El Dunc

Rookie
Fiora and Rodan are massive frustrations but I'm sure they will improve under a better coach so I'd keep them.

I want Chaffey, Tivendale, Zantuck and Blumfield gone but I bet they will all b there next yr!

Must Go:
Nicholls
Houlihan
Hilton
Fletcher
Fleming
Rogers
D. Kellaway

Shaky Ground/ Happy if they go
Pettifer
Blumfield
Marsh
Chaffey
Tivendale
Zantuck
Rodan
Fiora

Trade bait
Bowden
Ottens
Gaspar

Thoughts???

Pettifer has shown if he is given game and a proper role in the team he as the ability to thrive. We would be silly to get rid of him now.

Tivendale has to be kept, once again with the right coach and game plan will hopefully take the next step. Is still a good contributor. I would like to see him kick more goals and hopefully a free running direct gameplan will help him with that.

It wasn't that long ago when Chaffey was playing great football off halfback. I don't beleive he could have lost all of that ability overnight.

However Fiora is in the similiar mould of these two and I don't think we have room in the team for all three.

I want Chaffey, Tivendale, Zantuck and Blumfield gone but I bet they will all b there next yr!

Must Go:
Nicholls
Houlihan
Hilton
Fletcher
Fleming
Rogers
D. Kellaway

Pettifer
Blumfield
Marsh
Chaffey
Tivendale
Zantuck
Rodan
Fiora

Trade bait
Bowden
Ottens
Gaspar

Agree with all the must goes.

Tivendale is one of the best kicks in the comp. He'll be staying. He's not a ball winner but can hit a full forward on the chest from 40 metres. Not many in our side can!
Blumfield won't be there next year. Pettifer, Rodan will be there.
Fiora is an absolute dud and he'll probably go to Port - the dud that picked him - Beck in front of Pavlich should follow him.
Bowden is one of our better players and well worth keeping.
Chaffey and Gas might be traded. Bad attitude ( Zantuck ) is worth keeping as he is of similar age as our younger players.
Ottens will stay unless he asks for a ridiculous amount. Under a new Coach he could win the brownlow.

Originally posted by El Dunc
Fiora and Rodan are massive frustrations but I'm sure they will improve under a better coach so I'd keep them.

Must Go:
Nicholls
Houlihan
Hilton
Fletcher
Fleming
Rogers
D. Kellaway

Thoughts???
Agree
Pettifer
Blumfield
Marsh
Chaffey
Tivendale
Zantuck
Rodan
Fiora

Trade bait
Bowden
Ottens
Gaspar

Would keep Pettifer,Tivendale-hopefully at least a couple of the others have some trade currency.

Keep Bowden,Ottens--Trade Gasper even if it we have to pay 1/2 his wage next season at another club.

Retired

Duncan Kellaway
Matthew Rogers

Delisted/Traded
Houlihan - Rated at Richmond in the inner sanctum, but has not produced. Delist

Pettifer - Nothing to really say here, but do not delist. Trade only. Kane will be a good prospect for some clubs

Fiora - Same as Pettifer

Rodan - Keep playing him in the Seniors to increase his value at the trade table. Must trade.

Chaffey - Harsh but true. Chaff needs to play for another side to get back some form. Only trade if a decent trade is available

Weller - Delist. Has done nothing to warrant keeping on the list

Hilton - Sorry Mate. The injury suggests you are on your way out. Delist

Marsh - Surely this draft we can pick up 2 or maybe 3 development ruckmen. Delist

Fletcher - Gone. Delist. Not done enough to keep on the list

Nicholls - Gone. Delist

If the deal is right.

Trade

- Stafford - His contract needs to be down graded. He was on a packet when at the Swans, which we took over.

- Blumfield - Sign to another one year performance based deal, only because he is a decent player when fit.

- Gaspar - If the deal is right, but it will cost the Tigers somewhat as he is contracted until the end of 2006

- Ottens - Only if he wants to go. I desperately want to keep him on a realistic performance based contract

- Zantuck - Trade if there is a decent deal on the table

2005 end of year.

The jury is out on keeping Campbell (retire) and Hall (trade). Hyde and Newman may be worth revaluating at the end of 2005 as well. Morrison must step up in 2005 or he is a dead man walking in the AFL.

In summary

2 retirements
6 delistings
Potential 9 trades open

Keep Fleming this year as we cannot change the list overnight.

I would like to keep Fleming, he is developing into a handy player. Atleast he can hit a target at times which is more than some of our other so called senior players.

Originally posted by londontiger
- Stafford - His contract needs to be down graded. He was on a packet when at the Swans, which we took over.

The Swans continued to pay some of his salary when he came over. I think they were paying something like $30-50K, while we were paying a larger amount for Daffy to be on their list. Surely one of the more bizarre things in football, where two players are traded for each other and each club continues paying the bloke they traded.

The jury is out on keeping Campbell (retire) and Hall (trade)
I think Campbell has a year to go on his contract. IMO he will stand down from the captaincy at the end of this year and play on for one more year as non-captain.

Hall signed a 2 year deal after the club tried to trade him last year, so unless he puts his hand up to be traded I don't think it will happen.

These sorts of threads have been done before..

Guess what. This is the 1,000,000th thread the same, on the tigers board, this year.

