Cory Bernardi

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

email_header_banner_FINAL.png

Media reports indicate our national debt will hit $500 billion in coming weeks with no sign of slowing. The irresponsible approach by the coalition of which I am a prominent member shows once and for all that we have no FI what we are doing. LNP as good money managers is a complete and utter farce.

Spoken and authorised by
Cory Bernardi. God speed.

Of course when it's religions meddling in schools. That's ok and they are never expected to tax their savings

Kids learn better and have good self esteem and feel safe. Teachers are qualified to do that. A Bernardi clone posing as a chaplain isn't

Bernardi is finished. Not taken seriously outside of a small cabal in his party who are also starting to tire of his destabilisation. He's outlived his usefulness to the Liberal Party, One Nation voters aren't going to warm to private school boy from Adelaide.

Our dept is the elephant in the room that no one wants to talk about. Neither Shorten nor Turnbull has any interest in our debt which now has a third world status of above our GDP. Tony Abbott also dropped the ball after Joe Hockey walked into his office with private polling figures that showed you and I couldn’t give a stuff about debt and deficit. Shorten and the Greens have neither concept nor care about debt. It’s never mentioned and Turnbull is still avoiding it despite it reaching almost a half trillion dollars.

“Safe Schools” has nothing to do with safety. It has everything to do with sexually educating your children in the way the Left wants them educated while parents remain unaware.

Cory speaks the truth.

Making far too much sense for my liking

Apart from the usual bash Labor start. I wonder if many read past the 1st paragraph

I read it alright, its pure neoliberal capitalist dog shit.

Just slash everything to ribbons and the free market will take care of everything! I don't know how but let's just do it! God wills it!

Also ALP did this, even though we have spent far more and nearly doubled the structural deficit, and by my own words I just typed NOTHING HAS CHANGED SO I MIGHT HAVE JUST SLAGGED OFF MY OWN PARTY I DONT KNOW SOMEONE HELP ME....

And even though we can't even seem to afford to pay for basic services that Australians rightfully feel are a birthright like quality education.... (which can be fixed not by looking at the ridiculously out of proportion funding model that sees the wealthiest school given a huge legup at the expense of literally everyone else, no, we will just put god back in the classroom)

TRUST ME WE DONT HAVE A REVENUE PROBLEM AND THE FACT FULL TIME JOBS ARE DISAPPEARING AT A RATE OF KNOTS ISNT THE PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM IS THINGS COST MONEY AND THE PRIVATE SECTOR COULD DO THEM INSTEAD BECAUSE HASNT THEN BEEN AWESOME FOR TELECOMMUNICATIONS, BANKING, RAIL, AIRPORTS etc THOSE INDUSTRIES HAVE NEVER BEEN BETTER RUN OR CHEAPER FOR AUSSIES EXCEPT WHEN THEY WERENT PRIVATISED

p.s. no homo

It's ******* amazing how much Howard and his governments changed Australia - the bullshit millennial tears on Anzac Day, the "**** off we're full", bipartisan off shore processing, law and order, the tacit re-embrace of the monarchy - its not the Aussie I knew and loved.
Is most of that even true? I am a millennial and I don't know a single person in my age bracket that agrees with the bolded.

I'm an older millennial also, but compared to the generation that preceded us we are more conservative on the whole. The previous generation that grew up under Keating and Hawke (let's be honest, mostly Keating) compared to Howard?

Yeah its true. Atleast for the older millenials - we had a finance boom and property boom to distract us as we came out of high school... Gen X had heroin and a recession.

But the 9-11 generation, i.e. the kids who were actual children when that happened, so between about 18-25 now? Totally different kettle of fish. Way to the left. No opportunities. Indifferent to political turmoil and "terrorism" or riots, because its all they have known.

I'm an older millennial also, but compared to the generation that preceded us we are more conservative on the whole. The previous generation that grew up under Keating and Hawke (let's be honest, mostly Keating) compared to Howard?

Yeah its true. Atleast for the older millenials - we had a finance boom and property boom to distract us as we came out of high school... Gen X had heroin and a recession.

But the 9-11 generation, i.e. the kids who were actual children when that happened, so between about 18-25 now? Totally different kettle of fish. Way to the left. No opportunities. Indifferent to political turmoil and "terrorism" or riots, because its all they have known.
In Australia, wouldn't that be Labor's fault? After all, Hawke and Keating did drag Labor away from the left. I guess it depends where you live and what you do, as well. All of my friends have been or are at uni, so I guess they're more likely to be left-leaning.

When I was at uni in the mid 00s I was shocked by how conservative the kiddos were. All little products of Howard's Australia, they were sickening. People love to misquote Churchill's socialist/conservative age quote, but these little punks didn't even fall into the first part of the adage.

In Australia, wouldn't that be Labor's fault? After all, Hawke and Keating did drag Labor away from the left. I guess it depends where you live and what you do, as well. All of my friends have been or are at uni, so I guess they're more likely to be left-leaning.

Yeah this may surprise you but I don't hang around many conservative or right wing people, but I know on the whole they were the majority in my generation. I was one myself.

Thank god I grew out of it in that hotbed of left wing brainwashing, getting a job in finance.

Labor did push the party to the right under those two, and sold out a few core principles. But Howard literally fiddled with the school curriculum to discourage any kind of critical analysis of Australian history at the high school level.

When I was at uni in the mid 00s I was shocked by how conservative the kiddos were. All little products of Howard's Australia, they were sickening. People love to misquote Churchill's socialist/conservative age quote, but these little punks didn't even fall into the first part of the adage.

