Customer Complaint

Great post Nick85. There are some real sh!ts of people out there. I work at a petrol station in a coastal town which is normally fine, everyone is friendly, but now it's holiday season I am getting loads of w***ers who have no idea about anything and just whinge about nothing.

The ethnics that know only the word written down on their Grocery list.

I work at Safeway, and an old Italian woman came up to me and said "Lasanga", while I was stacking shelves.
I put down all what I was doing, because 'Customers come first'...."Ok, follow me," I said. We walked to the frozen foods and I showed her the selection, but she had a frown on her face.
"No, no...Lasanga". By this stage I figured she wanted the pasta sheets, so I took her here and, she looked at me and said "No, no, Lasagna!"
She was starting to get annoyed and chatted away to herself in Italian. I went and got my Duty Manager, and he took over. I later saw him, all 10 minutes later, and I asked him, "Did you find out what she wanted?"
"No, she went skits and started throwing her hand around, yelling in Italian. Her hand actually knoked over the stack of Shapes." he said.

I ended up having to re-stack the Shapes :(

Had this old Greek man come into the branch today, somehow still had an old deposit slip, and wanted $400 withdrawal, however, had put the zeros behind the decimal point on it, so it came out looking like he wanted to withdraw $4.00.

The girl behind the counter was new and seemed a bit befuddled, and wasn't sure what he meant. She pointed out his mistake to him, then the manager did so as well (soon as he left, he started muttering away at him in Greek, the other teller spoke Greek, and translated for us as "Don't try educate me on ****ing math, you ****ing ******."), and still he wouldn't budge on it, started giving this girl shit (she was Asian) about how things are done in this country.

Eventually the manager snapped, and told him in no uncertain terms that in this country, we don't speak in a derogatory manner to others in another language, and we put the 0's in front of the decimal point for the amount you want, and that you admit when you're wrong, and if you don't like it, you can leave the branch.

Bloke muttered about in Greek for about 5 minutes and stormed off. w***er.

One of the Lords of Complaining: A bloke who hangs out on this forum some of you know as "Chief"

He used to have a system; if he had had a really bad day, he would alleviate some of his stress by "spreading it around" .. this meant that if there were any gripes whatsoever regarding his bills or services (phone, internet), he would ring the customer service line and fully go to town on the poor bastard who picked up.

The one that comes to mind: back in the early days of Foxtel - mid-90's I think - we were sharing a flat out Toowong way, and he suddenly became enraged with the number of ads that were beginning to appear; commonplace now, but at the start there were very few ads.

So he called customer support, and let vent the full fury of his days frustrations and woes, holding back not one iota.

I've heard him go at it a few times since, he is merciless. You cringe for the person on the other end of the line.

One of the Lords of Complaining: A bloke who hangs out on this forum some of you know as "Chief"

He used to have a system; if he had had a really bad day, he would alleviate some of his stress by "spreading it around" .. this meant that if there were any gripes whatsoever regarding his bills or services (phone, internet), he would ring the customer service line and fully go to town on the poor bastard who picked up.

The one that comes to mind: back in the early days of Foxtel - mid-90's I think - we were sharing a flat out Toowong way, and he suddenly became enraged with the number of ads that were beginning to appear; commonplace now, but at the start there were very few ads.

So he called customer support, and let vent the full fury of his days frustrations and woes, holding back not one iota.

I've heard him go at it a few times since, he is merciless. You cringe for the person on the other end of the line.

Fair enough though, ads on a tv station you're already paying for is outrageous.

What is it with customers thinking THEY ARE THE ONLY CUSTOMER?

As I said, I work at Dan Murphy's. One of the jobs I do is I chase up the orders the lovely people at Australia Post lose. So as you can imagine, AusPost lose quite a lot.

I hate it when customers demand priority, when they've been waiting like 3 days. Whereas you get polite customers, who have been waiting for like 2 weeks, so should be pissed off, are very patient.

Shits me.

I work at target, and we have a rather harsh refunds policy if it isnt target branded ie electronics and expensive toys and no receipt you dont get a refund.

We've had this rule since october (fully phased in by feb 1st mangers told us to start since october) and ive explained it to counteless customers and told them they must keep their receipt or no go, yet at least once an hour i have the same ****en arguement about it.

One customer had a fisher price toy valued 59.99 my refunds staff polietly told the customer the policy and said we couldnt do thi since midlle aged women went to town on my staff member (young 16yo) and said sh will get a refunds so i come across and explian the same thing camly, she then told me she would get a refund or she'll get her husband from the food court and have him "beat the shit out of me" was her words, i told her she could do what she liked but i would not do her a refund, cutomer swore about 8 times in one sentence and left.

Half an hour later she returned with a rather scruny man and said do you want to argue about my refund with him, i explianed i doint care who i argue with anbd if he wants to get physical i have a right to defend himself her husband then sent his wife away told me he understood where i was coming from and that his wife is prone to go crazy and said dont worry bout the refund mate its all fine.

