lunacy

Norwood
I havent included trades, couldnt be bothered, maybe someone else can look into that. I have only included those that are still on their club's list because its a more accurate indication of success (unless the player was traded to another club). I also didnt bother saying whether the player was picked up in the national, preseason, or rookie draft just that they were picked up. If they are in italics than they're currently on rookie list.

Crows
Phil Davis
Shaun McKernan
Rory Sloane
Tom Lee
Will Young
Ricky Henderson
Chris Scmidt
Brian Donnelly

Power
Hamish Hartlett
Jackson Trengove
Matthew Broadbent
Mitch Banner
Glenn Dawson
Jason Davenport
Josh Carr (preseason draft)
Wade Thompson
Danny Meyer
Daniel Stewart
Matthew Martin

Crows
Patrick Dangerfield
Andy Otten
Jarrhan Jacky
Myke Cook
Tony Armstrong
Aaron Kite
Taylor Walker (NSW scholarship)
Jared Patrenko
Brodie Martin

Power
Matthew Lobbe
Marlon Motlop
Matthew Westoff
Mitch Farmer
Nick Salter

Crows
James Sellar
Kurt Tippett
David Mackay
Nick Gill
Greg Gallman

Power
Travis Boak
Paul Stewart
Nathan Krakouer
Robert Gray
Justin Westoff

Crows
Richard Douglas
Bernie Vince
Jason Porplyzia

Power
Nick Lower
Alipate Carlile
Matt Thomas
Tom Logan

Crows
Nathan Van Berlo
Ivan Maric
Chris Knights
Jonathon Griffin

Power
Danyle Pearce

I actually think the crows have drafted better than the power. In 2006 the power picked up more players but whats better quantity or quality. Kurt Tippett and David Mackay are two very good pick ups with James Sellar starting to develop quicker now. But overall maybe the power did better in 2006 but Kurt Tippett will probably be the best of all of them taken that year by both clubs imo.

The other close on was 2008 probably too early to say but personally I'd prefer Davis/McKernan over Hartlett/Trengove. Sloane and Broadbent will be pretty even imo and same with the others.

Overall I back the crows drafting in last 5 yrs over the power. After looking at this I'm not surprised to see the crows much more competitive than the power at the moment. How coould have everyone said at the start of the year that the power have the better list.

Thoughts?

Before I read it..

Cue Power flogs/trolls in

ASGARDIAN!

HAHA

Love it yes we will hear how westhoff is better than Tippett,Carr better then Danger,Farmer better than Walker,Logan better than Vince and so on

Like i have said else where this is the best list we have ever had with the exception of the Rucks

We creamed them in 04 and 07, have a fair claim on 05 and 06, and 08 is too early to tell. That said I wouldn't be surprised if Hartlett + Trengove end up being better than Davis + McKernan but we'll have to wait and see. Sloane will tip things in our favour, I'm sure :p

Definitely the Crows have "won" the last half-decade of trading.

I must say the previous half a decade has been bloody close, But I think it would be unfair to judge the players before ten years at the club or there careers at the club are finished.

We will always hold the matthew Bode for Shuan Burgoyne and could possibly end up Matthew Bode for our future first Brownlow and first Coleman Medalists. :P

I must say the previous half a decade has been bloody close, But I think it would be unfair to judge the players before ten years at the club or there careers at the club are finished.

We will always hold the matthew Bode for Shuan Burgoyne and could possibly end up Matthew Bode for our future first Brownlow and first Coleman Medalists. :P

:p Not one of our finest moments, even though I was a big fan of Bodey.

I'm sure you guys will comehow fluke a good player with pick 97 you got from the trade and claim that you got him for Bodey :D

:p Not one of our finest moments, even though I was a big fan of Bodey.

I'm sure you guys will comehow fluke a good player with pick 97 you got from the trade and claim that you got him for Bodey :D

Ahh, all in due time!

We creamed them in 04 and 07, have a fair claim on 05 and 06, and 08 is too early to tell. That said I wouldn't be surprised if Hartlett + Trengove end up being better than Davis + McKernan but we'll have to wait and see. Sloane will tip things in our favour, I'm sure :p

Definitely the Crows have "won" the last half-decade of trading.

