List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade/Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

Quick links
Players out of Contract 2025 (12)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Tom Cole (28/5/97) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) in May 2022
  • Rhett Bazzo (17/10/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in September 2022
  • Jayden Hunt (3/4/95) - Signed a 3 year contract (2023-25) in October 2022
  • Callum Jamieson (31/7/00) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in March 2023
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • Jack Petruccelle (12/4/99) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R) Loch Rawlinson (1/6/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024
  • (R) Jacob Newton (20/3/06/) - Automatic 6 month contract (2025) when drafted in May 2025

Provisional 2025 Draft order

I don't profess to be an expert but I have watch him and see the TDK traits. I'm not the only one that likes his ruck and ground work.

My point is that we take best available not a positional need, but he fulfils both. Now if during the remainder of the season someone else jumps up and become a clear consensus pick one then OK, But for June it's clearly CDT.

I don’t agree that he is best available.

And I’d argue he also doesn’t address a positional need in the short term. He’d come in as a forward/2nd ruck and we have plenty of those who would be in front of him.

I don't profess to be an expert but I have watch him and see the TDK traits. I'm not the only one that likes his ruck and ground work.

My point is that we take best available not a positional need, but he fulfils both. Now if during the remainder of the season someone else jumps up and become a clear consensus pick one then OK, But for June it's clearly CDT.
It’s not clearly CDT at all, we just watched Sharp look like a significantly better player than him last week when they played each other, lol.

CDT is nothing like TDK or Jackson, he’s a smaller Tim English if anything, weak hands, mediocre ruck work - doesn’t even dominate the hitout battle at Coates League level, he’s only 200CM, he’s not a point of difference athlete either.

Drafting CDT makes zero sense for us, we’ll have big imbalance issues again because we’ll be forcing him in the forward line for 2-3 years until he’s MAYBE ready to ruck and even then you’d need to pair him with another ruck as well.

He’s not a “unicorn”, there’s nothing unique about him, he’s a good link up player across the ground - that’s his strength, he’s essentially a tall midfielder at this stage.

Trading in players so you can squeeze another flag out of older players.

Where have I heard that before? :p
🤫 don't mention that until after we have the Allen compensation

Trading in players so you can squeeze another flag out of older players.

Where have I heard that before? :p
Helps when you don't have to sell the farm to trade said players in.

Yeah.

Our problem is we had to trade with the Cun... sorry, Cats. There is no rule of trading more solid than Geelong demand they win every single deal hands down.

Not sure why any club ever trades with them any more.

Realistically what would people here be willing to accept paying for a decent ruck that can cover the next 3-4 years is the question. If TDK goes to Collingwood then people need to accept that the clubs 2nd round pick would be a minimum for Cameron despite his age.

This also allows Archer Reid to develop and us to actively look at drafting in a real ruck next year where there look to be a couple of real talents. Jacob Van Rooyen is still 16 and was probably WA's second best player yesterday. He got beaten out of the taps by strength but is already 203cm and was great at ground level and around the ground.

There's a 3rd Dimension that you're not aware of:

1. Take the best player available
2. Take players for the positions that you most need
3. Take positions according to draft range.

A bit from column A, a bit from column B, a bit from column C. The weighting depends on where your team is at.

3. Most of the AFL's best ruckman were not drafted top 10. At least half of the AFL's elite mids were draft inside, or close to the top 5. Top 5 is the sweet spot for elite mids. There are exceptions of course, but if you're a betting man, you'd play the percentages.

2. It's a smart move to build your midfield first. Although a ruck is part of it, bulls and balanced should be prioritised

1. Take the best player available. CDT, Duursma, and Sharp are all vying for #1..

Computer says: Sharp

Lets hypothetically say North have a top 3 pick:

3. Got plenty of mids. Got a ruck in Xerri. Got a forward in Larkey (could use another). Generally speaking, elite mids are 1-5, elite KPF 1-10, KPD 7-15.

2. Midfield already built. Not a factor. KPDs needed the most. Another elite KPF would be good.

1. Best available. Why would you choose CDT when you have Xerri? Why would you choose Sharp when you have plenty of midfiel stocks? Duursma is a luxury, but they need KPD and KPF.

Computer says: Take Schubert/Ludowyke/Curtin if he's not a reach. Otherwise, split with a view to take one of those KPFs and the best KPD in the draft.

That 3rd dimension is the first consideration.

Whatever happens with Oscar, barring it being like an ACL I don't think it will effect his free agent value at all. Brisbane got in Joe Daniher after he played 15 games over his final three seasons at Essendon. He then managed to play 24, 19, 26 and 27 games in his four years at Brisbane.

So Brisbane will back themselves in to get him right since they've done it recently with someone else.

