Crows come to Blows!

• Thread starter Thread starter Macca19

If anyone saw the news Nigel Smart and Nathan Bassett went toe to toe for a while there at training this arvo.

Both landed some pretty good punches.

Yeah I seen it on the Ch 10 news just before I think Bassett thought Smarty tackled him a bit rough and Bassett snotted him one but Smarty gave him a fair old wack back,they aperently both apolagised afterwards so what happened happened and thats the end of it:)I'd be worried though if your were the opposition side, I mean if team mates are going to belt each other what are we going to do to the opposition???????Look out the Crows are coming:):)

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Yeah I seen it on the Ch 10 news just before I think Bassett thought Smarty tackled him a bit rough and Bassett snotted him one but Smarty gave him a fair old wack back,they aperently both apolagised afterwards so what happened happened and thats the end of it:)I'd be worried though if your were the opposition side, I mean if team mates are going to belt each other what are we going to do to the opposition???????Look out the Crows are coming:):)

A hot day, a hard workou,t a tough tussle, some tempers flaring then an apology afterward - no drama.

It does seem to show that the competition for places in the team is really intense though.

Originally posted by ok.crows
A hot day, a hard workou,t a tough tussle, some tempers flaring then an apology afterward - no drama.

It does seem to show that the competition for places in the team is really intense though.

While I was watching the scratch match last Friday (which was a lot lot better than going back to #@%$# work today) there were quite a few tempers lost with a couple thrown for good measure - although not up to the standard of today's!! :D

The players are obviously feeling the pressure of competition for places, which while bringing out the best in them footywise, puts them a little on edge as well, and makes them competitive in every respect. However as ok.crows says, no drama afterwards.

If you look at the players who don't get picked or do get delisted since Gary Ayres has been with the Crows, there's one thing that stands out - he has no time for soft players. In 1999 and 2000 the Crows were soft pretenders. Over the 2 plus seasons he has been with us Ayresy has gradually got rid of some softies and changed the game plan to be much harder at the ball more consistently. The players now realize that soft is not acceptable.

The Crows will be as hard at it in 2003 as the very best of them!! Bring it on - can't wait!! :)

Pfffffft.

When I hear "Mattner and Gallagher come to blows" then I'll get excited.

Players fighting for pozzies and taking their footy seriously. Beautiful.

Originally posted by macca23
If you look at the players who don't get picked or do get delisted since Gary Ayres has been with the Crows, there's one thing that stands out - he has no time for soft players. In 1999 and 2000 the Crows were soft pretenders. Over the 2 plus seasons he has been with us Ayresy has gradually got rid of some softies and changed the game plan to be much harder at the ball more consistently. The players now realize that soft is not acceptable.

Goodbye Ben Marsh....anybody else that comes to mind in the soft category; that could be considered in the top ?30 players at the club?

Re the scuffle......Im not sure that its healthy. Basset does strike me as a dummy spitting schoolboy at times though - He probably regrets his action

Originally posted by topjars
Goodbye Ben Marsh....anybody else that comes to mind in the soft category; that could be considered in the top ?30 players at the club?

Re the scuffle......Im not sure that its healthy. Basset does strike me as a dummy spitting schoolboy at times though - He probably regrets his action

And Smart is seen as quite aloof and a bit of a knob by some. Some of his comments in the past have struck me as quite arrogant. Maybe he's been niggling at the hound behind the scenes.

Who knows. Hopefully it is just "the competitive juices".

Originally posted by topjars

Had a look at the whole list, and the only 2 players on our list now that could be described as soft are Marsh and Schell, both fringe players, and both in jeopardy at the end of 2003. Schell still has a year on his contract which saved him and Marsh was saved by being six foot umpteen inches tall and the only back-up to our 2 ruckmen. Ayresy has done a great job cleaning out the softies overall.

As for the scuffle, TJ, while I think it's a non-event really, I do agree with your comments on Bassett coming across as a dummy spitting schoolboy at times.

He definitely spat the dummy in the wrong direction on this occasion!! It came back twice as hard!! :D

All good healthy fun really. This sort of stuff is bound to happen and I don't think anything can be read into it that is not positive. The players are obviously training hard, they are pumped up to be aggressive at the man and aggressive in the tackle and that's exactly what I want to see on the field this year. Imagine our forward line with Carey, Burns,Welsh, Burton etc. all tackling hard to keep the ball in the forward line and hurting the opposition defenders every time they get near the ball. This in my opinion the big difference that Ayres has made to the side. No longer does the ball go into attack only to see it come straight back out again. All that huddle at the kick in finally paid off with the forwards learning to be accountable for their opponent and adding a defensive side to their game.

Originally posted by Macca19
If anyone saw the news Nigel Smart and Nathan Bassett went toe to toe for a while there at training this arvo.

Both landed some pretty good punches.

It actually made the evening news here in QLD! It's the only decent bit of AFL news I've seen in a week! ONYA BASS!

flyin' out tomorrow!

Jerome