News Coronavirus Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Gasometer

I'm really hoping its on.

They are fit and ready. Do temperature tests before they start then let them at it.

I'm really hoping its on.

They are fit and ready. Do temperature tests before they start then let them at it.

or save the temp tests until after 🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳

The hoarding and panic buying has been a disgrace and something we should be ashamed of.

Being a sole carer for an 85 year old and being immunocompromised myself, something as simple as having hand sanitiser becomes very important at times like now.

She's got a rasping cough this morning. The glands are up in my throat. GP appointment via phone this arvo.

Fair to say I'm as worried as fu**.

All the best mate. [emoji106]

Our house is in semi lockdown now with the kids and I having endured a week of high temps, relentless coughing and the like. Fortunately it’s included sneezing, which seems to rule out Covid-19, but Mrs Toes was struck down with it last night as well and she managed to get into Monash Med Centre today for the swab test. I’ve improved, as has my daughter, with the little bloke and missus struggling. I’m fairly certain it’s just been a bad chest infection but Mrs Toes’ test results will reveal the truth.

Being immunocompromised sucks at times like the present but we’re avoiding as many risk factors as possible.

Hopefully you guys just have a regular bug, as I suspect we do. Fingers crossed anyway! 🤞

Our house is in semi lockdown now with the kids and I having endured a week of high temps, relentless coughing and the like. Fortunately it’s included sneezing, which seems to rule out Covid-19, but Mrs Toes was struck down with it last night as well and she managed to get into Monash Med Centre today for the swab test. I’ve improved, as has my daughter, with the little bloke and missus struggling. I’m fairly certain it’s just been a bad chest infection but Mrs Toes’ test results will reveal the truth.

Being immunocompromised sucks at times like the present but we’re avoiding as many risk factors as possible.

Hopefully you guys just have a regular bug, as I suspect we do. Fingers crossed anyway! 🤞

Better let the crew at the Tender Touch know.

It is different, deaths in particular. We have also had the infection for an additional 3 weeks.

Deaths will vary based on things like the age and pre-existing conditions of the cohort in question. If our old and frail get infected we will have high death rates. If our hospital system gets overloaded as Italy's has, we will get high death rates. We have a finite supply of things like hospital beds and respirators.

My question was more in relation to community infection. I think it would be arrogant and naive to think that what happened in Wuhan and is happening in Northern Italy and Spain couldn't happen here. So far we have been lucky in that we haven't really seen community transmission. All of our cases have either been direct travellers or the first degree of separation. Even with that luck, our known infections have increased fifteenfold in two weeks.

Fortunately, it is very clear that our governments have been taking this seriously, they are acting in a bi-partisan manner, and cooperating both between states and states to federally. We haven't had the American toxin of one side of politics and their propaganda partners deliberately downplaying the severity of the crisis and calling it a hoax. There are still some idiots pushing this line out there in talkback radio world but thankfully they have no influence.

Speaking to my sister, who is a nurse in the Victorian public hospital system, they are emptying wards now to create space in preparation for what they have been advised to expect in the next few weeks. We are lucky we have good people working on this from the top down. If we listened to the "it's just a mild flu" crowd we would be 6 weeks away from a million infections.

It's mayhem and you have to take the official stats with a grain of salt. I had a scratchy throat on Monday night, headaches, bit of chest but no real coughing. Had to go to the doctor because I don't want to go to work and infect other people. I don't meet the criteria for testing for COVID19 but my symptoms mean I'm home now for 2 weeks. Which now means my son is as well because he's had a runny nose for a month. The funny thing is that the school asked me to let them know if I have any updates - but I can't give them an update because under current policy there is little chance I'll ever know whether this is a simple cold, a flu or COVID19. :think:

If both parties would implement / maintain the same measures, what difference does it make if it is blue or red team in charge?

Stopping public gatherings, tracking / controlling movement, giving police power to arrest people for doing nothing wrong other than being outside...

Take away the irrational, fear-based save us from the enemy mindset, and how does all of this look?
Which part of it is irrational and fear-based versus reasonable precautions against a highly infectious virus that could kill a large proportion of older and vulnerable Australians if left unchecked?

The podcast I shared a few weeks ago with Michael Osterholm outlined why it’s so important to keep schools going. The highest number of working mums are nurses and if they close schools the hospitals will be short staffed, would be disastrous

I spoke to a friend who is a nurse in NSW today.

She gave me a list of vital hospital staff who have kids.m it was eye opening.

Alot are non medical but hospitals wouldn't function without them. Cleaners, cooks, but also people who do pathology for example. It was long list.

By the same token it puts teachers, who aren't immune, and will have to make calls on things like sending sick kids home, in a very bad position.

Agreed. We need to put these outdated racial prejudices to bed. In my experience the only stereotypes or generalisations which are able to stand up in the face of any kind of modern in depth scrutiny are the ones about Collingwood supporters.

Fare call. I believe they are immune to Covid19. Even a virus has some standards.

With the flu vaccine ... I know people who've had it who have got really "sick" as their bodies ramp up anti body production, including severe lung issues along the way.

This isn't the flu making them sick, it's the immunological reaction.

A little like the Cytokine Storm that has been referred to earlier.

I've never had a flu shot, was going to this year, as will everyone I guess, but can see issues with this if the flu shot and a case of the virus happen to coincide.

I spoke to a friend who is a nurse in NSW today.

She gave me a list of vital hospital staff who have kids.m it was eye opening.

Alot are non medical but hospitals wouldn't function without them. Cleaners, cooks, but also people who do pathology for example. It was long list.

By the same token it puts teachers, who aren't immune, and will have to make calls on things like sending sick kids home, in a very bad position.

you’d have to be a pretty ordinary person to send your kid to school crook at the moment

Lucky the political idiots didn't listen to you.

you’d have to be a pretty ordinary person to send your kid to school crook at the moment
There is a piece in the Washington Post which profiles a woman who is a therapist who has been diagnosed with Covid19. She runs through the development of symptoms from feeling a bit crap for a few days and then says something along the lines of "by Monday she had the shivers, but not badly enough to stop her from seeing six clients". How f#*@ing stupid and inconsiderate can one person be? She has symptoms consistent with those of a major viral pandemic but soldiers on to do her face to face work anyway. No wonder the USA is stuffed, even the smart ones are stupid.

For live updates:

Here's the good news.

560 confirmed from 84502 believed to be symptomatic enough to be tested = 0.66%

Around 1 in 150 presenting with symptoms is being confirmed with the virus. This is excellent at present.

Cut & paste GR?

The soft **** blocked me.
"Always find the debate about working from home vs. working in office interesting. As someone who's done the former now for a fair while, can I just say absolutely nothing beats the sensation of churning out an articulate, witty, insightful masterpiece clad only in one's jocks. "