Macjoe

Got your Back
No nominations yet, but the RS situation is actually pretty rosy.

According to footywire stats several of our young players, particularly Armstrong, are in the top ten mix.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-adelaide-crows--tony-armstrong
"2010 Statistical Rankings
dot.gif
Ranked 6th in Marks Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Kicks Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 9th among rising stars in Disposals Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 1st among rising stars in Marks Per Game
dot.gif
Ranked 2nd among rising stars in Dreamteam Score Per Game

Season Highlights
dot.gif
21 disps (12 kicks 9 hballs) and 10 marks in Rd 12 47-pt loss to Hawthorn at Aurora Stadium (12 Jun 2010)
dot.gif
25 disps (20 kicks 5 hballs), 13 marks and 4 tackles in Rd 8 9-pt loss to North Melbourne at Etihad Stadium (15 May 2010)"
He must be in line for a nomination soon. :thumbsu:

Schmidt, Pets and Jaensch aren't doing badly in comparison to others, either. We just need them to have a nomination-good game! :)

:cool: BTW, good reading the board this morning. Carl's done a top transcript; (almost) general agreement that Wallace is a w***er and Truck's a good FB; some funny stuff in the Looong range forecast; and Crow-mo's back :D.

Looking forward to Fab Phil's nomination when he returns.
I know a "Sandiland shirt front" isn't enough to win a Nomination but it should remain in the minds of the selectors.

I'd say Sloane probably looking the most likely followed by Armstrong. But having said that, there's some ripper kids around the league that are probably currently ahead in the pecking order for a nomination right now.

If you just look at the Rising Stars average marks per game, he's number 1, with Schmidt and Jaensch right behind him at 2 and 3.

Yeah, great, isn't it. Of course, we've been playing defensively a lot, which contributes.

The "Ranked 6th in Marks per game" is not from the Rising Stars, its ALL players in the comp this year.

No surprises our youth playing in defence have taken a lot of marks :o What is surprising is how well they've handled constantly being under seige. Other than a couple of blues from Schmidt, they've all looked very composed when the ball has been in their area this year :thumbsu:

Even though we had the three nominations last year, we've seen far greater volume of kids debut this year that look like making the grade which is great news for the future :thumbsu:

If you just look at the Rising Stars average marks per game, he's number 1, with Schmidt and Jaensch right behind him at 2 and 3.

Well when our entire game plan consists of chipping the ball around in our backline until the opposition players forget to set up the zone properly due to sheer boredom, this is hardly surprising.:o

I still think that Armstrong deserved the nomination for his performance against North Melbourne a few weeks ago.

A nomination will happen at some point now that he is playing regular football.

You mean the one he got dropped after?:o

Davis or Sloane for mine must be getting close. Davis should find one once he gets back, has been consistent all year and the selectors generally nominate those who've been consistent as opposed to one hit wonders towards the end of the year. Sloane's been getting better and better with every performance, can't be far off now.

Not sure about Gysberts though. Played like a superstar for two weeks to get a nom only to fall straight back to earth the next week. We'll get to see this week how he compares to our youngsters.

Yep, but it's a weekly award, he wont win the medal, but he deserved the nom.

As consistant as Davis has been, he hasn't had a MASSIVE game (stats wise, which is basically what this is, a DT suck fest), so he'll go unnoticed until then.

and Armstrong isn't a big enough name to bring his big stats to the headlines.

Armstrong will hopefully get one. If he keeps getting the amount of ball he's been getting, he'll surely start to get noticed. Footy media loves high stats, it's only a matter of time before they start pumping him up, as he's a natural ball winner.

Davis is such a natural footballer, the only thing letting him down is he's playing defence in a team that has been losing most games. As soon as we have one of those really defensive games where we end up on top, I reckon Philthy should get a nomination.

Sloane has looked the goods the last few weeks, he's a real chance too.

Hope one of Sloane or Jaensch can snag a nomination for this round although I get the feeling Rockliff will get the nod for playing at a consistently high level over the last few rounds.

If the players role in the team is taken into consideration, I reckon Jaensch is a real chance this week. He kicked 3 goals as a forward with a disposal efficiency somewhere around 90%. That was a better performance than Porplyzia has put in all year.

Rockliff has played well for the last 4 weeks, so i'd think he'd be favourite. Redden might also be an outside chance. the only thing going against them is Brisbane lost, but not sure if that gets taken into account.

Jaensch kicked 3 goals with 5 tackles and 4 inside 50s, while Sloane had 12 contested possessions (out of total 22 possies), 5 inside 50s, 3 clearances and 4 tackles.

The competition is a joke, but I do like to see our kids get some recognition. Sloane in particular was fantastic today and that makes it three good games in a row.

That said, Rockliff has been in great form for the Lions. Really rate the kid and it would be foolish not to give him the nom this week, regardless of the fact that we won and Brisbane lost.

OK, Rockliff got the Round 13 nomination, fair enough. That does rather clear the way for one of ours - Sloane, Armstrong, Davis, Jaensch or Hendo, even Pets or Schmidt (if they get back in).

They all have some runs on the board, so an outstanding game from any of them could clinch it.

And in the case of Sloane, Davis or Armstrong - just a strong game could get it for them.

On another tack altogether, only three players on our whole list have not yet made their AFL debut: Talia, Shaw and Craig; and you could argue they would be in contention if not injured, especially Shaw.

Add to that the fact that we currently have 3 upgraded Rookies, 2 in the side, and the third close.

Have we ever had such a list? From memory, it seems to me in the past we always had 6 -10 semi-unknowns wallowing away in SANFL reserves, with little chance of getting an AFL run. Now, leaving aside Jacky, every other player on the list (possible exception of Craig?) could be considered, and 3 of the 4 still left on the Rookie list are playing good footy in the SANFL - if we had any room left we'd be considering upgrading Thompson and Wright!

Indeed, the Future is Now! :thumbsu:

Davis and Sloane are the 2 most likely of our eligibles to get a Rising Star Nom IMO as they have a genuine impact on a game.

One really good game by either would probably clinch a Nom IMO.

I'd suggest that Davis & Sloane could both earn a nomination before the year is out. Jaensch would be an outside chance, particularly if he can back up his 3-goal haul with another.

Armstrong is the best of the rest, but I don't like his chances. Henderson, Petrenko and Schmidt have no chance.

Oh.. and Craig was doing a good job of leading North Adelaide's ruck until he got injured. At this stage he doesn't have any other strings to his bow, so he would be a replacement for Maric or Griffin who are both pure rucks, but he's unlikely to replace any of the other KPPs. I'd suggest his chances of getting an AFL debut this year would be very slim - partly because of his injury, partly because our rucks are in good form. That said, he's certainly not a magoos specialist like Jacky and Donnelly.

Jaensch earnt the admiration of the commentary team very quickly last week. Then again, so did Henderson. If Jaensch's form from last week continues he'll likely get a late round nomination when there are not many eligible kids left.

I'm with you on Craig too Vader, he's not yet proven that he has what it takes to make the jump to AFL standard, but he's no lemon yet either. Being injured most of the season hasn't helped, and his stocks with the club are helped by them seeing him as a potential part time KPD. The club makes a strong point of rating ruckmen with extra strings to their bow. Rendell's comment was that, given a couple of years, he'll be the physically strongest ruckman in the comp, having seen him up close I believe it because despite his lack of height the guy is a legitimate monster. Injuries have ruined his year but really, this wasn't likely to be his year anyway. Come next year we'll have a clearer picture of the real worth of Craig.