Thats just one story as i said earlier i get at least one customer like that a shift and thats not accounting for the costant ethnics trying to shifty us and the stupid staff i get given,

One woman lodged a written complaint about me because I didn't SMILE at her before I served her.

I've copped it all working in a deli department. I was on my break at one stage, and I was being served by a chick that i work with, who was the only one on customer service as it was a very easy day. Anyway, this guy who turns up about two minutes after me chucks a hissy at her first, for not serving him before she served me. Then he chucked a hissy at me, telling me that I shouldn't be wasting customers time. I got ****ing pissed here as I hadn't had anything for breakfast, had already had a crap day and it was 3 o'clock in the arvo and I was trying to buy myself some lunch.

Of course, telling a customer to **** off and get the **** away from me gets you complained about too. :thumbsd:

Haha you still got your job?

Yeah, I do. They're the only two times I've been complained in over a year of working there, and the boss was pretty sympathetic with me as he knew that I wouldn't act like that unless I was provoked and he saw the way the customer acted so he just tore up the complaint.

I like to go the other way. If you can make them look stupid by using your words in a very smart ass tone you can have a very satisfying victory without risking your job.:thumbsu:

thats usually how i try to do it still get complained about three times ayear though my managers just laugh it off and say he didnt mean it like that lol usually knowing that is excatly what i meant

Customer Service - oi I could write a book on the liars/free loaders who want something for nothing/morons/ferals/know nothings that inhabit this country.

The ones who take out subscriptions to magazines are the WORST!! I know of one customer who was so rude, nasty and just plain vicious to staff that her subscription was cancelled and money returned to her daughter-in-law who paid for the thing. D-In-Law very understanding, knew what she was like.

My fav 2 stories amongst many are:-

1) A Newsagent in Yarraville where I used to live was so pi$$ed off with whinging customer one morning when i popped in on my way to work. He told him to get out of his shop as he wasn't that desperate for his custom.

2) At the deli section one sat at Yarraville Foodworks some rude pig of a man was giving the young deli girl a hard time. I was waiting for her to finish serving him and serve me when I got fed up with the way he spoke to her I turned on him and said "You are a rude pig and there is no need to treat this girl like that - she's doing her job" then i said to the girl in a VERY LOUD voice (like it wasn't loud already) "some poor woman is married to this creep" - he slunk off mumbling.

I was working at Boost Juice, and as you may know we put the ingredients in a container, then put a lid on it and pop it in the blender. We wash the lids but they're always wet as we never had the time to dry them.

So once, a colleague was actually making one up when a customer complained that some water got in the smoothie from the lid! She called it disgusting, said she didn't want it anymore. When the girl serving her tried to explain to her that it's only water, she said she was turned off Boost forever.

This is despite the fact that her smoothie already contained ice, and the juice concentrate in most smoothies is diluted anyway.

I've gone to town on the phone quite a few times, namely at Telstra, the fools.

Someone at my store recently had a complaint made about them that her smile looked forced. ffs - when your only paid $10 an hour you cant be expected to be constantly happy at work - at least she had tried, and shes a very shy person so it wasnt like he was being mean or anything.

Also - my 15 year old brother recently started working at my store as a cook and as we were quiet I thought I would teach him how to serve customers on drive through, he did a good job on the first one, so the second time i told him to ask the customer what drink he wanted, which he did politly, the guy then goes off at my brother saying that he already said it once and wouldnt repeat it. so i told him I knew and was just trying to get him used to talking to customers. The guy then went on to go off at him critising us for being to slow (which we werent) - then i told him it was his first shift and he was still learning. He then started critisising my brother for having a dirty uniform! clearly all he wanted to do was pick a fight (seeing as my uniform was probably dirtier then his anyway) and seemed to think that a 15 year old trainee was a good target. so i moved my brother out of the way and proceded to tell him off at my most patronising best explaining that it was flour - which funnily enough is what his chicken is cooked in. he kept insulting him and was going on about how he works at the council and was going to report us (the council doesnt even inspect us - its all done internally as we are a large company) I pretty much lost it at this point - I wasnt going to put up with this loser telling my little brother off so i let lose with a few choice words - told him I was a law student and that he was a complete idiot so stop pretending like he new anything about hygiene rules (haha i no me being a law student has nothing to do with it, but im sick of customers treating me like im an idiot, as if i work there full time) and pretty much slammed the window in his face.

