Dangers kicking

• Thread starter Thread starter Gets!

Some days it seems really good, others he shanks everything. Not sure whats going on with it really.

I don't understand the prep work he does before he kicks the ball. He takes all this time lining up, then right before he kicks he spins the ball in random directions twice, sometimes not even ending up straight before he drops it.

He might as well just stand there and chuck it on the boot, given the stupid spinning motion.

Dangerfield also suffers a bit from Birdmanitis where he gets too caught up in the moment and tries to do too much at the wrong times. He needs to start to play smarter and realise that it's not always about trying to create the play of the day and that he doesnt always have to try and take on tacklers and play on everytime he has the ball.

I think in time, well I hope anyway that once he is more experienced he will play a smarter game of football.

His kicking has always been poor, it was the knock on him during his draft year, and while it has improved a little bit it remains poor.

Where are all those people suggesting he should play off the half back flank because of his "elite kicking"?

It's been swept under the rug by certain media commentators going as far as to call him "an elite kick", probably because they heard everyone saying how good he was and figured they'd jump on the bandwagon without actually bothering to find out what it is that makes him good.

He's another one of those players that you trust much more from 40m out than from 20m. His kicking for goal hurt us today, but he wasn't alone. I was more concerned by his desire to play on every time he got the ball. It's great when it works, but sometimes it's just not necessary and it cost us more often than it helped.

I think too much pressure on the young lad.

Number 32, should be next captain........etc, etc.

Only 20 ?......should be concentrating on his game, and nothing else.

Would have him playing for Port in a heart beat. Be patient.

It's been swept under the rug by certain media commentators going as far as to call him "an elite kick", probably because they heard everyone saying how good he was and figured they'd jump on the bandwagon without actually bothering to find out what it is that makes him good.

He's another one of those players that you trust much more from 40m out than from 20m. His kicking for goal hurt us today, but he wasn't alone. I was more concerned by his desire to play on every time he got the ball. It's great when it works, but sometimes it's just not necessary and it cost us more often than it helped.

Media commentators? I was talking about a thread on this board a few months ago.

His kicking action is fine.. however his execution is poor. I think as he matures he'll connect alot better with the footy, we just gotta be patient. I think his goal kicking routine can be better though, he can cut out the long run up and the spin of the ball- they're unnecessary I reckon. However it's probably his natural goal kicking routine so you don't want to change it too much.

Media commentators? I was talking about a thread on this board a few months ago.

Mate stop parading around like a complete know-it-all.

It was suggested (and rightly so) that Patrick be moved to the half-back line because it would allow him to get more uncontested ball, use his pace and ability to break the lines to advantage and because it's a position he played very well in his junior days. It's a move that has been suggested within the club but the selection commitee has yet to do it.

Patrick is a competent kick - not a poor one as you have claimed it to be - but not an elite one either. He had a shocker today but stop acting like you were completely right just because he had an off day in front of the sticks.

They replayed one that he sprayed with a close up on him and it told the story. His eyes lift at the last second - just like a golfer who isnt confident where he's going to hit it - and as a result he leans back slightly at impact, pushing everything right. He (and Porps) need to stop worrying about outcome and just worry about process.

In fact our whole team is guilty of trying to guide it through instead of kicking it to the back of the stand. Go back to basics, pick someone out in the crowd and kick it to them. Surely there's a coach who can teach this down there??

Dangerfield also suffers a bit from Birdmanitis where he gets too caught up in the moment and tries to do too much at the wrong times. He needs to start to play smarter and realise that it's not always about trying to create the play of the day and that he doesnt always have to try and take on tacklers and play on everytime he has the ball.

I think in time, well I hope anyway that once he is more experienced he will play a smarter game of football.

I think too much pressure on the young lad.

Number 32, should be next captain........etc, etc.

Only 20 ?......should be concentrating on his game, and nothing else.

Would have him playing for Port in a heart beat. Be patient.

