News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

I have listened to just about every morning Press Conference since covid-19 started to rear its ugly head, and in my view there has been pretty much a consistency right throughout.

It seems to me that from the outset that by and large the politicians have been taking advice from the Commonwealth Chief Medical Officer and the State Chief Medical/Health Officers and following that advice. Certainly some measures have changed over time but that is only to be expected in such a changing situation.

Is that the correct approach? Only time will tell, but if Governments and communities do not rely on the advice of presumably (and I believe they are) experts in their fields then what else should they do?

Is Australia getting it right with the slowing of the curve approach? Well the early evidence of a death rate of around 1% of infected Australians versus a global death rate of 4.146% of infections worldwide (WHO statistics) it seems to me that its working. Again it is early days and much much more "water to flow under the bridge".

Restricting non-essential indoor gatherings to less than 100 people, outdoor non-essential gatherings to less than 500 people, practicing "social distancing" (I've probably been doing that quite a bit throughout my life), encouraging far better hand hygiene, allowing more and more people to work from home, keeping schools open, (because clearly as children are far less susceptible to this disease so therefore starting to build immunity through safer sections of the community), are all decisions that I think are good ones.

Again only time will tell if the approach is correct, but none of us have seen this before (Spanish Flu 1918 survivors notwithstanding) so it seems to me that we do need to rely on the health experts - and there are some brilliant brains involved in that area working on this.

Folks should all go in and get their flu shots asap this year.

I haven't had a flu shot for well over 30 years but this year may be the exception. I hate to think what the consequences will be for some who contracts the usual flu conditions and then cops covid-19.

So a state government can’t make the call unless the federal government does?
I erred when I said federal. I meant the national cabinet, which includes federal and state leaders, makes the decision and the states can choose to implement it how they see fit. As SLF said, the states are largely autonomous.

There's a difference between identification, treatment and avoidance mate.

The Germans are arsekickers at everything when they set their minds to it. Arguably the greatest technological society on earth.

The fact that the population, in general, obey rules to a fault is a huge plus for them in a situation like this.

I erred when I said federal. I meant the national cabinet, which includes federal and state leaders, makes the decision and the states can choose to implement it how they see fit. As SLF said, the states are largely autonomous.

Yeah if that National Cabinet makes a decision, they'll implement it (der!)

Morrison and Dutton can just decide to announce something and there's no obligation on Vic or NSW to apply it.

In the 1918/19 pandemic WA and Tasmania actually threatened to withdraw from the federation, and did actually withdraw from some federal elements to protect their populations.

(Sorry for using my journalistic training and political experience to add useful and interesting information here btw.)

I have listened to just about every morning Press Conference since covid-19 started to rear its ugly head, and in my view there has been pretty much a consistency right throughout.

It seems to me that from the outset that by and large the politicians have been taking advice from the Commonwealth Chief Medical Officer and the State Chief Medical/Health Officers and following that advice. Certainly some measures have changed over time but that is only to be expected in such a changing situation.

Is that the correct approach? Only time will tell, but if Governments and communities do not rely on the advice of presumably (and I believe they are) experts in their fields then what else should they do?

Is Australia getting it right with the slowing of the curve approach? Well the early evidence of a death rate of around 1% of infected Australians versus a global death rate of 4.146% of infections worldwide (WHO statistics) it seems to me that its working. Again it is early days and much much more "water to flow under the bridge".

Restricting non-essential indoor gatherings to less than 100 people, outdoor non-essential gatherings to less than 500 people, practicing "social distancing" (I've probably been doing that quite a bit throughout my life), encouraging far better hand hygiene, allowing more and more people to work from home, keeping schools open, (because clearly as children are far less susceptible to this disease so therefore starting to build immunity through safer sections of the community), are all decisions that I think are good ones.

Again only time will tell if the approach is correct, but none of us have seen this before (Spanish Flu 1918 survivors notwithstanding) so it seems to me that we do need to rely on the health experts - and there are some brilliant brains involved in that area working on this.

My only worry with most of the state/fed health medical officers around the country, is that they don't have a whole heap of experience with infectious disease mitigation.

I'm listening more closely to what the WHO is saying in regards to this, especially those battle hardened experts that have managed the Ebola, H1N1 outbreaks etc.

