Dangerfield

I love the kid and think he has potential to burn so dont get me wrong.

Does anyone else currently think at this stage of his career he is a little bit over rated especially for the captaincy?

Sure he does the unthinkable and throws his body around but I am yet to see a performance that says captaincy material let alone a performance that says star. I do think he has the potential to be an out an out star but he needs work.

I think he is too clumsy and fumbles way to much and his skills need alot of work.

Am I way off or is Adelaide getting way to excited over what may be nothing more then a good player.

he also does not get anywhere near the possesion rate you would expect from a midfielder.

i still think he will be a star. but it would be nice if he started getting a bit more of it. if he doesn't he won't be first or last to not meet the expectations of a supporter base.

Does anyone else currently think at this stage of his career he is a little bit over rated especially for the captaincy?

Sure he does the unthinkable and throws his body around but I am yet to see a performance that says captaincy material let alone a performance that says star. I do think he has the potential to be an out an out star but he needs work.

I think he is too clumsy and fumbles way to much and his skills need alot of work.

Am I way off or is Adelaide getting way to excited over what may be nothing more then a good player.

he also does not get anywhere near the possesion rate you would expect from a midfielder.

You're way off until your last statement.

He doesn't get enough uncontested pill

This is why there has been cries for him to go to half back where he can learn how to get the cheap kick like Goodwin got today. I mean there is a way to ease into your retirement, not have an opponent and just run around and get the footy.

his attack on the footy is suicidal

his commitment is unquestioned

his play can be inspirational

his disposal is occasionally ordinary

every other team would take him in a heartbeat

if he got 25 possies a game he would win a Brownlow

he just doesn't know what an uncontested ball looks like

This X10000:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

He occasionally fluffs one but in general his disposal is alright (not elite, but it does the job). He needs to learn how to get uncontested ball. Hopefully that will come with experience and another preseason under his belt. His disposal count would be lowered by the fact we use him at FF quite a bit too but I think it would be nice to give him a shot on the half back, maybe just periodically, to let him learn how to seagull a bit. We have another forward option with Hendo there now so that may be able to release him to half back.

But for now, I'm very happy to admire what this kid can do in contested situations... it truly is a pleasure to watch!

His second and third efforts are amazing.Today he turned the ball over but then went and laid the tackle that got the ball back

I think his fumbles are just the fact he is over eager.Reminds me of the best player in under 12s wants to do it all.Got to remember he is still learning

Cant agree with you i think he is going to be a star he already is the best early draft pick we have ever had and i strated a thread a while back saying if it means keeping him do we give him the Captaincy.I maintain it he is Captain material just give it to him

You would not even need to hold the event and the AFL could save on an large alcohol bill at Crown. Would be the greatest individual season ever played.

Well, considering most on this board expect Danger to be better than God, then he is probably a little over-rated, but that says more about our expectations and hype than it does his ability.

Danger can already do most of the hard stuff, like getting contested footy, playing a small forward role. What he needs to learn is how to do the easy stuff, like getting an uncontested possession.

I definitely think he's captaincy material over the next few years. If you want someone who leads by example, and competitiveness is what you're looking for, then Dangerfield is your man.

He wont get many uncontested balls when he is the 1st to hit the ball at ground level and when he stands up has players hanging off him.

Would people prefer him to stand off the pack and let someone else get it to him?

Well put.:thumbsu:
I think his only drawback may be his abundance of intensity!
I don't think anyone currently playing AFL could keep that Level up for a whole game.
If he manages to build his fitness and strength to such a level where he can keep this up for a whole game then he will be frikkin awesome!

Well put.:thumbsu:
I think his only drawback may be his abundance of intensity!
I don't think anyone currently playing AFL could keep that Level up for a whole game.
If he manages to build his fitness and strength to such a level where he can keep this up for a whole game then he will be frikkin awesome!

His strength is already there I just worry that he may be made to big and he loses speed as a result. the crows need judd like pace in the midfield and dangerfield can clearly provide it. I hope to god the crows dont try and make him too big.

There's plenty of love in the non-Adelaide media too, which is a fair effort for a young kid playing over here, normally its a good 5 seasons before they learn his name:rolleyes:

Does he have area's to work on? Sure he does, his disposal every now and then is a little off, that and as already mentioned, he needs to learn to find more uncontested possession, but I think that's coming, I seen signs of it over the past few weeks. Must also remember that he's still spending a lot of time deep forward, which hurts his ability to find the pill. As he spends more and more time on the pill, he'll get more of it.

