Jerome

Adelaide Crows, Centrals
As mentioned in another thread, we need to win a minimum of 2 games between Rounds 5 to 8. Our lack of commitment last night has placed this game against the Roos as a must win game for the Crows.

I reckon we will see the club play a practice match or two at training this week to lift our intensity and improve our skill level.

The scary thing about our recent losses to the Power is that it never looks like we learn anything from them. It's time we started and that has to begin this week.

I'm worried that if we put in another poor display this week, we could have a repeat of last years debacle at the Gabba next Round.

Delivery to the forward line, accuracy in front of goals and the forwards placing pressure on our opponents has to be spot on.

Our midfielders need a real kick up the bum this week and our ruckmen must have an impact around the ground. Biglands up forward last night was totally useless.

Massie should be rewarded for his consistant good form in the SANFL. He's had a month of footy under his belt, he should be right to play.

Other possible inclusions could be James Begley and Marsh or Rutten for some height depending on how we cover Basset or handle our forward line structure.

Provided the Crows come to play this should be a top game. I rate the Roos and they'll be a bit dirty about their loss last night. They have a fair few reasons to be fired up about this match, so it should be great encounter.

Jerome

Spot on Jerome.
This game now becomes crucial.

I couldnt begin to imagine the influence the "Carey" factor will have on this game.

The North players will trot out the old cliche of.. Not really, we havent spoke about it at all, we just want to go out there and play footy and win

Well Im not buying that. Telstra Paddock will be a sellout. Get there early footy fans; the King will play.

OUT: Gallagher, Bassett, Mattner
IN: Massie, Doughty, Crowell

Originally posted by topjars
Spot on Jerome.
This game now becomes crucial.

I couldnt begin to imagine the influence the "Carey" factor will have on this game.

The North players will trot out the old cliche of.. Not really, we havent spoke about it at all, we just want to go out there and play footy and win

Well Im not buying that. Telstra Paddock will be a sellout. Get there early footy fans; the King will play.

The club is saying this morning that Bassett will play next week,

Presuming that proves to be correct

OUT: Gallagher, Mattner
IN: Massie, Doughty

Hye, just a hypothetical question.
Do you think Reilly may have had a chance to get back in the side if he didnt get injured on friday?? He looked set to have a blinder and he already had three kicks and a mark in the three minutes he did play in. He also had the first break out of the centre, with great speed. If he went un-injured, I think he wouldve had a beauty.
Would there have been a chance for an inclusion? considering the crows only really dropped him to get a bit of confidence and a full game of footy.

I don't think we should overact & make too many changes (as much as I'm p issed off with last night's performance).

Massie shoud come in (finally) for Mattner, as he is more experienced & Marty looks out of form to me.

Not sure what Dogga's form is like with South, but it would have to very good to swap with Gallagher. Gags did make a couple of bad mistakes (but wasn't alone here). He also did some useful things too. Got 13 possessions & only spent 1.5 quarters on the park.

My concern is with the fitness of both Stevens & Carey. If both are struggling can we afford to play them both? Some thought may need to be given to resting the one who is most injured (Stevo IMO) & bring in another option such as Rutten or Hentschel (but please, please no Ben Marsh)

Originally posted by topjars

Thanks for the tip Macca 23. I hope Bass does come up, if not we need a Plan B.

I am unsure about Crowell, Topjars. The AFC's Injured List states that he has a knee injury. http://afc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=86871

He didn't play seniors for the WWT Eagles so I'd say he is not fit yet.

Sunday Mail states that Marsh and Rutten have both suffered injuries to their thumb. Our tall key possie players stocks are looking a bit thin.

If Bassett does not come up and Crowell, Marsh and Rutten are injured what have we got as back up?

Would Aiden Parker be a chance - can we lift him from the rookie list? http://afc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=133758

Hentschel and Bock are other possibilities, but lack of experience and strength may count against them. Bock's kicking for goal yesterday would'nt have helped his chances either.

Jerome

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

Not sure what Dogga's form is like with South, but it would have to very good to swap with Gallagher. Gags did make a couple of bad mistakes (but wasn't alone here). He also did some useful things too. Got 13 possessions & only spent 1.5 quarters on the park.

Has been consistant.

Named in South Adelaide's best against Norwood on Friday night.
And considering that he didn't in the first placed get dropped by something too severe (wasn't really out-of-form) should come back into the side for the game against North Melbourne.

Yep, I think this week will be a big one - I bought my ticket last week because I was a bit worried about a sell out at Telstra and given the ticket fiasco of the Richmond/Saints game a couple of weeks I thought I'd better be safe than sorry.

We failed miserably and yet - 12 points :rolleyes: and we got within 7 in the final quarter. At least we are not lying down and just letting teams run over us when we are not playing well. Still it is frustrating that we can' t crack a win over them - however our day will come soon!

My info is that Stevo wasn't injured last night he was just taken off because he was being beaten by Paxman - but why was he left off so long? He is our main goal kicker and we need him on the field.

We need to bounce back against the Roos. It should be a great game and lets hope we can get another win on the board!

k
xx

Originally posted by Jerome

Our midfielders need a real kick up the bum this week and our ruckmen must have an impact around the ground. Biglands up forward last night was totally useless.