Thinking back on it, i wish i had said more - it would have been his word against mine and my brothers and i havent had a complaint in the four years ive worked there so in know who they would have believed. But i really wanted to hit him or something - i can handle most moron customers - but insulting my brother made me see red! Oh well, it at least makes me feel better when i think that his life cant be that fulfilling if he finds things like being asked twice for a drink and flour on a uniform worthy of a five minute arguement and a fifteen year old trainee as an acceptable target :rolleyes:

he kept insulting him and was going on about how he works at the council and was going to report us (the council doesnt even inspect us - its all done internally as we are a large company)
That's not a KFC store you work at is it Sear?
I sent the Glenorchy Council in to deal with them after my girlfriend at the time and myself got crook from eating at KFC Derwent Park a couple of years ago.
I would've barred that bloke from the store and sent him on his way :thumbsu:

I've been on holidays for 2 weeks and I've got another 2 weeks coming up. I'm so glad I haven't had to deal with moronic customers.

Someone at my store recently had a complaint made about them that her smile looked forced. ffs - when your only paid $10 an hour you cant be expected to be constantly happy at work - at least she had tried, and shes a very shy person so it wasnt like he was being mean or anything.

Also - my 15 year old brother recently started working at my store as a cook and as we were quiet I thought I would teach him how to serve customers on drive through, he did a good job on the first one, so the second time i told him to ask the customer what drink he wanted, which he did politly, the guy then goes off at my brother saying that he already said it once and wouldnt repeat it. so i told him I knew and was just trying to get him used to talking to customers. The guy then went on to go off at him critising us for being to slow (which we werent) - then i told him it was his first shift and he was still learning. He then started critisising my brother for having a dirty uniform! clearly all he wanted to do was pick a fight (seeing as my uniform was probably dirtier then his anyway) and seemed to think that a 15 year old trainee was a good target. so i moved my brother out of the way and proceded to tell him off at my most patronising best explaining that it was flour - which funnily enough is what his chicken is cooked in. he kept insulting him and was going on about how he works at the council and was going to report us (the council doesnt even inspect us - its all done internally as we are a large company) I pretty much lost it at this point - I wasnt going to put up with this loser telling my little brother off so i let lose with a few choice words - told him I was a law student and that he was a complete idiot so stop pretending like he new anything about hygiene rules (haha i no me being a law student has nothing to do with it, but im sick of customers treating me like im an idiot, as if i work there full time) and pretty much slammed the window in his face.

Thinking back on it, i wish i had said more - it would have been his word against mine and my brothers and i havent had a complaint in the four years ive worked there so in know who they would have believed. But i really wanted to hit him or something - i can handle most moron customers - but insulting my brother made me see red! Oh well, it at least makes me feel better when i think that his life cant be that fulfilling if he finds things like being asked twice for a drink and flour on a uniform worthy of a five minute arguement and a fifteen year old trainee as an acceptable target :rolleyes:

Wouldnt you still be in the Council's jurisdiction and therefore still having to adhere to their standards rather than simply your own company's?

Of course they barely check anyway and the company's standards are likely to be far more detailed than the councils anyway but you surely arent exempt completely?

And he probably didnt work for the council and if so probably a shovel leaner that would get a "yes, we'll look into it" comment from the suits.

Apart from that that guy sounds like an idiot and good on you for standing up to him.

Had a pisser of a transaction yesterday.

Bloke came in to the branch, put $500 on the counter, wanted to deposit it into his account. Whilst I was reaching for his receipt. He's grabbed the money and pissed off.

I've just simply re-opened his account, taken the money back out, and charged him $2.50 for an over the counter transaction. So not only do the police now have his details, but he's $2.50 worse off than when he came in.

That's not a KFC store you work at is it Sear?
I sent the Glenorchy Council in to deal with them after my girlfriend at the time and myself got crook from eating at KFC Derwent Park a couple of years ago.
I would've barred that bloke from the store and sent him on his way :thumbsu:

haha yeh i work at kfc. apparently a few people have gotten food poisoning over the years, but im fairly certain that it was never related to a cook having flour on his clothes :rolleyes: That sucks you got sick though, there are definatly a few dodgy stores out there, although they still have to meet all the same requirements as us, i generally wont eat from any expect my own store

Wouldnt you still be in the Council's jurisdiction and therefore still having to adhere to their standards rather than simply your own company's?

Of course they barely check anyway and the company's standards are likely to be far more detailed than the councils anyway but you surely arent exempt completely?

And he probably didnt work for the council and if so probably a shovel leaner that would get a "yes, we'll look into it" comment from the suits.

Apart from that that guy sounds like an idiot and good on you for standing up to him.

Thanks :thumbsu: It was seriously hard not to hit him! But yeh your right, technally we are under the councils jurisdiction, but our standards are definatly stricter then thiers, they have to be because ours are about image as well as hygiene. So yeh even if the council did come in, it would be nothing to worry about - they wouldnt find anything wrong, i'd be more worried about an inspection from head office. Chances are if his complaint was taken seriously (pfft) then all they wouldl do is call our head office and tell them to look into it anyway - saves them time. And anyway - it wasnt even a hygiene issue really - more about presentation - as if the council would care about that.

But seriously, how unfulfilling must your life be if you look to pick fights with 15 year old kids? if he wasnt so incredibly infuriating i'd almost feel sorry for him... almost