Customer Complaint

I might have used this story once before but I had a customer who had an account! I was required to contact him regarding payment and his wife answered.

She asked why I was calling, I advised it was regarding a purchased product, which she knew about for she used it as well.

Next day my boss gets an E-mail from this bloke complaining that I had called his wife and suggested the purchase needed paying for.

He then proceeded to record his credit card details within this E-mail that wasn't just sent to the boss but to every person within the team!

My boss had a great time telling the guy he was a fair dinkum tool.

Doing a bit of campaigning for the Lord Mayor of Melbourne election. Did a bit of door knocking yesterday. Strategy for those who were obviously supporting certain candidates was to ask them for their 2nd preference on the voting ballot.

Knocked on the door of this Greens house, and asked her if she'd consider it, and then started demanding my details, and who I was authorised by, as she was going to complain to the AEC as it was election rigging and that they couldn't ask people to do that as it was badgering people.

I just looked at her and said "Well, I'm sorry if I've offended you, but surely, if you can ask someone to Vote 1, I'm sure you can ask them to Vote 2?"

She kinda stopped for a minute as if she realised how stupid she sounded, but then started going on about the principle of the matter.

By the time she finished, I was halfway up the street.

To be fair Writing skills need practice.

There are several aspects to writing and the secret is to try and read it from how your audition will see it.

Actually a great place to learn are Internet forums, a good idea is to identify the more credible posters and you will see how they use of words makes a point quite often what they say isn't what give them credibility but how they write it for there could be 20 posts in a thread but there will be a stand out.

Now a question for Hawkes Heroes pick the error with the above paragraph.

1) audience
2) their
3) gives

sorry about length if i get onto writing a reply i look at the keyboard and type like mad , hence the length and no comma's .:eek:

ABC-27-2T.jpg

I work at Coles on the checkouts and usually do the 8pm-midnight shifts being a uni student and all (they're bloody easy and I just stand around talking and eating lollies for most of the night).

The other night at around 9:30pm this lady rings up so I answered the phone:
Me: Hi, Coles *location*, *me* Speaking
Caller: Hello, I'm wondering if you have the movie "the Gardener" there?
Me: I'm not sure, I don't think I've heard of it
Caller: Oh you should have it. It should be in your French film section
Me: Um...we don't have a French film section, you do know we're a supermarket right?
Caller: Oh, its a French film though, "The Gardener"
Me: I'm pretty sure we wouldn't have it if its a French film, we're a supermarket.
Caller: Are you sure you don't have it, its spelt G A R D E N E R
Me: Nah, I doubt we have it
Caller: This is *location* video store isn't it. You should have it
Me: No. We're Coles supermarket.
Caller: Oh, ok. Bye

I'm positive it wasn't a prank call, and am still amazed that she didn't realise she had called a supermarket despite me clearly telling her that.

We have some annoying regulars who like to shop at night at our store. One bloke cracks the sh*ts every time no matter how I pack his bags, often for putting stuff into bags. Then he'll buy a toilet roll pack or something and I'll ask him if he wants a bag for it, and he'll say "Well how else am I meant to carry it, of course I want a bag".

We also have a nutcase who frequently comes through and spends hours at a time in our store. She's a former girlfriend of a horrible man and clearly not quite right. We often have to save other employees from her because she'll ask them something and they get stuck in a never ending conversation.

We had a customer a few months ago come through the store (I may have mentioned this earlier in this thread) who went through the register and watched us scan everything from their trolley, and then tell us that the total of $110 was $60 over her budget and she proceeded to unpack her bags until the total went back down to $50. How do you go $60 over budget? We had two and a half baskets of stuff she couldn't afford.

One pet hate I have is when people decide they don't want something, they try and hide it in the confectionary displays at the register, often in plain view of me. Why don't they just tell the operator that they don't want the item, and give it to them to deal with, instead of burying some pork chops in Caramello Koala's.

Customers are annoying.

I work at a bar at the AIRPORT. You would never believe what I consistently hear at least once a week. Someone orders a pizza or coffee or anything that takes more than 2 minutes to make and after 30 seconds they say "Oh that pizza/coffee can I get that now I have a plane to catch"

No shit Sherlock 97% of the people in the airport have a plane to catch including the 10 other people whose pizzas have been in the oven longer than yours

I think I'm about ready to quit the bank.

Had a customer come in yesterday, wanted to withdraw $15k in cash over the counter. Told him it's bank policy that if you want to withdraw over 5k, you need to give us 24 hours notice, as there's just not enough cash on premises to deal with such a thing. Besides, there's currently a Reserve Bank enforced $100 note shortage in retail, so you'd be walking out with a shitload of $50's.

This guy again asks me to point out where in the T&C's of his account there was anything that said that. Told him it's just standard trade practices that we reserve the right to withhold the product if it is unavailable, similiar if you wanted a particular set of denominations in change from a supermarket, the supermarket isn't legally obliged to give you the tender as requested, just as the actual figure itself.

This guy's cracking the shits, wanting to speak to a manager, telling other customers in the queue how shit this branch is, and what not.

Manage to calm him down, after he realises the reason I'm not giving him the money isn't due to insufficient ID, but rather insufficient cash to give to him. By the end of it, not only is the manager not needed, but I've convinced him to invest it in a term deposit account.

The manager oversees all this, and I'm expecting some hefty praise at the end of it.

Instead, I'm hauled over the coals for not asking "Out of curiosity, how would you rate our service out of 10?"

I could have headbutted that woman.
I hate when they ask that question.

