Discussion Coronavirus

• Thread starter Thread starter George

But I'm sure studies have also found that a majority of Americans believe in aliens and millions of them believe in Creationism. The national IQ has an average of about 35.
That may not be strictly true but they seem bloody determined to make it look like it is.

Donald Trump - late Feb

"Pay no attention to the fake-news fearmongering about the coronavirus. It’s all political hype. Things are going great."

Same bloke March 11

Donald Trump has declared a national emergency over the fast-spreading coronavirus

My mother in law went for a flu jab last week and we just got a call today saying the Dr that administered it has tested positive for COVID-19.

The Dr was wearing a mask and gloves and my mother in law stayed in her car whilst she got the injection.

No symptoms yet so fingers crossed nothing comes of it. It sounds like it would be low risk but there is obviously a chance given how contagious this is.

She lives alone but my family have seen her since she visited the Dr and I know she has seen her 3 siblings once since then. Also my father in law has visited our place (alone) since then.

Quite worrying and as a result of this 6 people over 70 could have been exposed even though she has been limiting contact.

Posting here as a reminder to please stay home as much as you can and limit contact with even loved ones, especially those over 70. Even in what we deem limited contact could possibly have a domino effect impacting multiple people.

Stay safe.

Hope she stays alright mate. You and your family stay safe.

But I'm sure studies have also found that a majority of Americans believe in aliens and millions of them believe in Creationism. The national IQ has an average of about 35.

There has to be Aliens. I’m sorry but I cannot get into this argument as this will go well into the PM London time. Space is my specialty.

The possibility of life elsewhere within an infinite universe has to be very strong. However, that isn't the same thing as Billy Bob in Arkansas and Jethro in Tennessee believing there are aliens living amongst us now, with the knowledge of the U.S. government. :D

i am going to by chromecast tomorrow from officeworks. or call them and get it delivered. which should i do? kmart has them for $55
is chromecast a good idea>

i am going to by chromecast tomorrow from officeworks. or call them and get it delivered. which should i do? kmart has them for $55

Depends on what you are intending to stream.

I use chrome cast for Kayo for AFL & Optus Sport for EPL. However, services such as Netflix, Stan, Amazon Prime, etc can be accessed on most newer smart TV’s or by connecting a media player.

It‘s simpler streaming direct through your TV (if it has the apps built in) or through a media player connected to your TV rather than through Google chrome cast.

I would personally only use the chrome cast if there is no other option ie Kayo sports. Connecting & streaming from a phone/tablet (using chrome cast) is a bit painful.

I was pretty ill last week, and in the week leading up to that I was reading about the CV news constantly. It was in my face at every waking moment. If I wasn't reading about it there was someone near me in the office or in public talking about it.

Since the start of last week I've told myself to avoid reading anymore about it and I've made a conscious effort to remove myself from looping on the negativity. I check The Age website once a night to keep somewhat in touch with what's going on, and I'm obviously still keeping up safe hygiene practice, but other than that I refuse to engage in it.

Doing this, coupled with working from home, has really improved my mental health. I'd suggest anyone that is really struggling now with what's going on, to just keep yourself preoccupied with something else. Try not to read every single update that comes through. It's mentally taxing. It's no good for your health.

Funnily enough stressing out too much can bring on illness, weakening your immune system - the very thing we need to keep an eye on in the current climate.

Part of my "getting back to normal" routine includes worrying about things that I can control.

Stay safe.

Depends on what you are intending to stream.

I use chrome cast for Kayo for AFL & Optus Sport for EPL. However, services such as Netflix, Stan, Amazon Prime, etc can be accessed on most newer smart TV’s or by connecting a media player.

It‘s simpler streaming direct through your TV (if it has the apps built in) or through a media player connected to your TV rather than through Google chrome cast.

I would personally only use the chrome cast if there is no other option ie Kayo sports. Connecting & streaming from a phone/tablet (using chrome cast) is a bit painful.

Yeah same. I use Apple but the Apple TV never gets used these days. We use an Xbox on one and just the apps through another. I use Kayo on the lap top and don't bother casting it. It's super clean on the MacBook, a bit dull on the TV.

If you are in London then you and MUFKilda are both in England so could chat about this for another 12 hours at least and it would give me something to read tomorrow when I get up.