Excellent points Sums it up well

If he gets a early one hell kick 3-4 he misses the first one long day ahead

I know that he's still young and has a lot of improvement left, but 1 goal 2 behinds and 3 out on the full could have cost us the game. In the end we didn't deserve to win it, but his accuracy was horrible. He wasn't alone though. Griffin's miss in the square was something you wouldn't expect in an under 12's match.

You guys can tell me to piss off, and i should be posting on my own board.

But when i feel i want to post i will. I really dont think you should be bagging Paddy ( at all ). You have a gem. A raw aussie rules gem. His bad kicking of late has only summed up your year. And there is no I in team.

He is very young. Still a rough diamond, but a very big rough diamond. He can play up forward with his height, and kick goals. He can play in the midfield with ferociousness, and win the hard ball, but gets too enthusiastic, and can harm himself. ( Who doesn't want that ?? ).

He can probably play any position on that football field, and show that he is giving 100%.

Ya can't bag him too much, only 20 years old. He wants that ball. I have quietly watched him all season. Very impressed.

I'll vouch that he'll win a Brownlow.

I dont think anyones bagging him per say. We all rate him very highly.

Its more the fact that his kicking still needs alot of work if he'll ever get to that brownlow level.
Yea i got a bit carried away there. He excites me like a young Nathan Buckley, Wayne Carey, Micheal Voss, Mark Ricciuto blah blah.

I don't understand the prep work he does before he kicks the ball. He takes all this time lining up, then right before he kicks he spins the ball in random directions twice, sometimes not even ending up straight before he drops it.

He might as well just stand there and chuck it on the boot, given the stupid spinning motion.

I've noticed the same thing. Surely if you would want the ball to be still and lined up as your kicking for goal. This needs to be eliminated as its one of the strangest routines Ive seen and doesnt make sense.

There is a few simply things which we were all taught from primary school to follow when goal kicking. And it shits me to tears that these professional players who have all week to work on this don't follow the simple steps.

- Momentum through the kick with a decent run up
- Head over the ball with weight forward (don't lean back)
- The guide hand to be as near to the ball as comfortable to keep the ball drop low
- Straight leg on follow through

Dangerfield would be lucky to tick one of those

( ) Momentum through the kick with a decent run up
( ) Head over the ball with weight forward (don't lean back)
( ) The guide hand to be as near to the ball as comfortable to keep the ball drop low
(x) Straight leg on follow through

Dont shoot me for asking this question guys but I am curious to hear what you think.

Do you think Craig made an error by referring to 'toughness' in relation to goal kicking? I heard one of your players mention it today so it obviously stuck in their minds.

It seems to me that is a great way to put a player under more pressure in front of the sticks, tell him 'toughness' will be questioned if he misses.

Dont shoot me for asking this question guys but I am curious to hear what you think.

Do you think Craig made an error by referring to 'toughness' in relation to goal kicking? I heard one of your players mention it today so it obviously stuck in their minds.

It seems to me that is a great way to put a player under more pressure in front of the sticks, tell him 'toughness' will be questioned if he misses.

He was definitely referring to mental toughness...not macho toughness. These guys get paid a shitload of money. Part of the job is kicking goals under pressure. If they had done their job, Port would have lost the showdown and richmond would have lost today.

You guys can tell me to piss off, and i should be posting on my own board.

But when i feel i want to post i will. I really dont think you should be bagging Paddy ( at all ). You have a gem. A raw aussie rules gem. His bad kicking of late has only summed up your year. And there is no I in team.
He is very young. Still a rough diamond, but a very big rough diamond. He can play up forward with his height, and kick goals. He can play in the midfield with ferociousness, and win the hard ball, but gets too enthusiastic, and can harm himself. ( Who doesn't want that ?? ).
He can probably play any position on that football field, and show that he is giving 100%.
Ya can't bag him too much, only 20 years old. He wants that ball. I have quietly watched him all season. Very impressed.

I'll vouch that he'll win a Brownlow.

Good post and good points this is why I would like to see D.Jarman at the club still and when you think about it Paddy could well turn out like Darren

But I agree with you this kid can play