My only worry with most of the state/fed health medical officers around the country, is that they don't have a whole heap of experience with infectious disease mitigation.

I'm listening more closely to what the WHO is saying in regards to this, especially those battle hardened experts that have managed the Ebola, H1N1 outbreaks etc.

Fairfield Infectious Diseases Hosp.
That's where my hatred of one Jeff Kennett comes from Pykie. Having worked in the health system, seen the world class work that went on there, toured the facilities and having the first Mrs. H. an inpatient there, it should have never, ever been closed.
Staff there were world class, research top notch. They were prepared for this scenario. They knew it would one day come.

That's why spoiled buffoons should never be allowed to make health decisions.

This is true but remember that they at least have data from other countries telling us that most of us will be fine to fight this virus via our bodies response to it.
So we can go about our business in a reduced capacity whilst at the same time vehemently protecting the elderly, the infirm and the vulnerable.
The worse thing for me is the proof at shopping centres of many people's stupidity and selfishness. In fact, if something truly very serious ever happens, we are about 3.5 days from the stone age!

There's a difference between identification, treatment and avoidance mate.

The Germans are arsekickers at everything when they set their minds to it. Arguably the greatest technological society on earth.
A remarkable people just quietly.

The Wubonic Plague is gradually eroding our freedoms.

Business is booming in the security industry. Universities have been asked to hire more security to guard libraries and building etc. Which only points to complete shutdowns in certain areas.

The hoarding and panic buying has been a disgrace and something we should be ashamed of.

Being a sole carer for an 85 year old and being immunocompromised myself, something as simple as having hand sanitiser becomes very important at times like now.

She's got a rasping cough this morning. The glands are up in my throat. GP appointment via phone this arvo.

Fair to say I'm as worried as ****.

The hoarding and panic buying has been a disgrace and something we should be ashamed of.

Being a sole carer for an 85 year old and being immunocompromised myself, something as simple as having hand sanitiser becomes very important at times like now.

She's got a rasping cough this morning. The glands are up in my throat. GP appointment via phone this arvo.

Fair to say I'm as worried as fu**.
Good luck Grogg. Hope you guys are ok.

Fair to say I'm as worried as fu**.

Yeh Grogg. Take care and keep us updated 😎

All here for each-other.

Figured out where to get meat. Go to a halal butcher because there’s heaps of ignorant people that won’t eat it. Went into my local halal butcher, heaps of everything.
Or even better try vegetarian. I went to coles and the entire meat section was empty. You know what wasn't...Beyond Burger. Frozen veg...empty. Frozen vegetarian meats = full.

Proof that all you murders will perish while the animal lovers among us will prosper.

Yeh Grogg. Take care and keep us updated 😎

All here for each-other.
Will do mate.

I just needed to vent and it's easier to do it on here than having to burden the family with what very may well be my unfounded paranoia. :thumbsu:

Or even better try vegetarian. I went to coles and the entire meat section was empty. You know what wasn't...Beyond Burger. Frozen veg...empty. Frozen vegetarian meats = full.

Proof that all you murders will perish while the animal lovers among us will prosper.

I am doing likewise, just waiting on my loan approval then I will straight to Coles.

I love people comparing Northern Italy and Spain to Australia..

if you’ve travelled there, lovely places, but you can see why would disease spread so quickly.
Two weeks ago we had 30 confirmed infections and now we have 450 odd. That's a fifteenfold increase in two weeks. That is exactly the sort of trajectory that Italy was on early days. What makes you think it would be any different in Australia if we don't make a significant intervention?

Figured out where to get meat. Go to a halal butcher because there’s heaps of ignorant people that won’t eat it. Went into my local halal butcher, heaps of everything.
My local fruit and veg shop still has everything. The butcher has most things including some big pork and lamb roasting joints mmmmm
I've made myself hungry now :D

Yeah if that National Cabinet makes a decision, they'll implement it (der!)

Morrison and Dutton can just decide to announce something and there's no obligation on Vic or NSW to apply it.

In the 1918/19 pandemic WA and Tasmania actually threatened to withdraw from the federation, and did actually withdraw from some federal elements to protect their populations.

(Sorry for using my journalistic training and political experience to add useful and interesting information here btw.)
You're just being woke now.

Yuk. I’m actually thinking about going full carnivore