a KPP that high. We don't want to do a reverse Norf and have an abundance of quality talls and no midfield. If he lasts to Hawks pick then he might be too good to pass up.

I think the hesitation is fine. Duursma has definitely been used as a utility, and him going at number 1 was based on the motion that he will continue to demonstrate midfield craft like he I did in his first CTL game.

If Duursma can demonstrate that, I think he has a n incredibly high ceiling.

The player I enjoy watching the most would be Rodriguez and Grlj. Sharp is a player o di t find particularly appealing, and feel he might have less development in him. But that’s just pure speculation on my part.

Seems to me that Sharp is being written off by a lot of people based on a couple of quieter games.
Bounced back on the weekend with a pretty solid game at colts level.
He still seems to be the best fit for us if we hold pick 1 but really need to see the state champs to be absolutely sure.
He’s still a contested beast, has a fantastic defensive game and puts teammates into space. Would complement Harley and Warner (even if it’s in 2028) beautifully. I think he’s still got plenty of development in his game.

We can trade up our 2/3R draft capital for an high pick and go into a 2/3R points deficit next year for what we need to match. Next year we use our 1R then take Kenh, McGlade and HBanfield with points and again, no issue taking a deficit into the Tassie affected 2027 draft.
Yeah I think we are well positioned to trade up. If that’s with the Hawks 1/2/3 or our 2/3 and what player we want. Draft intel later in the year will tell a lot.

Be interesting to see where we projected those 3 NGAs/FS for 2026 to go and if we even try and trade our F1 into this draft. Suns looked like a prime candidate but that Power pick not looking as tasty.

Walker and Cochrane the top 2 for next year and one is off the board and the other will be a JHF flight risk.

I would be very nervous about taking W Duursma with a single digit pick.

Both Xavier and Zane looked a million bucks at Under 18 level but neither of them have done much to justify their early selection to date.

Xavier looks a solid B grader and Zane has been pretty underwhelming, all be it from a shallow pool of games to judge him on.

All the Duursma boys gave and now W Duursma gives me, in their respective drafts, scary “Cale Morton” vibes.

Big on talent and small on ticker.
The two youngest of the brothers are spindly pipe - cleaner thin and look like they would snap in a bone crunching tackle or collision.

Now it’s a long, long, long way out from the combine and draft and history tells us that there are probably 10 kids that no one rates as first rounders at this point in time that will ascend as the year goes by.

Also what a fu(Ken shit show the first round of this years draft is going to be - I can see it possible nudging high thirties and may even crack the magical number 40.
Will go down as being the “ War & Peace” of first rounds in the vAFL National Drafts.

But remember Mamma Kane’s reassurance it’s not compromised ….. just complexed.

The very instrument that the AFL set up for Lowly Clubs to use to improve their lists to become more competitive, now has become that convoluted and compromised that the draft, as it was originally intended to serve as an equalisation tool, is actually more favourably slanted to the more successful Clubs.
Also helps immeasurably if you have your own Northern Academy.

The draft mechanism now looks like something that was designed by clusterfu(ks R us.

The very instrument that the AFL set up for Lowly Clubs to use to improve their lists be become more competitive, now has become that convoluted and compromised that the draft, as it was originally intended to serve as an equalisation tool, is actually more favourably slanted to the more successful Clubs.
Also helps immeasurably if you have your own Northern Academy.

The draft mechanics now looks like something that was designed by clusterfu(ks R us.

It's what happens when you let people who have suffered a lot of head knocks make important decisions.

giphy.gif

You threw up Yeo Kelly and Duggan as the senior players kids could potentially learn from, you mentioned hardly anyone would even know who they are outside of Perth.

He was being facetious you plank

Not surprised in the least you missed his point

We are already in that situation & have been for the last few years.

Couple of things

1) Charlie Banfield is a F/S not a NGA so not eligible as a Cat B. If no bids come we could take him with our last pick in the draft like we did with Waterman or hold over to the rookie draft to take him with our first pick there
2) Who’s Onley? I know Jake Caton and Tylah Williams are other NGAs we might hold interest in, but I’ve missed any mention of an Onley

Very tired, had just been watching footage of Onley and it was a mistype. Also as you have noted obviously Charlie Banfield can't be cat B.

Yeah I think we are well positioned to trade up. If that’s with the Hawks 1/2/3 or our 2/3 and what player we want. Draft intel later in the year will tell a lot.

Be interesting to see where we projected those 3 NGAs/FS for 2026 to go and if we even try and trade our F1 into this draft. Suns looked like a prime candidate but that Power pick not looking as tasty.

Walker and Cochrane the top 2 for next year and one is off the board and the other will be a JHF flight risk.
Don’t think we need to bring our F1 into this draft, and would rather hold it for a few reasons.

-we really don’t have room on the list for even more picks this year unless we are booting contracted players

-if it is pick 1 next year, Cochrane will be highly sought after if he continues on his projection or we can take him (not sure why you think he’s a flight risk he’s only 16?)

-May form part of a trade for D Curtin next year depending on where we finish

-we may need to use our 2026 R1 to split for points to get our three NGAs/FS. Kenh looks like a late 1R, ROYAL EAGLE has huge wraps on McGlade to go even higher than that and Harper Banfield has been great as an under ager. In saying that I’d ideally rather take a player before a bid then carry a big points deficit into 2027, which is going to be a crucial free agency year for us with Warner (maybe) and Rivers.

If we get the next few years right I can realistically see us being a threat in 2028 with a balanced list ready to enter their absolute prime with a fantastic age profile.

For me looking at our list the best midfielders for us

Frederick Rodriguez
Josh Lindsay
Toby Whan
These 3 all elite with footskills,
Whan also happens to be best gut runner in this draft

Then lower options
Sam Grlj
Sam Swadling
Sam Cumming

Of those 3 Sam's Swadling has the highest ceiling and seems to rack up very big numbers so you know he can accumulate
As a casual observer I think you have nailed this on list needs.
All classy ball users and would be happy to get 1 out of each group if they continue their projection.

Couple of things

1) Charlie Banfield is a F/S not a NGA so not eligible as a Cat B. If no bids come we could take him with our last pick in the draft like we did with Waterman or hold over to the rookie draft to take him with our first pick there
2) Who’s Onley? I know Jake Caton and Tylah Williams are other NGAs we might hold interest in, but I’ve missed any mention of an Onley
You can commit to drafting Father Sons in the rookie draft, but the catch there is, if a bid comes in the national draft, you can’t match.

Oh no he might delete my comment 😂 :'(:'(:'(
Was thinking more of a banning.
Some boards are more welcoming and tolerant than others.

Still annoys me that I got banned from the Frocker board for asking a logical, polite and relevant question about the on-board hatred for Suma when he was applying for the the Freo gig.