Crows Vs Roos @ MCG

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Can't see Hudson being picked as we already stacked with more tall both forward & back than normal.

I agree. From what I've seen so far I would never take all of our three ruckman into one game. Clarke is a ruckman and a ruckman only. Hudson has struggled so far when played forward and has done nothing to suggest he could hold a position elsewhere on the ground. Biglands is the most versatile but even he often struggles out of the ruck. Having all three in one team would be asking for trouble. It just reduces the flexibility of the team too much.

Anyway, Hudson has shown he can probably hold his own in the ruck if required as a backup. He hasn't really done enough to come anywhere near pushing Clarke or Biglands out.

Hudson will just have to bide his time. He is no more than a backup at this stage.

Originally posted by ****
I agree. From what I've seen so far I would never take all of our three ruckman into one game. Clarke is a ruckman and a ruckman only. Hudson has struggled so far when played forward and has done nothing to suggest he could hold a position elsewhere on the ground. Biglands is the most versatile but even he often struggles out of the ruck. Having all three in one team would be asking for trouble. It just reduces the flexibility of the team too much.

Anyway, Hudson has shown he can probably hold his own in the ruck if required as a backup. He hasn't really done enough to come anywhere near pushing Clarke or Biglands out.

Hudson will just have to bide his time. He is no more than a backup at this stage.

One thing that Hudson is a lot better that Biglands and Clarke in is his ability to play kick behind play. I think he is the bloke you want in your side when you are playing someon like Brisbane because he will drop back and fill up the hole in front of Lynch and mark majority of the ball coming his way.

Am I the only one here that thinks Hudson will be keeping th eheat on Clarke and Biglands this year. If Hudson gets a chance (through injury or loss of form of the other 2) he will take it with both hands. I think when Huddo breaks into the side he will hold his spot. I think I would play him against teams like Brisbane, Port and Collingwood because he is the only ruckman who can play kick behind the play for us.

Originally posted by Tas
Whilst Adelaide has a great midfield do they have enough depth there and enough players supporting them or is the team too dependant on them for the vast majority of the forward drive?
I don't think you can go on last year because players like Goodwin, Burton, Bode and Stenglein either missed a lot of games through injury and/or were out of form.

I don't think we rely on our midfielders as much as some of the "experts" say. One thing is that we haven't had youngsters rotating through the midfield. That should change this year because the likes of Johncock and Reilly will play bit more through the midfield this year. I think the depth is there with Roo, Goody, McLeod, Edwards, Bode, Johncock, Stenglein, Burton and reilly just to name a few. Chris Ladhams has also demonstrated that he is more than capable of playing through the midfield when given a chance.

One thig I am worried about is our lack of midfiled prospects who will take over from the stars. we only have the likes of Johncock, Reilly and Schuback who are midfield prospects but I guess that will be addressed in next couple of drafts as the starts of our midfield have at least another 3-4 years left in tem.

Originally posted by Tas
What I find a little odd is that for a team that went wide a fair bit last year I am surprised that Adelaide only had four players in the top 100 for disposals for 2003, those being Ricciuto, McLeod, Edwards and Bickley.

I don't think we went all that wide last year, to be honest.

Overall, Adelaide ranked 12th in kicks per game, 3rd in handballs per game, and 6th in disposals per game. Meantime, they were 9th in points for over the season.

Interestingly, the #1 team in disposals per game was the Doggies, and #16 (by a long, long way) were Carlton. Both were ordinary in '03 - one because they overused the footy, and one because they couldn't get the footy.

The fact that Adelaide had only 4 players in the top 100 for disposals but finished 6th in the league suggests two things to me:

1 - Regular high possession midfielders (Burton 20.5 touches per game in 03, Goodwin 18 per game) missed big chunks of the year with injury and didn't finish up so high in aggregate possessions as, say, some Sydney players (who had 14 players who missed at most one game). Matthew Bode also had an injury and form slump that took him down 200 touches from the previous season.

2 - Depth in the second tier. Plenty of players who don't get it 30 times a game, but very few who only touch it 5 times. Johncock, Stenglein, Massie, Ladhams and Begley all averaged around 15 touches per game last year in the games they played, and most other regulars were over 10 per game.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
One thing that Hudson is a lot better that Biglands and Clarke in is his ability to play kick behind play. I think he is the bloke you want in your side when you are playing someon like Brisbane because he will drop back and fill up the hole in front of Lynch and mark majority of the ball coming his way.

Am I the only one here that thinks Hudson will be keeping th eheat on Clarke and Biglands this year. If Hudson gets a chance (through injury or loss of form of the other 2) he will take it with both hands. I think when Huddo breaks into the side he will hold his spot. I think I would play him against teams like Brisbane, Port and Collingwood because he is the only ruckman who can play kick behind the play for us.
Stiffy, I have mentioned before that a major benefit of having Huddo, even when he doesn't play for us, is keeping Clarke & Biglands honest. Competition for places is a healthy thing (as long as he doesn't take too many players out at training ;) ).