Biglands wasn't actually put up forward he was on the ground as a ruck and drifted down there when none of our forwards were doing too well. His kick was a shocker but at least he actually took the mark which is more than I can say for some of our forwards.

Re: Re: Crows V Roos

Originally posted by footychick
Biglands wasn't actually put up forward he was on the ground as a ruck and drifted down there when none of our forwards were doing too well. His kick was a shocker but at least he actually took the mark which is more than I can say for some of our forwards.

Have to disagree. I'm sure he had a stint up forward. I remember clearly after a goal being scored that Clarke took the centre bounce ruckwork while Biglands was positioned up forward. Not that this move was worth a crumpet either.

Why the hell we never went all small up forward once it wasn't working with FOUR talls is beyond me. :(

Originally posted by DaveW
I don't know why everyone is bagging Gallagher, he tried hard. My changes...

OUT: Clarke, Carey, Mattner
IN: Marsh, Rutten, Massie

Dave, I hope you are kidding about Marsh coming back :( no way known should he be brought back - no matter how poorly we played.

k
xx

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
Dave, I hope you are kidding about Marsh coming back :( no way known should he be brought back - no matter how poorly we played.

k
xx
I'm stirring a bit. I know how much everyone dislikes Big Ben. :p But I also think Clarke needs to have more influence in general play. If he's not up to that its time to give someone else a go.

Re: Re: Re: Crows V Roos

Originally posted by macca23
Have to disagree. I'm sure he had a stint up forward.

He did. He was up there to replace Carey for a while. He was rubbish.

Dave, I think Marsh and Rutten could be injured, todays paper states they have injured their thumb - Marsh have played yesterday with a crack in his hand according to the paper. We should know by tomorrow how bad their injuries are.

Good news is that Bass only had a mild concussion and it looks like he will play.

Jerome

I don't know why everyone is bagging Gallagher, he tried hard. My changes...

Marsh? Marsh? <MARSH???

Silly idea

Clarke had a bad night but he is five times the player that Marsh is

Marsh is injured anyway and so is Rutten.

Massie to come in for Mattner is my only change.

Assuming The Hound is fit...

OUT - Mattner (Why the hell was he in?).

IN - Massie

No need for massive changes. Except to attitudes.

WAT ARE YOU ON MATE????- If Marsh gets back into the side the popes not catholic!!! Thats ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS. He had ONE touch against West Coast, ONE. And you think thats GOOD ENOUGH for him to come back in???? :rolleyes:

And he injured his hand in the SANFL anyway ( god, whats with SANFL players getting injured. Reilly, Marsh AND Rutten all got injured over the weekend)
But its only Marsh and its not like its a blow to the crows n e way, maybe West but not us.

from afc.com.au

Collarbone sidelines Reilly for eight
Alan Shiell
afl.com.au
10:51:11 AM Mon 28 April, 2003

Adelaide utility Brent Reilly has a fractured left collarbone and will be out of football for about eight weeks.

Reilly, 19, played in all of the Crows’ pre-season matches, including the winning Wizard Home Loans Cup grand final against Collingwood, and the first four of the regular season until he was sent back to Sturt for more game time last week.

But he was injured only three minutes after the start of the SANFL grand final rematch against Central District at Adelaide Oval last Friday.

Adelaide talls Ben Marsh and Ben Rutten were hurt playing for West Adelaide against Glenelg at Richmond Oval last Saturday.

Marsh broke a bone in a hand but could still be available this week, and Rutten broke a thumb and will miss about five matches.

Adelaide full back Nathan Bassett still has a chance of playing against the Kangaroos at Telstra Dome on Friday night, despite being knocked out in a heavy head-on collision with Port Adelaide’s Shaun Burgoyne in the third quarter of Showdown XIII at AAMI Stadium last Saturday night.

Bassett swam in the Crows’ heated pool on Sunday and Monday mornings and rested from Monday’s training session.

He is expected to have a light run on Tuesday and again on Thursday, with a view to playing this week.

Utility James Begley made a pleasing comeback with Sturt last Friday after recovering from a ruptured thumb, and Kris Massie was among Norwood’s best players against South Adelaide at Norwood Oval last Friday night.

Get well soon, Brent and Ben! I hope Bass gets through training this week.

I'll be looking out for the SANFL players report tomorrow to see who the club was impressed with on the weekend. Massie and Begley would be my tips.

Jerome

Originally posted by ScottWelshLuva
WAT ARE YOU ON MATE????-
But its only Marsh and its not like its a blow to the crows n e way, maybe West but not us.

What are YOU on?

Have a good look at our list. Should 2 of our ruckmen be injured at one time we're in strife. If Marsh is out and something happens to Rhett or Matt it puts us under some pressure.

I may not rate Marsh's ability, but to say that having him out injured won't hurt us with our lack of height is a joke.

Settle down kid.

Jerome

Re: from afc.com.au

Originally posted by Jerome

AlanI'll be looking out for the SANFL players report tomorrow to see who the club was impressed with on the weekend. Massie and Begley would be my tips.

Jerome

I am thinking they may continue to use Perrie down back as cover for Bassett and therefore bring in Schell or Hentschell as an extra forward.

Will be interesting to see.

Begley probably needs at least another week at SANFL level.