His kicking is a funny one, he as a very low tragectory kick and it goes dead straight and pretty hard(he's like the anti-Symes), at the moment he doesn't quite understand how to use it. Some of his kicks today required less stab and a little more loft to just lob it over an opponent and give his team mate time to run onto it. Like Douglas for a number of years, he looks to still be just finding his feet and realising how good he could actually be, he's still learning the ropes as to what he can do and what he can't.

His strength is already there I just worry that he may be made to big and he loses speed as a result. the crows need judd like pace in the midfield and dangerfield can clearly provide it. I hope to god the crows dont try and make him too big.

I wouldn't worry too much about that, he's already been banned from the Gym. The kid only needs to look at weights and the muscles on his muscles grow extra muscles:D

Love the P Dange. (don't we all :) )

Couple of things about him I reckon he needs to work on if he is to be half as good as we all hope/dream he will be:

- Finding the uncontested pill (been said by many already)
- LATERAL MOVEMENT

For me Patty is a very very straight line player at the moment. Doesn't seem to have that ability to go sideways with the same power and speed that he does straight ahead. I think this is one reason he doesn't get more of a run through the middle. Very easy to take a player out of the game, block his run if he is a very 'straight' player. I hope he can evolve this side of the game - may need special training to build up those skills and muscles over all the other muscles he has :)

On his disposal/fumbling... look at the kid, he's bulging with muscles he doesn't even know how they got there yet - let alone how to use them. I think as he settles into his new frame they'll both improve. Of far more concern to me is whether he can work on his lateral movement.

Worst case scenario is he plays off a HBF; breaks lines and smashes into contests. Think how we used Roo in the 2nd half of the 98 granny coz he was taken out of the game.
We all want far more for him than that though!

PS Walker managers to elude people when he is so 'slow' compared to danger being 'fast' because he DOES have that ability to move laterally on top of his footy brain being elite and instinctive.

Will be a superstar no doubt, only the very best players can smash through tackles and win the contested ball like that and break away through the middle, not to mention he has an excellent pair of hands. As everyone has said many times, he needs to get the uncontested footy, but I think that is easier to teach. He has all the natural ability, just need to refine some basic things.

Will be a star.

It is indeed premature of us to be thinking of him as a captain. But it is mostly because the cupboard is so bare in terms of leadership candidates and those that are being spoken about are a little 'whelming' to say the least (Rutten, van Berlo).

If we had a decent 25-28 year old candidate Dangerfield wouldn't even be in the discussion for 2011. But we don't, so he is.

It is indeed premature of us to be thinking of him as a captain. But it is mostly because the cupboard is so bare in terms of leadership candidates and those that are being spoken about are a little 'whelming' to say the least (Rutten, van Berlo).

If we had a decent 25-28 year old candidate Dangerfield wouldn't even be in the discussion for 2011. But we don't, so he is.

That's what I am basing things on If Thommo,Vince and Stiffy can't have it cause of their off field hassles then there ain't no one else

Will be a superstar no doubt, only the very best players can smash through tackles and win the contested ball like that and break away through the middle, not to mention he has an excellent pair of hands. As everyone has said many times, he needs to get the uncontested footy, but I think that is easier to teach. He has all the natural ability, just need to refine some basic things.

Will be a star.

I actually think the opposite. Contested football is all about attitude and your mindset at the contest. Anyone can slam in and get their head over the ball if they want it bad enough. Yes it requires skill but its something that anyone can do if they are willing to. Winning uncontested ball requires football smarts, knowing when to run into space, where to run, how to read the game etc. That can be much harder than just hitting the ball with 100% intensity.

Each to their own opinion but I think you will find that a lot of coaches will think teaching someone to get an uncontested ball in space is harder than teaching them how to win it in a pack situation.

Sorry to intrude but I'm a big Dangerfield fan....On him getting the uncontested ball....Of course it can be taught, just needs to change (or altar is probably the better word) the mindset he has always had. If he went in told by the coaches to not get a contested ball and only look for cheap ball, he would have no probs.

He has just always played like this. Then you have things like fitness (continuous running to space/ running for a handball receive), confidence (feeling comfortable demanding the ball) and the role the coaches give him.

Just be patient, more pre-seasons and experience and he will be the player you expect.

He had a stinker in regards to clean hands and choices, but yet again he is just a bull. Shows at worst, he'll be a very good player. Once he developes the tank to play a lot of middle time. I'm excited.

I've been told his manager was in town yesterday and everything is going well

Did any one else here this any thing in the powertiser