Want me to post a thread about it?

Originally posted by rfctigerarmy
These sorts of threads have been done before..

Guess what. This is the 1,000,000th thread the same, on the tigers board, this year.

Want me to post a thread about it?

It's kind of hard to not have seen every thread before when you
have 5198 posts to your name.

Originally posted by oxx
It's kind of hard to not have seen every thread before when you
have 5198 posts to your name.

That doesnt make sence to me.. but it wouldnt, would it, with 5202 posts next to my name.

Originally posted by Crumden
The Swans continued to pay some of his salary when he came over. I think they were paying something like $30-50K, while we were paying a larger amount for Daffy to be on their list. Surely one of the more bizarre things in football, where two players are traded for each other and each club continues paying the bloke they traded.

I think Campbell has a year to go on his contract. IMO he will stand down from the captaincy at the end of this year and play on for one more year as non-captain.

Hall signed a 2 year deal after the club tried to trade him last year, so unless he puts his hand up to be traded I don't think it will happen.

No worries Crumden. I was suggesting that after the end of 2005 Campbell (retire) and Hall (trade)

Fleming goes in for it. I like that about him.

He doesnt have the powerful body to be as effective at it as Voss nor the skill but with the number of players who are self appointed designated recievers and cant dispose of it without turning it over, hes refreshing.

umm

Retired

D.Kellaway
Rogers

trades

staff (3rd)
gaspar (2nd)
chaffey (3rd)
A.Kellaway (4th)

Delist

Marsh
Houlihan
Nicholls
hilton
fletcher
Archibald (draft him on the rookie list ala Dragga)

Draft: 3 rucks, 3 keys and 5 mids and 3 rookies

Approx: 2, 4, 20, 28, 36, 40, 44, 52, 57, PSD1, psd2.

Fleming shouldnt go at years end.

Flemming is the sort of bloke youd want as a mate if you were
out and got into a fight with more guys than you.

You know he'd back u up unlike the REST of the team except for maybe Stafford.

When he's gone Ill remember him as the littl bloke who had spark and heart but not overly equipped in the skill dept.
Not even playing under spud or with that collection of mercinary rabble could make him anything less - unlike the others.

He loves his footy but he's no Voss so for this we want to shoot him?!!

Go Timboy.

Re: umm

Originally posted by DirtyDogTiger
Retired

D.Kellaway
Rogers

trades

staff (3rd)
gaspar (2nd)
chaffey (3rd)
A.Kellaway (4th)

Delist

Marsh
Houlihan
Nicholls
hilton
fletcher
Archibald (draft him on the rookie list ala Dragga)

Draft: 3 rucks, 3 keys and 5 mids and 3 rookies

Approx: 2, 4, 20, 28, 36, 40, 44, 52, 57, PSD1, psd2.

Great thoughts I agree,any chance of getting tall guys that are not built like toothpicks this time, or am I the only one thinking we are the weediest team in the comp.Is there a weight room at punt road?

Originally posted by londontiger
Retired

Duncan Kellaway
Matthew Rogers

Delisted/Traded
Houlihan - Rated at Richmond in the inner sanctum, but has not produced. Delist

Pettifer - Nothing to really say here, but do not delist. Trade only. Kane will be a good prospect for some clubs

Fiora - Same as Pettifer

Rodan - Keep playing him in the Seniors to increase his value at the trade table. Must trade.

Chaffey - Harsh but true. Chaff needs to play for another side to get back some form. Only trade if a decent trade is available

Weller - Delist. Has done nothing to warrant keeping on the list

Hilton - Sorry Mate. The injury suggests you are on your way out. Delist

Marsh - Surely this draft we can pick up 2 or maybe 3 development ruckmen. Delist

Fletcher - Gone. Delist. Not done enough to keep on the list

Nicholls - Gone. Delist

If the deal is right.

Trade

- Blumfield - Sign to another one year performance based deal, only because he is a decent player when fit.

- Gaspar - If the deal is right, but it will cost the Tigers somewhat as he is contracted until the end of 2006

- Ottens - Only if he wants to go. I desperately want to keep him on a realistic performance based contract

- Zantuck - Trade if there is a decent deal on the table

2005 end of year.

The jury is out on keeping Campbell (retire) and Hall (trade). Hyde and Newman may be worth revaluating at the end of 2005 as well. Morrison must step up in 2005 or he is a dead man walking in the AFL.

In summary

2 retirements
6 delistings
Potential 9 trades open

Keep Fleming this year as we cannot change the list overnight.

There won't be anyone left if we do all that!:D

Originally posted by Captain Blood
There won't be anyone left if we do all that!:D

You're right, Cap't ... can't do all of that.

LT's observations on individual players, however, are still all realistic in my view. Each of his proposed trades/delists, in any normal year, would be quite valid.

I've said it before and I'll go again....everyone on the list should be trade-bait excluding Richo and possibly Brown, Coughlan and Johnson. This is a hypothetical but if we had the option of trading Coughlan for Judd then I say go for it. The point is, lets not make the mistake of missing out on a gun if we can make it happen. The only reason I have Richo as the untouchable is that he is a true matchwinner and players like him do not come around all that often. In the right team structure, he would flourish. He has shown this year that he has the goods...all he needs is to stay on the park.