2nds Crows in the SANFL - Round 6

• Thread starter Thread starter neddy36

Motlop actually smashed that Central players head into the fence that is why the Dogs players including Gowans fired up.

Motlop then got shoved over the fence and had his head near the ground, a North player came over and gave a Centrals player a bit of a shove and ended up getting kicked out despite trying to help protect the scone of Motters.

Also if any of you posters work for Weslo I hope you get the aids. Thanks.

Couldn't get there today. What was the crowd and were we in it at all?

Griffin had a great game for Centrals. Kick a goal and was always in it. Gunstan kicked a ripper goal in the second quarter from a tight angle, had a chance to kick a second from the identical spot in the last quarter, but passed it off to Switala.

Donnelly had an absolute stinker in the reseves

Couldn't get there today. What was the crowd and were we in it at all?

Crowd was just under 3200. North were never really in it and were lucky Centrals only kicked 1 goal in the first quarter. North were very undisciplined, giving away a lot of silly frees.

Gowans is an arseh*le, he threw Motlop into thr crowd in the 3rd quater, and then b!tched about it and got the North fan sticking up for Motlop kicked out of the ground.

The umps stole 2 goals off of North by calling frees off the ball that wern't there while we had set shots 20-30 out right infront

Very poor comments.

It was Motlop that started that, and that North supporter you're defending should be banned from SANFL matches for life. Spectators physically attacking players is just not on and I'm appalled you condone that sort of behaviour.

As for the ump stealing two goals from North, as I previously posted, that was from poor North discipline. Today was one of the better umpired matches this year.

Very poor comments.

It was Motlop that started that, and that North supporter you're defending should be banned from SANFL matches for life. Spectators physically attacking players is just not on and I'm appalled you condone that sort of behaviour.

As for the ump stealing two goals from North, as I previously posted, that was from poor North discipline. Today was one of the better umpired matches this year.
I didnt see the incident, now that I know of it, I think I was wrong

all I knew was, people were calling for the umps for something behind the play

I turn my head, Motlop is on the ground on the outside of the bench, Gowans is trying to get to him and push him down, while a north fan was trying to push him away, that's all i saw. I just assumed the fan was defending Motlop.

The only other bit of stuff I dont like seeing on a football field was in the 4th I beleive. Griffin landed flat on his arse, and was laying almost motionless and Alleway picked him up a few inches and pushed him back into the ground. Could really of done damage if he was hurt. Lucky he wasn't

Armstrong - cheap touches, nothing to brag about
Gunston - 2 cheap marks on the goalline leading to 1 goal, not much
Griffin - 1 cheap goal, not much
Wright - 1 of North's best but that's isnt really an accomplishment today

injuries - Armstrong went off with what looked like a right knee (early-mid 4th)

Gowans is an arseh*le, he threw Motlop into thr crowd in the 3rd quater, and then b!tched about it and got the North fan sticking up for Motlop kicked out of the ground.

The umps stole 2 goals off of North by calling frees off the ball that wern't there while we had set shots 20-30 out right infront
1 boundry umpire made a pathetic call, that led to a goal for Centrals (called out of bounds on full when it was in, hell, even a boundry umpire with an unimpared veiw didn't call it)

that was the 2nd worst umpiring game I've seen ever. (behind St Kilda vs Adelaide last year)

It was a miracle we were still in range of Centrals at 3quater time
Were you at the game mate??? Griffin had a fantastic game!!!!

12th out of the 21 Central players in possessions
and 40% of the games hitouts against a team with 3 forwards sharing the ruck

impressive. I bow to the awesomeness of one Jonathon Griffin

Video is up. Wright, Thompson and Armstrong.

Anyone else notice that we rarely put up video of players who are promoted to the AFC that upcoming week - perhaps to avoid opposition scouts getting a look? If my conspiracy theory is right, Griff will be brought in this week. Griff actually has a good record against the tiges....:o

Luke Thompson looks an interesting player from the video.

Seemed to have average hands and goal kicking ability (what else is new) but above average footy smarts and mobility.

Will be interesting to see where he ends up.

Looked like a forward to me on Sunday. Good hands and a nice kick. Good size aswell.

Luke Thompson looks an interesting player from the video.

Seemed to have average hands and goal kicking ability (what else is new) but above average footy smarts and mobility.

Will be interesting to see where he ends up.

Agreed - Wright and Armstrong looked alright in the highlights but Thompson had a real spark about him. He's got some zip for a tall guy too, and I love the way he would fight for the ball at ground level and spring straight back up. Seems to have a sense of urgency about the way he plays that will suit AFL level football :thumbsu:

Agreed ....but his disposal was awful and a long way from AFL standard

Maybe why he ended being rookied rather than taken in the national draft

But looks very mobile and a good mark ......so lots to work with

Agreed ....but his disposal was awful and a long way from AFL standard

Maybe why he ended being rookied rather than taken in the national draft

But looks very mobile and a good mark ......so lots to work with

I always watch the SANFL form of Crows listed players with an eye for how the passage of play would play out in the AFL. Thompson's disposal was kind of average when he won the ball at ground level, but when you see where he was kicking the ball, there were rarely players actually giving him options to kick to, so he had little left than a "kick and hope" option. In the instances when he took marks, he was usually happy to move the ball sideways to a player in a better position, which is precisely what is done at AFL level (for better or worse :o).

I often find when I watch footage of a Crows-listed player at SANFL level that their best passages of play are those that simply would never occur at AFL level, where a player takes a ball in a pack, is tackled but somehow spins out of it and gets free. You can just tell in some instances that the tackle would stick at AFL level, or if the players tried to spin free he would be tackled by a second player. Likewise, some holding the ball frees that are given at SANFL level are not given at AFL level.

What I found when I watched Thompson's highlights was that he was playing a style of game more suitable to the AFL than the SANFL, and that was one of the reasons I was heartened by the footage.