Alphanumeric

Golden State Warriors
I was listening to SEN last week and Cameron White was on talking about the Bushrangers upcoming season. They then started talking about Shane Warne and whether or not he had been to any of the Vic’s training sessions. White said not yet but he would be helping out with some young spinners etc. David Schwarz, Francis Leach and White then went on to say, he was a legend of the game, he needs to come back and help out Victorian cricket, needs to help out with the Australia cricket etc etc.

What I don’t get is that Shane Warne as great as he is, has repeatedly cheated on his wife, has been suspended from the game for being a drug cheat, has been in trouble a shit load of times because of his text messages plus he was involved in passing information to bookmaker and was fined $8000 for it.

But he is still classed as a legend of the game and a good bloke.

Then on the other hand you have Ben Cousins. We all know he has had an issue with drugs and underworld figures.

My question is how come Shane Warne is still held in such high regard after everything he has done??

I was listening to SEN last week and Cameron White was on talking about the Bushrangers upcoming season. They then started talking about Shane Warne and whether or not he had been to any of the Vic’s training sessions. White said not yet but he would be helping out with some young spinners etc. David Schwarz, Francis Leach and White then went on to say, he was a legend of the game, he needs to come back and help out Victorian cricket, needs to help out with the Australia cricket etc etc.

What I don’t get is that Shane Warne as great as he is, has repeatedly cheated on his wife, has been suspended from the game for being a drug cheat, has been in trouble a shit load of times because of his text messages plus he was involved in passing information to bookmaker and was fined $8000 for it.

But he is still classed as a legend of the game and a good bloke.

Then on the other hand you have Ben Cousins. We all know he has had an issue with drugs and underworld figures.

My question is how come Shane Warne is still held in such high regard after everything he has done??

Quite simple, Warne is from the Eastern states which control the media, Ben Cousins is not. The media influences significnatly peoples opinions (particlulary teh dumb masses)

None of Warne's indiscretions are considered as serious as being addicted to ice and possible cocaine.

Fair enough, too.

Quite simple, Warne is from the Eastern states which control the media, Ben Cousins is not. The media influences significnatly peoples opinions (particlulary teh dumb masses)

When are you interstaters going to get that rather large chip off your shoulders? :rolleyes:

For what it's worth, I think they are both tossers.

I dont class him as a good bloke. I know he is a great player but as a person he is a complete w***er.
He snubbed me for an autograph when i was 8, then went to give autographs to two girls, since then i havent liked him, likewise my dad

One took Rec Drugs
One took masking agents to hide possible Preformance enhancing drugs, he might be innocent, but it was incredibly stupid on his behalf

Warne is simply a simple minded fool who thinks with his dick

Actually that describes a massive % of the Aussie male demographic!!! :D

Warne was one of the best players ever in a sport played around the world and in a team all of Australia support. Cousins is a good AFL player but not the best and he's from 1 team out of 16.

Warne also appeals to the bogans of the country with his character.

Warne also played for AUSTRALIA, as opposed to one of 16 teams in aust.

on-field him and cousins are/were absolute guns.

Warne = one of the best EVER
Cousins = one of the better players of his era

Add to that, Warne wasn't a criminal. His drug was not really a drug, it was a masking agent... it was however not illegal. He was not always pursued by the police, he stayed within the law.

Cousins broke the law on many occasions, had bust ups with his team mates etc.

Cousins is arrogant, and never seemed remorseful for what he did. His such is life tattoo and the way he waved it around against Port in that final was proof. It was a stupid stunt to pull.

Warne, whilst he continually does his stupid lil things, seems remoresful, doesn't go around acting like an arrogant tosser on the field (sure he sledges and all, but that's not being arrogant. A little bit of arrogance is ok, Cousins takes it well over the top)

WTF:confused:
"sorry i cheated on you....again...it will never happen again
*2 weeks later*
"sorry i cheated on you....again...it will never happen again
Ive met both Cousins and Warne, while Cousins obviously has some problems hes a very nice decent sort of bloke, while Warne is a tossbag

Whats their to be sarcastic about? Big difference between cheating on your wife and taking drugs such as cocaine or ice

Yeah I know there is a big difference.

