Cutting Buddy some slack this week.

Hating him for taking the deal of the century, a deal that no one would knock back is pretty stupid really, and given the events of the week - extremely petty in the big picture of life.

Yeah BS.... i'd crawl on broken glass to play 5min for Hawthorn

And therein lies the difference between players and fans. You can't expect players to think and feel like fans. At the end of the day Buddy is still part of the Hawthorn family regardless of what a few nuffies on here think. If he's 'just another opposition player' then why boo in the first place?

This is a time to think about all the joy Buddy and Roughy have brought us and show them, and all the rest, our compassion. If the Hawthorn players come out flat, cheer them anyway. If they lose by 10 goals, cheer them off the ground. The result of a football match just isn't that important right now. Buddy choosing to leave the club just isn't important right now.

And I know Roughy has said he wants business as usual, but I doubt his idea of business as usual involves booing anyone.

And therein lies the difference between players and fans. You can't expect players to think and feel like fans. At the end of the day Buddy is still part of the Hawthorn family regardless of what a few nuffies on here think. If he's 'just another opposition player' then why boo in the first place?

This is a time to think about all the joy Buddy and Roughy have brought us and show them, and all the rest, our compassion. If the Hawthorn players come out flat, cheer them anyway. If they lose by 10 goals, cheer them off the ground. The result of a football match just isn't that important right now. Buddy choosing to leave the club just isn't important right now.

And I know Roughy has said he wants business as usual, but I doubt his idea of business as usual involves booing anyone.

Great post mate.

Bud needs to show some respect when playing against Hawthorn and not carry on like a galah celebrating….much like international soccer players do when they play against there former clubs they do not celebrate goals against them….him carrying on like a goose waiving his arms around shows no respect and no class….you took the cash (secretly bankrolled by AFL) did the deceitful deal after 2012 GF….as a minimum show class every time you play against your former club

Thats crap, he gets just as much media attention in Sydney LOL.
That is rubbish

The Sydney media mentioned him when he crashed the jeep, and apart from that, he gets minimal coverage.

That's because Afl gets minimal coverage.

I actively avoid rugby league, but it's bordering on impossible.

Think of buddy's coverage in Sydney as billy slater, cooper Cronk, and cam smith combined in Melbourne.

And calling him judas. Seriously? I seem to recall his last game for the Hawks was a Premiership. He didn't destroy the club like some other players from other clubs. (Travis cloke?)

Cheer the Hawks, hope Sydney get destroyed, but booing buddy. That's just sad.

Bud needs to show some respect when playing against Hawthorn and not carry on like a galah celebrating….much like international soccer players do when they play against there former clubs they do not celebrate goals against them….him carrying on like a goose waiving his arms around shows no respect and no class….you took the cash (secretly bankrolled by AFL) did the deceitful deal after 2012 GF….as a minimum show class every time you play against your former club

This.

All this talk of booing buddy...dont get it. We were so buddy focussed post 2008, him leaving was actually a good thing for the club. It forced a change in offence which led to a threepeat.

Besides, I love watching buddy. Seeing him drop bombs from that left pocket outside 50m is sublime

He left for the security of 10 million and Jesinta Campbell end of story.
True but still a stupid move when his club was on the cusp of greatness. I would have happily traded a few million and that piece of
Sydney crumpet for 2 more flags and counting.

Imagine tonight Buddy's got a kick after the siren to win the game, I'm fairly sure people's no booing policy
will be swept under the door. After all if we boo and get a win its gotta be good for Roughie and the club.
God help us if we sat in silence and watched Buddy down Roughie and the Hawks.

Imagine tonight Buddy's got a kick after the siren to win the game, I'm fairly sure people's no booing policy
will be swept under the door. After all if we boo and get a win its gotta be good for Roughie and the club.
God help us if we sat in silence and watched Buddy down Roughie and the Hawks.

Of course. But that is very different.

That is booing a player that is kicking for goal after the siren. Doesn't matter who it is.

Of course. But that is very different.

That is booing a player that is kicking for goal after the siren. Doesn't matter who it is.
Then I'll need a written guide as to when I can and can't boo Buddy. Could be very confusing!

I think its been an emotional week for all Hawks supporters.. But lets not confuse the matter of life vs footy...

Boo'ing Buddy has nothing to do with not appreciating what he did for the Hawks, lets keep it simple..

Opposition player = Boo
Ex-Hawk Opposition player = Louder Boo
Ex-Hawk Opposition player who committed to the team that beat us in the 2012 GF (only weeks after) = EXTRA Loud Boo

It's footy..not life..after the game we all shake hands and next week I will hope Buddy kicks 10 goals... But against the Hawks no opposition player gets my well wishes :cool:
Best way to support Roughy and Hawthorn is to Boo those who oppose us and Boo lauder those that betray us. JK3, Franklin and McGlynn made their choice, they are not Hawthorn people, they are opposing us, and opposing Roughead. BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!

In defence of Kennedy, Hawthorn wouldn't guarantee him a regular game, Sydney offered him a regular game and a lot more
money so he left - our mistake. As for McGlynn, well he's not worth booing.

That is total bullshit. Especially on JK3 McGlynn - the club effectively made the calls on those two.

Seriously?

Can someone explain to me how booing someone provides support to someone else?

Next time my son is sick, I'll boo the sickness. Surely that will help.

I love the Hawks. It saddens me when any player leaves the Hawks. Especially once in a lifetime players like Franklin. I will never, ever boo buddy. I may not clap his goals any more, but I'll never, ever boo the guy.

I think buddy needs to be more humble and appreciative for the club who turned him into the player he is today.

Plenty of talented players never reached their full potential for various reasons, but hawthorn always made sure he was on the right path and doing what he needed to be doing to get the best out of himself.

I think prancing around and getting into his ex teammates faces and trying to act all tough to them shows poor humility. I think Dangerfield did great last week against his old side, he was very humble and not. Dickhead towards them.

It still rubs me the wrong way when I hear Sydney supporters cheer for buddy and try to wave it in hawks supporters faces. They are a smug bunch!!! The only ones I really have any sense of time for are the original South Melbourne supporters, they can jump up and down and carry on as much as they like, they deserve it.

I think buddy needs to be more humble and appreciative for the club who turned him into the player he is today.

Plenty of talented players never reached their full potential for various reasons, but hawthorn always made sure he was on the right path and doing what he needed to be doing to get the best out of himself.

I think prancing around and getting into his ex teammates faces and trying to act all tough to them shows poor humility. I think Dangerfield did great last week against his old side, he was very humble and not. Dickhead towards them.

It still rubs me the wrong way when I hear Sydney supporters cheer for buddy and try to wave it in hawks supporters faces. They are a smug bunch!!! The only ones I really have any sense of time for are the original South Melbourne supporters, they can jump up and down and carry on as much as they like, they deserve it.
After the game he was over talking to the Hawks boys. It's just how he plays

At the game last night. Can't believe how many people still boo/slander bud. Short memories? We pretty much built this era around his greatness.

I don't boo him. I don't slander him. I don't give a shit about him. He's just another opposition player we have to deal with when we play the Swans. The moment Buddy decided he no longer wanted to be a part of what is going on at Hawthorn, that's the moment I lost interest in him.

Me too.
He's just some player in a non-Hawthorn jumper.

He only stands out at Sydney because he's surrounded by garbage ...

Who cares about the Swans fans anyway. Old South died when the pink helicopter set got involved with the club. Its understanable that they are green with envy with our success. If you remember back to the 2014 GF day the only Swans that didnt shit the bed were ex Hawthorn players

Personally I will never boo Buddy because he will always be a Hawthorn person pure and simple