Whatever happens with Oscar, barring it being like an ACL I don't think it will effect his free agent value at all. Brisbane got in Joe Daniher after he played 15 games over his final three seasons at Essendon. He then managed to play 24, 19, 26 and 27 games in his four years at Brisbane.

So Brisbane will back themselves in to get him right since they've done it recently with someone else.

Yes this.

I very much hope for Oscars sake that is the case if he does go.

Realistically what would people here be willing to accept paying for a decent ruck that can cover the next 3-4 years is the question. If TDK goes to Collingwood then people need to accept that the clubs 2nd round pick would be a minimum for Cameron despite his age.

This also allows Archer Reid to develop and us to actively look at drafting in a real ruck next year where there look to be a couple of real talents. Jacob Van Rooyen is still 16 and was probably WA's second best player yesterday. He got beaten out of the taps by strength but is already 203cm and was great at ground level and around the ground.
Would it be crazy for WC to make TDK a grandfather offer?

Would Ivan Soldo be an upgrade on our current ruck stocks? He turns 30 early next season which makes him almost a full year younger than Cameron. I suspect he’d come cheap given he’s now seemingly fallen to third choice at Port behind Sweet and Visentini. And Perth might be more attractive than Adelaide for his flight-attendant partner.

He could be a cheaper (than Cameron) alternative stop-gap option for a couple of years while we allow Reid to develop as a ruck.

Would Ivan Soldo be an upgrade on our current ruck stocks? He turns 30 early next season which makes him almost a full year younger than Cameron. I suspect he’d come cheap given he’s now seemingly fallen to third choice at Port behind Sweet and Visentini. And Perth might be more attractive than Adelaide for his flight-attendant partner.

He could be a cheaper (than Cameron) alternative stop-gap option for a couple of years while we allow Reid to develop as a ruck.
I'd do this, but I'd want to confirm that he's in control of his footy career and not his wife.

Has anyone asked the club why they gave T Kelly a contract extension?

I did actually. Here’s the response.

“Tim’s talent and experience will be vitally important to the regeneration of our squad under Andrew McQualter and keeping our 2023 Club Champion was a priority.

He has the flexibility in his game to play through several positions in our new system and his leadership for our young core is highly valued. We feel Tim has some strong football ahead.”

Soldo has that Richmond connection too.

Apparently failed a medical at the Saints last year so the trade fell through.

SANFL numbers are very average but is playing 2nd ruck most weeks there.

Imo worth the free hit if we miss out on other options.

Not sure his misses will move further west. She has stirred up a bit of controversy in SA since they arrived.

Price I reckon will be almost be free. Delisted FA

At worst Tim Kelly is our experienced mid we wanted for the Beagles.

new ruck must be below 24 years of age, so he is there for at least the next 5-6 years

Sure, no worries.

And who is this 23 year old ruckman you think we can just acquire and will be able to become our number 1 ruck for the next 5-6 years?

Sure, no worries.

And who is this 23 year old ruckman you think we can just acquire and will be able to become our number 1 ruck for the next 5-6 years?

Someone like Ned Moyle is who should we targeting IMO

Even with Witts coming to the end of his time, they still have Ethan Read and Knobel there as well

Contract/trade would be the issue though as he's got a deal to 2028 :|

Someone like Ned Moyle is who should we targeting IMO

He turns 24 before next season starts so arguably he’s too old.

But more relevantly, he signed a four-year deal less than 12 months ago, despite being courted heavily by teams in his home state. So I don’t see a way that we convince him to renege on that deal and move across the country to play for a basket case. And even if we somehow manage that, we wouldn’t be able to satisfy Gold Coast in a trade without giving up some seriously significant value in return.

He turns 24 before next season starts so arguably he’s too old.

But more relevantly, he signed a four-year deal less than 12 months ago, despite being courted heavily by teams in his home state. So I don’t see a way that we convince him to renege on that deal and move across the country to play for a basket case. And even if we somehow manage that, we wouldn’t be able to satisfy Gold Coast in a trade without giving up some seriously significant value in return.

Yeah I didn't see the contract situation until after I posted

But yeah I think getting a backup ruck in that 23-24 age range isn't the worst idea. They would be about to come into their prime and would be a better fit for the list. Finding one that's available is the issue though

I don't think Soldo or Cameron are good options due to age, would prefer the club looked long term instead

I did actually. Here’s the response.

“Tim’s talent and experience will be vitally important to the regeneration of our squad under Andrew McQualter and keeping our 2023 Club Champion was a priority.

He has the flexibility in his game to play through several positions in our new system and his leadership for our young core is highly valued. We feel Tim has some strong football ahead.”

Was he going somewhere?