Would you be more upset with your father for doing a line of coke or cheating on your mother??

Warne = one of the best EVER
Cousins = one of the better players of his era

Add to that, Warne wasn't a criminal. His drug was not really a drug, it was a masking agent... it was however not illegal. He was not always pursued by the police, he stayed within the law.

Cousins broke the law on many occasions, had bust ups with his team mates etc.

Cousins is arrogant, and never seemed remorseful for what he did. His such is life tattoo and the way he waved it around against Port in that final was proof. It was a stupid stunt to pull.

Remorse?? He cheated on his misses again only 4 weeks ago.

They were not together at the time...

Anyway Warnie is the typical bloke. Who smokes drinks shags women and then goes out and take 8 wickets the next day. Thats why we love him.

Apart from the bookies thing, which cost him the chance of captaincy, he has done nothing illegal. Most woman would leave the man after cheating once, Simone is as much to blame the 2nd 3rd 4th etc time as Warne. It is obvious he is not the "marrying kind" If I was a woman I would not like him, but lets be honest, he lives the life most Aussie blokes would love.

I have met him a few times, even had a few beers with the man. One on One he is a normal bloke.

They were not together at the time...

Anyway Warnie is the typical bloke. Who smokes drinks shags women and then goes out and take 8 wickets the next day. Thats why we love him.

Apart from the bookies thing, which cost him the chance of captaincy, he has done nothing illegal. Most woman would leave the man after cheating once, Simone is as much to blame the 2nd 3rd 4th etc time as Warne. It is obvious he is not the "marrying kind" If I was a woman I would not like him, but lets be honest, he lives the life most Aussie blokes would love.

I have met him a few times, even had a few beers with the man. One on One he is a normal bloke.

So Warney said.

Can't believe your blaming her :)

I've met Ben a lot of times, I've had a few beers with him and one on one his is a normal bloke.

So Warney said.

I've met Ben a lot of times, I've had a few beers with him and one on one his is a normal bloke.
Why would she go back. I doubt my missus would. But then I dont have the ca$h or status of Warne. Maybe better looking though ;)

I have heard Benny is a likeable lad too. He may be pissing his career away, but the comparison between them is justified. Benny just taken it a few steps too far.

When are you interstaters going to get that rather large chip off your shoulders? :rolleyes:

For what it's worth, I think they are both tossers.

Re-read what you have just posted, genius, and then wonder why those from outside Victoria wonder they matter to the Melbourne-based footy media and supporters.

Look, it's all about the sycophantic relationship between the ex-player/commentator and the good-old boys at the club. Happens in every code.

How likely are you to slag off one of your own, from your home town? Perth is an awfully long-way away for the average suburbanite.

Whats their to be sarcastic about? Big difference between cheating on your wife and taking drugs such as cocaine or ice

Yes there is. And I know which one I think is more immoral.

People like you are a good example of the twisted morality some anti-drug people have. It's fine to go out cheating on your wife or getting drunk and getting into fights but don't dare take any drugs or you are the scum of the earth.

So Warney said.

He cheated on his wife. Wow. Wouldn't be the first to do that. That's between them anyway. He certainly seems a genuinely decent bloke.

I can tell you who would be considered the better bloke by a long, long way, and it wouldn't be Cousins. If you thought otherwise there's either something wrong or you have a West Coast agenda.

Can't even believe this comparison is even being made. Fair dinkum. suppose we are on BigFooty where the rules are you check your brains in at the keyboard before typing.

Warne has got off lightly for accumulated "offenses" in the public's eyes. It's hardly an east v west thing though in spite of what some dimwits might think. Lillee is still regarded as a legend in spite of a few incidents. I think Lillee and Warne are seen as Aussie icons and Cousins is seen as a badly behaved spilt brat. How true those perceptions are is perhaps debatable. The other factor is that the cricketers don’t play for someone who is a rival to anyone most people support. State Cricket is all but a non event.