Most of my peers did the reverse. We all started conservative because, well, that's all we knew - Howard era. Then we spent our late teens and 20's in the real world and realised how bullshit right wing economics was.

Yeah this may surprise you but I don't hang around many conservative or right wing people, but I know on the whole they were the majority in my generation. I was one myself.

Thank god I grew out of it in that hotbed of left wing brainwashing, getting a job in finance.

Labor did push the party to the right under those two, and sold out a few core principles. But Howard literally fiddled with the school curriculum to discourage any kind of critical analysis of Australian history at the high school level.
I dunno, I just haven't had the same experience. The majority of friends I've made have been far from conservative. Although, it sorta makes sense. The first degree I did was a bach of archaeology (I did a few arts subjects as well) and I finish finance at the end of the year. I made many more friends in my archaeology degree.

I just don't know any conservatives in real life.

I dunno, I just haven't had the same experience. The majority of friends I've made have been far from conservative. Although, it sorta makes sense. The first degree I did was a bach of archaeology (I did a few arts subjects as well) and I finish finance at the end of the year. I made many more friends in my archaeology degree.

Experience doesn't really mean anything in these questions though. My experience in an outer suburban seat of Melbourne where most people become tradies at 16 is probably different to yours in going to uni straight from high school.

But on the whole the first millenials (so people who would have finished high school during the Howard years) are more likely to be over the top patriotic (bordering on nationalist) and treat Anzac day as some kind of holy remembrance.

You'll find genuine conservatives at churches and stuff, but they aren't the problem.

The people Contra was referring to are the people who are out smoking ice all weekend and king hitting eachother, then banging on about Australian values and how immigrants are ruining the country. They're not so much conservative in their own behaviour, they just don't like the browns.

Look in the mirror mate. For all your pious acclamations of being above the left/right divide, I've yet to see you take any position beyond a bog standard tory viewpoint. The only person you're fooling is yourself.

Look in the mirror mate. For all your pious acclamations of being above the left/right divide, I've yet to so you take any position beyond a bog standard tory viewpoint. The only person you're fooling is yourself.
Depends on the topic. Other than my support for Trump, I've voted labor/greens at every election. I support gay rights heavily, I care a lot about wealth redistribution, feminism, indigenous Australians, the homeless, getting rid of negative gearing, socialist programs such as medicare, hecs, cheap schooling, I'm very anti-war and becoming anti-capitalist. I don't feel that I ever need to take a position for these things on this board because 90% of this board already has the majority of those positions and get awfully sanctimonious about them, which I find off-putting.

If that's your opinion of me, that's fine. My self-worth doesn't depend on what an echo chamber thinks of me.

Depends on the topic. Other than my support for Trump, I've voted labor/greens at every election. I support gay rights heavily, I care a lot about wealth redistribution, feminism, indigenous Australians, the homeless, getting rid of negative gearing, socialist programs such as medicare, hecs, cheap schooling, I'm very anti-war and becoming anti-capitalist. I don't feel that I ever need to take a position for these things on this board because 90% of this board already has the majority of those positions and get awfully sanctimonious about them, which I find off-putting.

If that's your opinion of me, that's fine. My self-worth doesn't depend on what an echo chamber thinks of me.
It is very difficult, if not impossible, to reconcile your support for Trump with your stated positions though.

You're anti capitalist, support women's rights but are pro Trump, talk me through how you came to this point of view.

It is very difficult, if not impossible, to reconcile your support for Trump with your stated positions though.
It's far from impossible. People support different things for different reasons.
You're anti capitalist, support women's rights but are pro Trump, talk me through how you came to this point of view.
I don't have to support everything about a candidate to support them. The anti-capitalist thing is a bit of a cop out to criticise me over, would you be criticising that if I were a Clinton supporter? Yes, I don't care for the way that Trump stated the grab them by the pussy, nor the allegations of sexual assault. That doesn't entirely preclude me from supporting him because I'm curious to see what he can do as president. That is almost worthless to speak to you about, however, as you will never see anything from anyone else's perspective.

I'm not much different.

I abhor Trump as a President but he is going to accelerate the decline of the USA, so I prefer him to Clinton.

I'd have preferred Sanders, because he's a Socialist who had a genuine plan to right the ship.

I think Trump's reign is dangerous and could be really bad, but he could also force America to improve and unite in their hatred of him. Or they implode and become a religious backwater again while Asia (with Australia hanging off its arse like a sheep dag) takes top spot like normal.

But between Clinton and Trump? It's line ball really. She is ****ing dreadful, and he is probably worse, but could actually usher in change (unintentionally and for horrible reasons).

I guess what I'm saying is, I like the fact that class consciousness is back. And I really like the fact Americans are shutting down airports and states are borderline seceding from the USA. That could only happen under Trump. Also its kind of hilarious just to watch, or it would be if we didn't have our own problems with governance right now.

It's far from impossible. People support different things for different reasons.

I don't have to support everything about a candidate to support them. The anti-capitalist thing is a bit of a cop out to criticise me over, would you be criticising that if I were a Clinton supporter? Yes, I don't care for the way that Trump stated the grab them by the pussy, nor the allegations of sexual assault. That doesn't entirely preclude me from supporting him because I'm curious to see what he can do as president. That is almost worthless to speak to you about, however, as you will never see anything from anyone else's perspective.
Forget the sideshow of 'pussy grabbing', I don't see how you can support feminism and Trump, given his stated position on abortion and women's rights. Or wealth redistribution and his cabinet full of billionaires. Or healthcare and his repeal of healthcare. His actions contradict your stated position on issues in almost every way.