However, like ****, I think playing 3 ruckmen is crazy as they aren't flexible enough to play other roles. I'm sure Huddo will get his chance later in the year & when he does he may push out one of the others on a permanent basis if he grabs his opportunity.

Ladies and gentleman it is wednesday night and I think its time I dust off my "whiteboard" and start analysing our forst match of the season against Roos. From all the news reports Stenglein and Bode appear to be fine (no mention of them missing training so one assumes that they are ready to go). Goody also aluded to the fact that Hudson is a real chance to get a game, it will all depend on whether or not coaching staff want to go in with 3 ruckman. I guess with McKernan playing for the Roos now, I wouldn't be surprised if Biglands is used as a key defender. Anyway, here is the side that I think will be selected and what the likely match ups are.

_F: 17. Scott Welsh _ 2. Wayne Carey _ 27. Scott Stevens
HF: _ 18. Graham Johncock _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 23. Andrew McLeod
_C: _ 33. Brent Reilly _ 32. Mark Ricciuto _ 24. Brett Burton
HB: _ 3. Kris Massie _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 9. Tyson Edwards
_B: _ 8. Nathan Bassett _ 37. Trent Hentschel _ 34. Ben Hart
1R: _ 4. Matthew Clarke _ 20. Tyson Stenglein _ 36. Simon Goodwin

INT: _ 7. Nigel Smart _ 11. Michael Doughty _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 26. Jacob Schuback

EMG: _ 12. Robert Shirley _ 13. Ben Hudson _ 21. James Gallagher

OK, I suspect my team would be a bit controversial but Torney himself said he is unlikely to play round 1 because he is a couple of weeks behind the rest of the squad. I also suspect that Bode and Ladhams will make their way back through SANFL.

Key Match-Ups

Tyson Stenglein Vs Adam Simpson
I might be the odd one out but I rate Simpson as their best in and under onabller so accordingly I think Stenglein is a very good match up for him. In that round 21 loss last year it was Simpson who absolutely killed us in the center. As a captain, Adam will want to lead by example so Stenglein will have to be at his best to keep him under control.

Tyson Edwards Vs Brent Harvey
This is the bloke that always plays well against us. It fact 99% of the time he kills us. A very difficult player to match up on. Whether in the midfield or in defence he is a dangerman. I like the idea of Tyson Edwards playing on him. Tyson rotates between backlines and midfield. Harvey rotates from midfield to forward line so these 2 can go head to head all day long.

Ken McGregor Vs Drew Petrie
Drew is the heart and sould of Roos' forward line. Kenny matches up very well on him. I hope the coaching staff make the same mistake like they did last year when they played Bassett on him for the first half. Kenny has the height, strenght and marking ability to stop Petrie. Stop Petrie and hlf your job is done ;)

Trent Hentschel Vs Corey McKernan
This is a bit of a danger match up. It all depends on which McKernan rocks up. Trent has to be given every chance this year and it would probably be a good idea to play him on McKernan in round 1. I think he can go with him. Maybe I am wrong.

Ben Hart Vs Daniel Motlop
Thats if Motlop plays forward. If he does then Hart is a perfect match up. I have a feeling that this will be Motlops year. Last year he showed glimpses of his potential and if he builds on that this year he will be headache for a lot of teams. Good at ground level and in the air so Hart is the man to stop him.

Kris Massie Vs Leigh Harding
I am not really sure about this match up. Harding has pace to burn while Massie can be a bit slow. Maybe if this match up doesn't come good we can always turn to Smart.

The rest of the match ups really take care of themselves.

Thoughts??????

Its good to have footy back. I missed it :D

Good team and it's what I would go with I wouldnt expect mcleod though to spend the whole game up forward possibly swaping Roo or Burton during the game, I gather at this stage Archer is not considered to be playing which is a slight advantage for us;) I think it is quite possible that we will go with three talls with Hudson rotating with Clarke in the main ruck duties and Biglands in defence it is the best plan I think;) Our Defence looks strong and we should have no problems containing the Roo's forwardline;) Footy is back and it's great, BRING IT ON:D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Re: Re: Crows Vs Roos @ MCG

Originally posted by maccas_no1
I think it is quite possible that we will go with three talls with Hudson rotating with Clarke in the main ruck duties and Biglands in defence it is the best plan I think;) Our Defence looks strong and we should have no problems containing the Roo's forwardline;) Footy is back and it's great, BRING IT ON:D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Why would we start by playing Biglands in defence??? He's a ruckman & should be played as such, unless we get desperate. We already have plenty of tall options - McGregor, Hentschel, Bassett, Smart, Stevens, etc. We need to have pace on the bench, if we are going to start with more than normal talls in the starting-18 (as per Stiffy's line-up).