Sloane WILL tip things in our favour. :thumbsu:

The way I see it:

04 - Adelaide easily - One downhill skier remains for Port while we grabbed three long term players (one of them a star in Knights).

05 - Adelaide - Port did grab Carlile who has become a decent defender and Thomas who does a job in the middle, but Logan and Lower are battlers at best. The Crows picked two genuine stars with Vince and Porplyzia while Douglas is in and out of the side.

06 - Port Adelaide - They did very well for themselves out of this draft. Boak, Krakouer, Gray and Westhoff are all regulars in their starting 22. None of them have stamped themselves as quality players of the competition but Boak, Krak and Gray could all potentially reach that level. The Crows again got the overall standout pick between both clubs, landing Kurt Tippett, while Mackay sits with Boak as a mid who could (should) push into that quality category. Sellar is improving, I'd put him on a par with Westhoff who has gone backwards, but Krakouer and Gray tip it in their favour.

07 - Adelaide easily - This will go on to be one of Adelaide's all time great drafts, and what a debut from Rendell. We haven't yet seen quite enough of a couple of Port Adelaide draftees to say they couldn't fill long term roles for their club, but no clear boom pick has emerged from their 07 class. Farmer is gone, Westhoff is no good while Salter should have a long term career, particularly with his leading ability and great finishing skills. Motlop has shown little to nothing. The jury is out on Lobbe with mixed reports on his SANFL showings.

Adelaide on the other hand picked up its first genuine boom first rounder in many a year, Patrick Dangerfield. Andy Otten looks a goer, Taylor Walker is a star in the making (could lump him in with the 06 class though), Martin, Petrenko and Cook have all shown promise. Kite looks gone while Armstrong has shown a bit at SANFL level (with a downhill skiing concern though). Jarrhan Jacky, personally I rate him but he's shown very little so far. Adelaide's draft by a long long way overall.

We'll leave calls on the 08 draft until the end of next year.

Lobbe might well become a player still.

Even so, we're way ahead on 07.

He is going to have to, being second Ruck as it stands now.

The way I see it:

04 - Adelaide easily - One downhill skier remains for Port while we grabbed three long term players (one of them a star in Knights).

05 - Adelaide - Port did grab Carlile who has become a decent defender and Thomas who does a job in the middle, but Logan and Lower are battlers at best. The Crows picked two genuine stars with Vince and Porplyzia while Douglas is in and out of the side.

06 - Port Adelaide - They did very well for themselves out of this draft. Boak, Krakouer, Gray and Westhoff are all regulars in their starting 22. None of them have stamped themselves as quality players of the competition but Boak, Krak and Gray could all potentially reach that level. The Crows again got the overall standout pick between both clubs, landing Kurt Tippett, while Mackay sits with Boak as a mid who could (should) push into that quality category. Sellar is improving, I'd put him on a par with Westhoff who has gone backwards, but Krakouer and Gray tip it in their favour.

07 - Adelaide easily - This will go on to be one of Adelaide's all time great drafts, and what a debut from Rendell. We haven't yet seen quite enough of a couple of Port Adelaide draftees to say they couldn't fill long term roles for their club, but no clear boom pick has emerged from their 07 class. Farmer is gone, Westhoff is no good while Salter should have a long term career, particularly with his leading ability and great finishing skills. Motlop has shown little to nothing. The jury is out on Lobbe with mixed reports on his SANFL showings.

Adelaide on the other hand picked up its first genuine boom first rounder in many a year, Patrick Dangerfield. Andy Otten looks a goer, Taylor Walker is a star in the making (could lump him in with the 06 class though), Martin, Petrenko and Cook have all shown promise. Kite looks gone while Armstrong has shown a bit at SANFL level (with a downhill skiing concern though). Jarrhan Jacky, personally I rate him but he's shown very little so far. Adelaide's draft by a long long way overall.

Fair call I reckon.