I replied once with "It's pretty ****ing good ey?".

I remember once my mate worked at Maccas in the city. He's an arrogant motherfcuker but in all honesty, he can. He served some dude and he was being himself, a **** basically. He went upstairs to clean the floor with a mop, the guy went upstairs and pulled a syringe on him. Haha, was funny when he told me.

He got fired for hitting the guy with a broom to his head.

I'm sure everyone would have done the same thing.

On a side note, how great are those express DIY checkouts at supermarkets these days?

The amount of shit you can nick is just ridiculous. I came out $20 under budget.

I work at Coles on the checkouts and usually do the 8pm-midnight shifts being a uni student and all (they're bloody easy and I just stand around talking and eating lollies for most of the night).

Me: Um...we don't have a French film section, you do know we're a supermarket right?
Me: I'm pretty sure we wouldn't have it if its a French film, we're a supermarket.

I'm positive it wasn't a prank call, and am still amazed that she didn't realise she had called a supermarket despite me clearly telling her that.

We have some annoying regulars who like to shop at night at our store. One bloke cracks the sh*ts every time no matter how I pack his bags, often for putting stuff into bags. Then he'll buy a toilet roll pack or something and I'll ask him if he wants a bag for it, and he'll say "Well how else am I meant to carry it, of course I want a bag".

We also have a nutcase who frequently comes through and spends hours at a time in our store. She's a former girlfriend of a horrible man and clearly not quite right. We often have to save other employees from her because she'll ask them something and they get stuck in a never ending conversation.

We had a customer a few months ago come through the store (I may have mentioned this earlier in this thread) who went through the register and watched us scan everything from their trolley, and then tell us that the total of $110 was $60 over her budget and she proceeded to unpack her bags until the total went back down to $50. How do you go $60 over budget? We had two and a half baskets of stuff she couldn't afford.

One pet hate I have is when people decide they don't want something, they try and hide it in the confectionary displays at the register, often in plain view of me. Why don't they just tell the operator that they don't want the item, and give it to them to deal with, instead of burying some pork chops in Caramello Koala's.

Customers are annoying.

yes i get that too , work for the same mob . and get annoyed for the same reasons ! specially that last bit , it is usually a cold thing that they hide at that and if you don't see them do it , it is off by the time you find it :thumbsdown:

This guy again asks me to point out where in the T&C's of his account there was anything that said that. Told him it's just standard trade practices that we reserve the right to withhold the product if it is unavailable, similiar if you wanted a particular set of denominations in change from a supermarket, the supermarket isn't legally obliged to give you the tender as requested, just as the actual figure itself.

that goes the other way too if they try and give you say 30 dollars worth of change we can refuse to change it for them if they are not buying anything , if they are we can refuse too depending on how much they want to give us .

http://www.ramint.gov.au/about_ram/default.cfm?Defaultpage=faq.cfm

Is there a limit on the number of coins I can hand over to the shopkeeper in a store?

Yes. The Currency Act stipulates the rules outlined in the table below.

Denomination Quantity

1c & 2c Maximum of 20 cents

5c, 10c, 20c & 50c Maximum of $5

$1, $2, $5 & $10 Not exceeding ten times the face value, inclusive ie a maximum of $100 for $10 notes (10 x $10)

Any other denomination To any value

For more information, please also refer to http://scaleplus.law.gov.au/html/pasteact/0/217/top.htm and http://scaleplus.law.gov.au/html/pasteact/0/64/rtf/Currency65.rtf

Customers are annoying.

I "crack the shits" quite often when I'm shopping.

Having worked in supermarkets, then trained others when managing one, there's nothing more frustrating than register operators who cannot handle basic things, like:

Knowing where the barcodes are on items. 99% of the time it's basic common sense - the first place you look is where it is. Why then do some look the entire package over before scanning?

Knowing the codes for F&V. Seeing as they now all have PHOTOS of the item.....it can't be that hard surely?

Knowing change without having to wait for the register to tell them. How hard is basic subtraction?

Knowing that I probably want the things I've put together on the belt together. If I put all my meat products out first, and my washing powder last (with frozen, dairy, fruit & veg, bread, cardboard, cans, bottles in between) - perhaps I DON'T want to put washing powder on top of my scotch fillet steak.

It's a remarkably simple job with only basic tasks to be completed - yet 90% of operators are next to useless.

you can't really blame them, they're ****ing idiots for the most part. that's why they are working there.

LOL! Gotta love the 'freak..... was that a round-a-bout way of telling Simon Nesbit that he's a ****ing idiot seeing as he not only worked at supermarket, but then upgraded to store manager.... love the subtlety in that abuse. :D

I work at safeway and i had one old bag complain because the ticket on the shelf said that the yogurt was light yougurt but it was only 98% fat free and 98% fat free isnt light 99% fat free is light

Work at a newspaper where court reporting is common.

My mate got a call from someone who had appeared in court and been charged, and we printed the story with his full name and street address, as is legally required.

He phones and says we can't do that, so my mate explains why we have to:

Mate: "In case another person in the town has the name **** *****, we have to print the street address so there's no confusion"
Douche: "But the guy on page three didn't have his street printed"
Mate: Checks paper, "Yeah mate, it says ***** Court"
Douche: "That's an address?"
Mate: stifles laugh "Yeah mate"
Douche: "Are you laughing at me?"
Mate: "No, no I wasn't laughing"
Douche: "What's your name?"
Mate: Tells him first name.
Douche: "What's your last name?"
Mate: Tells him last name.
Douche: "That's a gay name"
And hangs up.