News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

The USA has tested fewer people for the virus than South Australia. Trump has lied every time he has spoken on the issue. He has variously blamed China, Europe, and the Obama administration for his administration's failings. He has claimed to have a "natural ability" for science because he had an uncle at MITdespite not knowing a thing about vaccines. HE has taken zero responsibility for failings and awarded himself 10 out of 10 for the response. He deliberately delayed testing because he thought positive results would be bad politically and now we find out he tried to monopolise a potential vaccine purely for Americans.

Do you really want to defend Trump?

Trump is NOT an immunologist/virologist/microbiologist!!!

He takes recommendations from experts just like every other politician, but don't let that little matter get in the way of your political opportunism.

The level of sincerity from you lot on this issue, serves to highlight how little there is between you & the type of person found in western politics.

Just so happens we are in the Grand Final this weekend. No word from the league about a cancellation yet, but neighbouring leagues have cancelled theirs. Luckily for us we've only lost 1 game for the year and will be crowned premiers off it gets called off. Not ideal, but the opposition are a pack of campaigners so I don't care.
This comment brought a smile to my face.

True story: I've only played in one cricket grand final. I'm an opening bat. Normally walk when I edge. Grand final comes along, playing the best team in the division, but they are a bunch of ****wits, we bat first, lose two early wickets, looking grim, I snick one, don't walk because these guys are truly a pack of campaigners and the (paid) umpire apparently didn't hear the edge so let's see what happens. Go on to score 70, team posts strong total, we win the next day by about 30 or 40 runs, opening bowler from other team says 'you edged it didn't you', and I'm like of course I did (********).

At this point its safe to say the deluge of panic that has occurred and built over the past couple of weeks, culminating in the last 7-14 days, will now subside, I think the facts at this point are out there, the right advice is being given and now society will have to adapt for a while.

For example, if this dragged on until like, September, right into winter where we can be hit the hardest, I fear we're in for a world of shit, businesses will not stem the tide forever. So it only makes a solution to this all the more urgent, obvious health risks and death tolls aside.

Multiple people who work in politics at various levels have told me the working assumption is that it peaks in ten weeks for four weeks.

So that's July. And it doesn't just magically stop then, it could be worse.

It is going to be bad

At the same time, it won't be the Siege of Deir-Ezzor either.

Issue is Australia hasn't had a serious recession, terrorist attack or natural disaster in decades. We're psychologically unprepared.

FFS we have very comfortable white men living very comfortable cosseted existences pursuing academic and professional careers who have convinced themselves they are "under attack" and victims.

Folks do indeed need to toughen and get some perspective.

He takes recommendations from experts just like every other politician, but don't let that little matter get in the way of your political opportunism.

The level of sincerity from you lot on this issue, serves to highlight how little there is between you & the type of person found in western politics.
this assumption shows how ignorant you can be.

Issue is Australia hasn't had a serious recession, terrorist attack or natural disaster in decades. We're psychologically unprepared.

Mate the Sydney Siege, the bushfires, the 2008 financial crisis, and the waging wars overseas that have lasted over a decade and still going, and there's probably, even more I can list, wasn't that long ago.

The country's been through some shit, it hasn't been all roses and rainbows here every year.

Im stunned with Paul Marsh's statement.......very self centred. Im still thinking the national medical officer will step in and say no.

If GR is right, it may be taken away from them... reckon Gillion will call it tomorrow...

Mate the Sydney Siege, the bushfires, the 2008 financial crisis, and the waging wars overseas that have lasted over a decade and still going, and there's probably, even more I can list, wasn't that long ago.

The country's been through some shit, it hasn't been all roses and rainbows here every year.
All of those events impacted relatively few Australians. This is going to be different.

Toilet paper is an easy one.

" You want 12 pack ? That's $6.50c Hojuman "

You want to buy another 12 pack ? Second 12 pack will cost you $314.75c "

" Still want the second one sir ? Didn't think so. Have a nice day. Thank-you for shopping at Aldi / Coles / Woolies / IGA / Safeway.....
I hope this logic never applies to beer!

Does anybody know, what is the test for coronavirus, and when somebody dies after being diagnosed, how is it determined that it was the virus that killed them? Are autopsies performed?

i have family that work in an age care home in mildura the ******* cow that runs the lifestyle and activity's dpt took a busload of residents into town for morning tea at cafe this very morning despite the warnings

Have there been any outbreaks in Mildura?

All of those events impacted relatively few Australians. This is going to be different.

No shit. But to suggest the country is collectively weak just seems like hyperbole, we don't have the memories of goldfish, and we all haven't lived lives without experiencing some serious shit.

I'm not buying into the weak-minded narrative. Selfish? Maybe. Ill-informed? Yes. Slow? Obviously.

Not weak.

No he doesn't. This has been proven so often, he literally does not take advice from the experts. He BRAGS that he doesn't.

On this issue he put his son-in-law in charge.

I mean, Jared came to the same conclusion as you - that it was all media hype - so maybe that's why you're sticking up for him.

Have there been any outbreaks in Mildura?

No.

They are expecting 115 cases within a month. The virus should be well contained considering the geographic factors.

Sorry but nah. The Sydney Siege was a one day affair. Compare that 30 years of conflict with the IRA in Britain. France and Belgium have faced years of continual lockdown, soldiers everywhere, dealing with Daesh.

Australia has NO experience of real terriorism.

The 2008 financial crisis? Lol, don't make me laugh, Australia didn't even go into recession! Nothing compared to what happened in Europe and the US where unemployment went to double digits, a decade of austerity.

Overseas wars? They have NO daily effect on life here, It isn't 1917 and the postie coming down the street telling half the Mums their boys died the day before.

One thing I did get wrong was natural disasters - the bushfires this year were as bad as anything going internationally.

Sorry but nah. The Sydney Siege was a one day affair. Compare that 30 years of conflict with the IRA in Britain. France and Belgium have faced years of continual lockdown, soldiers everywhere, dealing with Daesh.

Australia has NO experience of real terriorism.

The 2008 financial crisis? Lol, don't make me laugh, Australia didn't even go into recession! Nothing compared to what happened in Europe and the US where unemployment went to double digits, a decade of austerity.

Overseas wars? They have NO daily effect on life here, It isn't 1917 and the postie coming down the street telling half the Mums their boys died the day before.

One thing I did get wrong was natural disasters - the bushfires this year were as bad as anything going internationally.

Bushfires really only affected one corner of the country though, was a normal summer for large parts of QLD and WA

Does anybody know, what it the test for coronavirus, and when somebody dies after being diagnosed, how is it determined that it was the virus that killed them? Are autopsies performed?

The inability to breathe unassisted combined with chest X-rays would be a fair indicator.

1584426654839.png

The thing does a number on you if your immune system is weak.

Does anybody know, what it the test for coronavirus, and when somebody dies after being diagnosed, how is it determined that it was the virus that killed them? Are autopsies performed?

The coronavirus test is a swab from the nose and mouth, a more thorough test includes the lower airway by coughing up secretion from the bronchi or lungs. Most testing is inadequate, just take a nose swab.

Cause of death can't be determined without an autopsy. They will determine it is the virus based on how much it has infected the lungs, death from the virus is likely your own immune system in what is called as cytokine storm, that is your immune system flooding the lungs that causes suffocation or damage to vital organs. They can pin it on the virus based on how much infection is present in the lungs in an autopsy.