The way I see it:

Pretty fair call but just on 06 it should be noted that Port had much higher first pick (5 or 6 I think from memory) compared to 14 for us which must have relevance in any comparison of drafting success. Also you say Westhoff similar to Sellar and Boak compares to Mackay which leaves Port having Krakouer and Grey compared to us having Tippett. I don't think there is too many people who would not give up those two to get their hands on Tippett so I would have to give this year to the Crows as well. Pity we have to beat 14 other sides as well to win a premiership though.

also shows how ignorant some of the criticisms of Fantasia were.
I wasn't aware that there were any critisisms of him but if there were then they were well off the mark. Fantasia did a brilliant job with the picks he was given at Adelaide and got the Bulldogs job as a result and has obviously done very well there as well.

It is interesting to see how much better his picking became as soon as Craig took over the top job though.

Yeah the difference is striking. I suspect when he stepped in they must've replaced half of Fantasia's recruiting network, something along those lines.

Perhaps they set some clearer/better/different guidelines as to what they were looking for from recruits? Or perhaps Craigy gave Fantasia greater control over the process?

Probably yeah.

And whatever was tweaked, or whoever made way, I'm bloody glad it happened when it did. Can you imagine the hole we'd be in if our poor drafting record had carried through till now?

It is interesting to see how much better his picking became as soon as Craig took over the top job though.

Really?

John Meesen, Fergus Watts, and Darren Pfeiffer all say hello. Douglas & Sellar aren't great returns for 1st round picks. all of whom were consensus picks at their draft slots or earlier.

Craig's faith in his young guys is a fairly recent thing.

that said, there are plenty of Fantas picks they are now being credited to Rendell for some strange reason.

Yeah the difference is striking. I suspect when he stepped in they must've replaced half of Fantasia's recruiting network, something along those lines.

Perhaps they set some clearer/better/different guidelines as to what they were looking for from recruits? Or perhaps Craigy gave Fantasia greater control over the process?

Probably yeah.

And whatever was tweaked, or whoever made way, I'm bloody glad it happened when it did. Can you imagine the hole we'd be in if our poor drafting record had carried through till now?

or perhaps you've forgetten how long ago Craig took over. ;)

Really?

John Meesen, Fergus Watts, and Darren Pfeiffer all say hello. Douglas & Sellar aren't great returns for 1st round picks. all of whom were consensus picks at their draft slots or earlier.

Craig's faith in his young guys is a fairly recent thing.

that said, there are plenty of Fantas picks they are now being credited to Rendell for some strange reason.

wrong.

the deluded minority may believe the quality of ayres drafting era is comparable to craigs era (fantas time) but they would be the only ones. http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=546403

ffs old son, look at the last 4-5 years - tippett, porps, vince, danger, walker, mc kay, otten and numerous friends (inc davis who may be the best of the lot according to comments a crow official made earlier this year). now try and show me another team with comparable picks that has performed as well....and people wonder why we value draft picks....unless you are still going to argue that we dont outperform other clubs in drafting in recent years.

also shows how ignorant some of the criticisms of Fantasia were.
Shhhhh! Don't bust the bubble! Who are these hecks that you mention?!

Fact is our 2 most promising forwards on the list in Tippett and Walker were recruited by Fantasia. Add in the likes of Mackay, Vince, Porplyzia, Knights, van Berlo, Maric, Douglas, Sellar and you practically have half the side (including some of our most promising youngsters on our list).

Fantasia did a very good job for us and its one of the reasons he is a GM of footy operations at the Doggies.

Shhhhh! Don't bust the bubble! Who are these hecks that you mention?!

Fact is our 2 most promising forwards on the list in Tippett and Walker were recruited by Fantasia. Add in the likes of Mackay, Vince, Porplyzia, Knights, van Berlo, Maric, Douglas, Sellar and you practically have half the side (including some of our most promising youngsters on our list).

Porplyzia did a very good job for us and its one of the reasons he is a GM of footy operations at the Doggies.

Exactly. I don't get why Fantasia doesn't get more credit. He has drafted pretty well, just like Rendell has.