Oppo Camp Dangerfield's Gone (Zero tolerance to trolling) - READ THREAD LINKED IN OP BEFORE POSTING

Can a mod with a ban stick please use it on these geelong trolls... going into our board and telling us to accept peanuts for gold. ******s.

I don't think they're trolls, mostly they're just not real bright. They genuinely believe the shit that emanates from their keyboards.

Zac Smith's manager Blucher said before on trade radio that his deal is looking complicated because Geelong already have to pay for Danger and Henderson. The way he worded it was he's not entirely sure they'll have currency to pay for him and all Zac wants to do is play A grade footy. That last part really does highlight he'd be open to any club wanting a ruck (Western Bulldogs/Essendon etc).

I wouldn't hold my breath for 2 first rounders if I were an Adelaide fan, that's all I'm saying. My point is that what's 'fair' is subjective and IMO any other club in Adelaide's position would also concede accepting a 'sub par' offer (i.e. any trade that involves two 1st rounders is out of the question) and that includes Geelong who've gone through similar situations with other players who've committed to playing at another club and only that club. It's a players league nowadays I'm afraid, they're the ones that dictate the terms and give the leverage to the club they choose and it hasn't worked in Geelong's favour until now.

Oh okay, thanks for that mate. Love it.

You think that pick 9 this year and our first next year - for argument's sake let's say pick 13 - is fair compensation?

Absolutely not. It's the point at which I think both clubs will meet when no players want to make the move to Adelaide.

So Connors saying pick 9 and a second round next year or Pick 9 and a player this year is what has been discussed between the two clubs

I thought Connors said on Wednesday that he believed a compo pick was fair. Looks like connors has no clue what the clubs are discussing. Maybe he meant a first and second and a player, who knows he changes his mind every two days

Zac Smith's manager Blucher said before on trade radio that his deal is looking complicated because Geelong already have to pay for Danger and Henderson. The way he worded it was he's not entirely sure they'll have currency to pay for him and all Zac wants to do is play A grade footy. That last part really does highlight he'd be open to any club wanting a ruck (Western Bulldogs/Essendon etc).
Really? But I thought Geelongs 2016 2nd round Draft pick is dedicated to Zac Smith and that Geelong don't have 2016 1st rounder to pay for Dangerfield due to them using a future draft pick on Zac Smith according to a knowledgeable Geelong poster that posted that theory here yesterday.

Hilarious, absolutely hilarious stuff here.
Keep it coming Geelong.

Go Crows

Absolutely not. It's the point at which I think both clubs will meet when no players want to make the move to Adelaide.

They only need to be prepared to go to another Melbourne based club. That said, I don't see the Cats forcing a player out, but I expect they've probably asked a few if they'd consider it.

That doesn't stop them posting shit on this board.
I dont quite get all the negativity. There are some obvious flogs but some of them have been quite willing to converse and debate quite respectfully. The minute they say something we dont agree with everyone goes full Lindy on them. Just my opinion but I reckon we have been very insular on this whole issue and some of the stuff being posted on here has been quite embarrassing. There are a few of the Geelong folk that are good to talk to and theyve been shot down in flames and banned here for doing bugger all.

End of rant.

Im not sure why they are even interested in Zac Smith. I honestly dont see him us an upgrade on Dawson Simpson.

I think the people disrespecting free agency is Geelong, and that the AFL and AFLPA should be directing their ire towards the cats

the spirit of FA is completely violated when a team offers a low ball financial offer. it was never designed for low offers, this is where the spirit of FA is being disregarded.

RFA works fine, when both sides respect the intention of how its meant to be played. It can't be blamed on us if an insultingly low offer is lodged by some chancers who are trying it on
This is an outstanding insight for mine. I now feel better armed for conversations on the topic.

I thought Connors said on Wednesday that he believed a compo pick was fair. Looks like connors has no clue what the clubs are discussing. Maybe he meant a first and second and a player, who knows he changes his mind every two days

It would be fair if we didn't match, that's the rules. If we match, fair changes, he's an astute man.

