Brisbane Lions
Philadelphia Eagles
Apologies if there is already another thread about this but I was just wondering if any of you ride to work? If so, do you leave a spare suit and shirts at work and get changed after getting to work or what? The firm I work for are potentially moving to a new office building that doesn't have car parks available and I am not very keen on public transport.

When I worked at a medical clinic I left my uniform there and got changed at work...

One of the doctors who worked there did/does the same thing

Highly recommend riding to work if it's doable, there is a fair chance that your travel time will be quicker than driving during peak hour traffic

I leave trousers and shirts at work- they provide lockers for this. We have showers and lockup bike racks as well. Otherwise I just take everything in my backpack, it's not a long ride.

I'm only 20 minutes away from work by bus so I don't always ride in but I should more often. And tomorrow is Ride to Work day after all!

had a boss that used to ride in, one day I got there when he did and he was in full lycra sweating like a pedo in a playground

turned me off biking to work for life, couldnt imagine how he could ever enjoy his day starting off that sweat getting changed in to slacks and a shirt

Leave my trousers at work, bring a fresh shirt with me in my backpack (roll it up instead of folding it to prevent creasing) and bob's your uncle. Helps to have a fan at your desk to cool off before showering too.

I cycle to work each day & never shower but since I'm a teacher it doesn't matter, kids smell worse than I do. Although I let off a ripper of a fart in class today. Best thing about being a teacher is you can blame it on the kids.

Used to cycle to work. Was about 20km each way and would take me about an hour each way.

If you have somewhere to leave some ironed shirts then its probably easier to do that, otherwise just chuck a change of cloths in a backpack. We had a shower at work so I would shower when I got there.

It's such a refreshing good feeling starting your working day off after an hours exercise and a shower.

Depending how far you are and your fitness you might want to ease your way into it. Do a test ride on the weekend and see how long it takes you.

I used to do it about 3 days a week (Tuesdays and Thursdays I drove so that I could get to footy training on time after work)

Another idea at the start if you only think you have it in you to go one way is to drive your car to work with the bike in it one day, then cycle home. Then cycle to work the next morning and drive home.

Use to ride to work, great way to start the day and you feel more awake and alert. Good thing is you're doing your fitness on the way home so when you get home no need to go for a run.
Don't wear lycra, footy shorts with skins underneath is plenty enough.

Use to ride to work, great way to start the day and you feel more awake and alert. Good thing is you're doing your fitness on the way home so when you get home no need to go for a run.
Don't wear lycra, footy shorts with skins underneath is plenty enough.
Wear lycra. Don't be soft.

If it is for financial reasons that you cycle to work, I respect your decision.

While I don't think financial reasons were on the forefront of my mind when deciding to ride, it certainly is a bonus...

I think it came down to the fact that riding my bike was a good 20 minutes quicker than the tram, and I wouldn't ever really dream of driving to work (I don't own a car either.. :P )

can't agree with you -

Is it even possible to wear lycra that doesn't make you a billboard for wanky coffee shops?
Plenty of good plain lycra around if you don't want adds.

Having said that not really necessary if you're just rolling along on a mountain bike/commuter, but i'm not going to hop on my road bike in baggy shorts and t-shirt.

Wear lycra. Don't be soft.

I'll keep to dressing in sports clothes as to avoid looking like I a try hard. Unless you're a professional the full lycra get up should never be worn.

can't agree with you -

Is it even possible to wear lycra that doesn't make you a billboard for wanky coffee shops?

No, it's the equivalent of putting on your full teams football kit, socks, shorts and jersey to have a kick with a mate in the park. You look like a twat.

No it's the equivalent of wearing activity appropriate attire. Having ridden in rain/freezing cold, and really hot temperatures, over reasonable distances in both non lycra and lycra, i can tell you lycra is much more comfortable.

If you are worried about looking like a twat you should work on your self confidence issues. Who gives a crap what others think.

you know, I agree with every part of this sentence.. and I've thought that to myself plenty of times...

but i just can't bring myself to wear lycra -

No it's the equivalent of wearing activity appropriate attire. Having ridden in rain/freezing cold, and really hot temperatures, over reasonable distances in both non lycra and lycra, i can tell you lycra is much more comfortable.

Not fussed what others think, I think people that wear it look ridiculous and I would too if I wore it. I have been given some from a friend that works in the industry to try and I did not see any benefit at all to it.

No worries, have to do what you feel comfortable with, but can't bag those out who do.

Out of curiosity what type of bike do you ride, what sort of distances?