Re: Re: Re: Crows Vs Roos @ MCG

Why would we start by playing Biglands in defence??? He's a ruckman & should be played as such, unless we get desperate. We already have plenty of tall options - McGregor, Hentschel, Bassett, Smart, Stevens, etc. We need to have pace on the bench, if we are going to start with more than normal talls in the starting-18 (as per Stiffy's line-up).
I don't know if you listened to Gary Ayres last night on 5AA but he made a point that we can play 3 ruckman especially since Biglands has shown some good signs over the pre-season when playing in a KP.

Now let me read that between lines: Roos have some real tall timber in the forward line the likes of Petrie, McKernan and Rocca are all over 196 cm. Bassett is the past has stuggled when he played on players that are taller and stronger than him. He has been tried against all of those players in the past and had his colors lowered. McKernan is tall and strong, so is Biglands.

I tend to think along the same lines as macca_no1. I suspect we will go in with 3 ruckman and play Biglands as a key defender possibly at FB. McGregor will probably get Petrie and Hentschel will play on Rocca (if in fact Rocca remains in the team). If Rocca is not selected it doesn't matter because Hentschel can very easily play as a flanker (Down back, up forward or even on the wing) something Bassett is not all that great at.

Personally, the ones I think will be dropped from the squad of 25 are Bassett, Shirley and one of Schuback or Doughty. Most probably Schuback.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Crows Vs Roos @ MCG

I don't know if you listened to Gary Ayres last night on 5AA but he made a point that we can play 3 ruckman especially since Biglands has shown some good signs over the pre-season when playing in a KP.

Now let me read that between lines: Roos have some real tall timber in the forward line the likes of Petrie, McKernan and Rocca are all over 196 cm. Bassett is the past has stuggled when he played on players that are taller and stronger than him. He has been tried against all of those players in the past and had his colors lowered. McKernan is tall and strong, so is Biglands.

I tend to think along the same lines as macca_no1. I suspect we will go in with 3 ruckman and play Biglands as a key defender possibly at FB. McGregor will probably get Petrie and Hentschel will play on Rocca (if in fact Rocca remains in the team). If Rocca is not selected it doesn't matter because Hentschel can very easily play as a flanker (Down back, up forward or even on the wing) something Bassett is not all that great at.

Personally, the ones I think will be dropped from the squad of 25 are Bassett, Shirley and one of Schuback or Doughty. Most probably Schuback.
Think you will find Ayres is playing Ducks & Drakes with the 3 ruckman comment - Hudson has been named in the SANFL & Biglands or Clarke will start on in the ruck/bench as per usual.
Hudson, S Stevens & Shcuback have been named to play for their SANFL sides. Question as to whether Hentschel start at FF or FB, as to whether Perrie or Bassett/Smart start on the bench IMO.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Crows Vs Roos @ MCG

Think you will find Ayres is playing Ducks & Drakes with the 3 ruckman comment - Hudson has been named in the SANFL & Biglands or Clarke will start on in the ruck/bench as per usual.
Hudson, S Stevens & Shcuback have been named to play for their SANFL sides. Question as to whether Hentschel start at FF or FB, as to whether Perrie or Bassett/Smart start on the bench IMO.
In that case I would think that Perrie will start at FF. Hentschel will play at FB. Doughty will start on one wing and Reilly on the other leaving Burton to play across HF. I wouldn't mind this line up at all. So Shirley will play. i must admit I hate the idea of playing with 2 taggers. I would have much rather played with Schuback instead of Shirley.

I would also rather Schuback than Shirley, he adds that extra piece of arsenal to our side I reckon.

All in all should be a pretty close game, I'm tipping the crows by 5 points, im interested to see how well Mcleod starts his year :)

Stiffy,
you're getting far too carried away. Can we keep the overstatement and hyperbole under control until Huddo has played even just 1 AFL match.

Originally posted by Crow-mosone
Stiffy,
you're getting far too carried away. Can we keep the overstatement and hyperbole under control until Huddo has played even just 1 AFL match.

Someone got a dictionary for Christmas! A crap one, but a dictionary nonetheless!

I watched FOX League Teams the other night and got a look at the unofficial (I think) team.

Perrie was on the interchange, as was Massie, Hudson, Doughty, Chewy, Shirley, and others.

Everything else was the usual, except Hentschel made it onto the first 18, as did Mass.

If you ask me, if this are going to be the team, I am happy. Some youth, with a lot of experience could make a good challenge for the Roos.

Going to the game, can't wait to watch it. Go you Crows!

what the **** are you talking about?

Ooh another one of your tantrums.

What am I talking about? I am talking about your usage of the word 'hyperbole'.

Where has Stiffy made an overly extravagant exaggeration in regard to his thoughts on Hudson? Alternatively, where has he used a figure of speech in making said alleged exaggerations?

literacy, you should try it someday.

So we've already established that you don't know the correct definition of 'hyperbole', and now you're seemingly unaware of the correct definition of 'literacy'.

You've suggested I 'try it [literacy] someday'. If I am reading what you are saying and responding to it with spelling and grammatical structure to a sufficient standard, am I not displaying that I am in fact literate?

Finally, what's a 'chromosone'?