I was pretty ill last week, and in the week leading up to that I was reading about the CV news constantly. It was in my face at every waking moment. If I wasn't reading about it there was someone near me in the office or in public talking about it.

Since the start of last week I've told myself to avoid reading anymore about it and I've made a conscious effort to remove myself from looping on the negativity. I check The Age website once a night to keep somewhat in touch with what's going on, and I'm obviously still keeping up safe hygiene practice, but other than that I refuse to engage in it.

Doing this, coupled with working from home, has really improved my mental health. I'd suggest anyone that is really struggling now with what's going on, to just keep yourself preoccupied with something else. Try not to read every single update that comes through. It's mentally taxing. It's no good for your health.

Funnily enough stressing out too much can bring on illness, weakening your immune system - the very thing we need to keep an eye on in the current climate.

Part of my "getting back to normal" routine includes worrying about things that I can control.

Stay safe.

Yeah, same, I was getting a bit over it after spending days reading everything I could on facebook. When I went up to the country for the day I came home and nothing had changed since last time I had looked. Be safe and sensible and just try to get through it.

We use the Chromecast a lot, cast Netflix, Stan, Kayo etc from there.

Also cast my Chrome browser from the Mac to there when using my mates Foxtel account 😁.

I have a Samsung Smart TV that is about 6 years old and using some of the apps through that is just as easy but it can be quite flaky.

Yeah, same, I was getting a bit over it after spending days reading everything I could on facebook. When I went up to the country for the day I came home and nothing had changed since last time I had looked. Be safe and sensible and just try to get through it.
Yep I definitely got caught up in it. I've been meditating and practicing mental health for a very long time but I'm human and slip up. In a way it was good to overdo the intake of CV news because it kind of shocked me back to normality. I wasn't slowly drip feeding myself with news and letting the lunacy continue - it was a quick 0-100 and then back to regular programming...

Stay safe.

I gave up on most news for months and it made me feel better, just constant doom mongering.

COVID-19 has dragged me back in so I need to practice distancing myself from it a bit.

I like reading this thread, real peoples perspectives and interesting articles that are shared.

It’s actually just got really repetitive & I‘ve lost interest. I’m still keeping across any changes & restrictions that come into effect.

I gave up on most news for months and it made me feel better, just constant doom mongering.

COVID-19 has dragged me back in so I need to practice distancing myself from it a bit.

I like reading this thread, real peoples perspectives and interesting articles that are shared.
It’s actually just got really repetitive & I‘ve lost interest. I’m still keeping across any changes & restrictions that come into effect.
Probably just human nature. I reckon millions of Aussies have had enough of the 24/7 media coverage. Once the country goes into lockdown (like we are now) then what else can we do. Practice good hygiene, sit back and wait. Apart from the major update here and there there's nothing to be gained from it anymore IMO.

If anyone is gaming-inclined, AFL Evolution 2’s release date has been brought forward to this Friday. That seems like the closest we’ll get to living out the season we were so passionately discussing throughout the summer.

Probably just human nature. I reckon millions of Aussies have had enough of the 24/7 media coverage. Once the country goes into lockdown (like we are now) then what else can we do. Practice good hygiene, sit back and wait. Apart from the major update here and there there's nothing to be gained from it anymore IMO.

The quarantine & not going to the gym is doing my head in. I’m currently in between stages 3 & 4...

95DD19DE-D270-494C-B071-009B9D17CBF6.jpeg

If anyone is gaming-inclined, AFL Evolution 2’s release date has been brought forward to this Friday. That seems like the closest we’ll get to living out the season we were so passionately discussing throughout the summer.
Nothing for the PC master race though :( Hubnester

The quarantine & not going to the gym is doing my head in. I’m currently in between stages 3 & 4...

View attachment 850319
It's a pain in the arse isn't it. I had booked a trip to Greece for my 30th mid-year, and now I can't even get properly in good nick for that.

Been doing Arnies home workout the past week or so. It's pretty basic. But I've got absolutely nothing at home. Cardio out the window. Pair of gloves and nothing to hit. I'll be #5 on that picture soon enough.

I’ll definitely give it a go.

Was the first one good?

How does the gameplay compare to footy say the way FIFA or PES does to soccer?