I dont quite get all the negativity. There are some obvious flogs but some of them have been quite willing to converse and debate quite respectfully. The minute they say something we dont agree with everyone goes full Lindy on them. Just my opinion but I reckon we have been very insular on this whole issue and some of the stuff being posted on here has been quite embarrassing. There are a few of the Geelong folk that are good to talk to and theyve been shot down in flames and banned here for doing bugger all.

End of rant.

I agree. It's really only the posters who refuse to understand the difference between the 2 forms of free agency that shit me. And the morons who seem to think that trying to get the best deal possible will somehow force players to leave and result in players never wanting to come to us.

You think that pick 9 this year and our first next year - for argument's sake let's say pick 13 - is fair compensation?
I'd take that. But our club then needs to get some ready made players to replace the loss of danger in our squad IMO. I'd probably on trade your first from next year to get another trade done (Redden?) and use pick 9 this year.
We were set to peak with 2017 with walshy/danger around..Pyke helps us fill the first void.. but it does set us back a bit - but losing Danger as well without getting ready made players means we are close to rebuild for mine.

End of rant.
I've been unusually impressed with the restraint of our posters, actually (none more than you, in fact). Almost everyone here has recognised that we'll almost certainly get well below value for Dangerfield and are making contributions and suggestions based around this logical assumption, instead of the "PICK 1 AND 2 OR PSD" nonsense we often see on this board. It's like we're already meeting them half way, with suggestions like Pick 9 and Cockatoo or whatever.

This is why some of the posts by Geelong fans on here have been annoying. We've got just as many clowns as them, but there seems to be a very poor understanding of the 'restricted' part of RFA on one side of debate. It's tough to lose your best player. To then have a very large number of posters basically suggesting we should be happy with the compo pick, and are acting outside the 'spirit of free agency' for wanting to match to negotiate a better deal for a player who is clearly worth significantly more than this, is a little tedious.

I know it doesn't mean much coming from me - a guy who threw out a pretty solid rant last night - but that's how I see it.

Edit: misunderstood your comment.

Pick 9 and 13 would possiblt get the deal done. Saying that, pick 13 wouldn't want to drop much lower. Pick 13 would be the lowest I would want to go.

so why hasn't Geelong put their offer on the table yet?
Because both clubs want a trade to be done at the early stage rather than the late stage.

If it goes to the second stage, after Adelaide match, and they still can't agree on a trade, Geelong get nothing, Adelaide get nothing and PD ends up at somewhere like Melbourne. Everyone loses (except Melbourne).

Adelaide and PD would lose most, Geelong will simply ensure they get all their other trade targets comfortably, keep a first pick and pursue another mid next year.

Adelaide will definitely match because the offer on the table before that stage would, presumably, still be there after so they could still accept it, perhaps the cats will panic into an upgraded pick, but if they don't, Adelaide will have to accept or risk getting nothing instead of whatever Geelong are offering (At least a first round pick better than the compensation pick).

The trade will be announced early next week and you can all relax (or continue to froth at the mouth, but turn it at your own club as if they know less than you do with your mad negotiating skillz.)

Because both clubs want a trade to be done at the early stage rather than the late stage.

If it goes to the second stage, after Adelaide match, and they still can't agree on a trade, Geelong get nothing, Adelaide get nothing and PD ends up at somewhere like Melbourne. Everyone loses (except Melbourne).

Adelaide and PD would lose most, Geelong will simply ensure they get all their other trade targets comfortably, keep a first pick and pursue another mid next year.

Adelaide will definitely match because the offer on the table before that stage would, presumably, still be there after so they could still accept it, perhaps the cats will panic into an upgraded pick, but if they don't, Adelaide will have to accept or risk getting nothing instead of whatever Geelong are offering (At least a first round pick better than the compensation pick).

The trade will be announced early next week and you can all relax (or continue to froth at the mouth, but turn it at your own club as if they know less than you do with your mad negotiating skillz.)
I'm relaxed, just curious.