Opinion Cricket thread

I never played State but did attend a few State teams travelling here (this is years ago) and I literally didn't want to enter the nets.

Sounds pissweak I know but I knew I wasn't good enough. I just wanted to survive and I sort of did.....ha

ha ha. know the feeling well ! i was playing schools cricket and we played against a school that had the quickest guy for his age in nz. he was frightening.
this was back in the mid 80's so helmets at school level were just starting to happen. anyway long story short we had one helmet for the team, and i was the guy without it facing this dude.
certainly focused the mind !

Back in the 80’s , it was a badge of honour to face the quicks and not wear a helmet ⛑, but it was a motto for a fast bowler (which was me) if you can’t bowl them out knock them out (bouncer city)

not a badge of honour for me. if i had a helmet I would have worn it !

Yadav out for the series.

Indian preferred pace attack is now whittled down to (the 178cm ;) ) Jasprit Bumrah. I suspect Saini comes in.

They can bring back Bishen Bedi and Australia will still struggle to make 200.

Yadav out for the series.

Indian preferred pace attack is now whittled down to (the 178cm ;) ) Jasprit Bumrah. I suspect Saini comes in.

Luckily for India their pace stocks have never been higher, go back 20 years and they would be screwed.

We had two quicks in my team. One was quite a nice bloke.

When one of the opposition walked out to bat wearing a helmet (first time we ever saw one) the not so nice fast bowler couldn't get his hands on the ball quickly enough. The helmet might as well have had a bullseye painted on it.

We had two quicks in my team. One was quite a nice bloke.

When one of the opposition walked out to bat wearing a helmet (first time we ever saw one) the not so nice fast bowler couldn't get his hands on the ball quickly enough. The helmet might as well have had a bullseye painted on it.

I opened the bowling and had that attitude in the early to mid 80’s. Loved it! Never wore a helmet batting at 4 myself until the day I was put in to open so we could get off to a flyer. Copped 6 bouncers in a row on a wet deck with the 6th knocking my helmet off as it reared sharply. That was in the days of the perspex visor, which was a distraction if anything.

Bye bye helmet for good again after that.

I opened the bowling and had that attitude in the early to mid 80’s. Loved it! Never wore a helmet batting at 4 myself until the day I was put in to open so we could get off to a flyer. Copped 6 bouncers in a row on a wet deck with the 6th knocking my helmet off as it reared sharply. That was in the days of the perspex visor, which was a distraction if anything.

I was like that too, and I actually broke a batsmans helmet in my mid 20's, but I eventually worked out that bowling a good line and swinging the ball got me twice as many wickets.

I only wore a helmet in my 30's after the first time I got dinged in the head. I figure once you get hit, it's time to wear one.

Yeah. Agree about the perspex visors. They were terrible.

I did end up getting a helmet that had the perspex. It also had perspex side flaps that could be used as an alternative. In hindsight, these were useless.

Obviously, we'd put the helmet on in the nets (to get used to wearing it). Our own quicks suddenly started bowling at the head FFS! Also in those days the helmets might have taken a beating but bad luck - just keep using it unless it had a big crack. Even then, a bit of tape and she'll be right.

I had one coach who used to complain about this and I could never work it out.

Sure if a bloke came up and stated he'd like a few somewhere so he could work on a weakness in his game, but otherwise I figured training was to prepare our own batsman for match conditions.

The ones who could seriously pull & hook never seemed to mind.

Sure if a bloke came up and stated he'd like a few somewhere so he could work on a weakness in his game, but otherwise I figured training was to prepare our own batsman for match conditions.

I used to face Ewan Chatfield a fair bit in the nets as played for the same club . He didn't bowl short but sh%t he gave the thigh pad a hammering. Not overly quick ( quick enough though) but used to just nip it back from just short of a length. Always pleased to get out of his net
One of the best blokes to grace a cricket field too. He was just as happy having a beer with the social grades as he was with his senior team mates.
He also used to come back from international tours and take his turn behind the bar or turn the snags on the bbq. Dont think you'd get that from current international cricketers !

I used to face Ewan Chatfield a fair bit in the nets as played for the same club . He didn't bowl short but sh%t he gave the thigh pad a hammering. Not overly quick ( quick enough though) but used to just nip it back from just short of a length. Always pleased to get out of his net
One of the best blokes to grace a cricket field too. He was just as happy having a beer with the social grades as he was with his senior team mates.
He also used to come back from international tours and take his turn behind the bar or turn the snags on the bbq. Dont think you'd get that from current international cricketers !

My bro in law plays at the same club as Nathan Astle and Craig McMillan. Craig McMillan came back to the club after international duties and plonked down a big kit bag full of bats, pads and gloves and said "hear you go boys, help yourselves." Turns out the dodgy bugger had a heap of illegal bats. This was before restrictions on bat dimensions came into place. They were 2 pieces of willow glued together into a massive sleeper.

ha wouldnt surprise me with him. he was always pushing the boundaries !
I was listening to an interview with him on sports radio a couple of years ago and he was just away with the fairies, luckily the announcer knew he was a serious diabetic and got onto his wife in time to get him sorted ! It made for bizarre radio though !

ha wouldnt surprise me with him. he was always pushing the boundaries !
I was listening to an interview with him on sports radio a couple of years ago and he was just away with the fairies, luckily the announcer knew he was a serious diabetic and got onto his wife in time to get him sorted ! It made for bizarre radio though !

And he is the inspiration for Shane Warne's stupid hat that he's wearing atm. 😁

My problem was I couldn't bat.

So even a long hop outside off stump would be "working on my weakness".

I reckon Michael Clark would have taken his turn popping the cork on a bottle of Moet on James Packet's yacht. Don't be too quick to judge Kiwi!

My problem was I couldn't bat.

So even a long hop outside off stump would be "working on my weakness".

Ditto. If I got that same long hop outside off stump, it was tricky to find a way to leg glance it - since that was my only real scoring shot!

yeah he's gone a bit peaky blinder on it hasn't he ! Maybe the hair transplants aren't working too good now and he's got the covers on

He reckons he is wearing it as tribute to new players to the Baggy Green which he openly hated.

It's a bit strange but I don't mind Warney.

yeah he's gone a bit peaky blinder on it hasn't he ! Maybe the hair transplants aren't working too good now and he's got the covers on
Warnie_Maybe.jpg

He needs a haircut after being in lockdown for so long. Apparently after the treatment it's better to go to the Brazillian Barber rather than a regular one.