Player Watch Daniel Curtin

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Imagine he had remained unsigned after how his season has been shaping. I wonder what sort of offers he would have started to field from out west
For sure 1mil+

We’ve done well re-signing our talented guys before they really break out. Rachele/Soligo/Thilthorpe/Curtin are all probably gonna be on less money than they’re worth for at least the next three seasons, after this one

For sure 1mil+

We’ve done well re-signing our talented guys before they really break out. Rachele/Soligo/Thilthorpe/Curtin are all probably gonna be on less money than they’re worth for at least the next three seasons, after this one
Hopefully a flag will ease the financial pain

I actually don't think he will either, but I hedged it by going on Ashcroft @ $3.25. If it's a 2 horse race then worst case and Ashcroft wins I end up +$25, best case Curtin wins and I'm +$500.
There must be plenty of money going on Curtin now though, also getting a few footy commentators pushing his case on Fox footy. I suppose it will depend on who the judge's have backed.

If you can think of similar players it would have to be Koutafides. Curtin 6cm is still taller, however Kouta was from a different era when mids/wings were smaller than they are now. Kouta also had a longer kick on him.

It’s the height mismatch / aerial threat that makes him a problem for opposition coaches, much like Kouta was from the wing. I think you can keep hitting the draft for the next 30 years and will struggle to find a player like Curtin.

I haven't watched it again since the initial replay, but at one stage Mark Keane was in the back pocket, scanning around like he does looking for options and ( i think ? ) it was getting to the point where he was about to maybe take on an opponent and try to slice a 30 metre kick into the danger area like he does sometimes, and then he's noticed Curtin and he's decided to just pop it up like you would in the school yard to give your mate a sit over someone's back -

Normally this would also be pretty low percentage but I reckon the players know that Curtin will eat those kinds of kicks up for breakfast, and he duly obliged with a great mark

I haven't watched it again since the initial replay, but at one stage Mark Keane was in the back pocket, scanning around like he does looking for options and ( i think ? ) it was getting to the point where he was about to maybe take on an opponent and try to slice a 30 metre kick into the danger area like he does sometimes, and then he's noticed Curtin and he's decided to just pop it up like you would in the school yard to give your mate a sit over someone's back -

Normally this would also be pretty low percentage but I reckon the players know that Curtin will eat those kinds of kicks up for breakfast, and he duly obliged with a great mark
Goddard?

Another highlights package to add to the every growing list

Kingy yesterday morning on SEN reckons he is clear favourtie now for the Rising star, was really singing his praises.

Wing really is his perfect role as can use all his weapons and run up and down the ground.

Absolutely cannot believe we have him playing for us..... Will be a top 5 player in comp in a few years while Norf has Zane Duursma playing ins the 2s.... :$

Kingy yesterday morning on SEN reckons he is clear favourtie now for the Rising star, was really singing his praises.

Wing really is his perfect role as can use all his weapons and run up and down the ground.

Absolutely cannot believe we have him playing for us..... Will be a top 5 player in comp in a few years while Norf has Zane Duursma playing ins the 2s.... :$
Does make me wonder if clubs had serious "go-home" concerns on him? We generally don't have the luxury of having Melbourne as a drawcard to recruit though so need to overlook that at times.

Any Crows fan who suffered through the torment of the mid-2000's Eagles would remember getting routinely torched by Andrew Embley up and down the wing, taking overhead marks and kicking goals seemingly at will. I imagine plenty of opposition supporters will be getting that same sinking feeling watching Dan roam the ground for us.

Does make me wonder if clubs had serious "go-home" concerns on him? We generally don't have the luxury of having Melbourne as a drawcard to recruit though so need to overlook that at times.
I think they may have had more concern over where his best position was moreso...it seemed to take us a while to settle him in the one role as well?

True for a while there Nicks believed his best position was all game on the sub bench

Reminder that Dan Curtin was playing Full-Back in the SANFL ~12 months ago. Staggering turnaround

14-15 months ago. Curtin was playing as a forward 12 months ago and was about to be recalled to our best 22.

That knee injury to Dan right at the start of last year is certainly one of the more interesting sliding door moments in this build. Absolutely no doubt Dan would have shot the lights out at CHB in our lineup once he settled, however it gave Keane the opportunity to win that spot (which Keane did and thensome), alongside Curtin being able to reinvent himself to being a gun winger within 15 months. By virtue of an injury, we have become a big time contender.

There aren't a lot of prospects who could quickly thrive after a body blow like that.

Another highlights package to add to the every growing list

While I think it’s great to see another 20+ possessions game, I saw 2 great spoils to bash the ball out of bounds. Shows he’s a great aerialist with the timing for marks and spoils. A spoil out of bounds is very handy to give the defense time to set their structures.

The highlights make me think he’s the one Crows player that looks closest to achieving a Bont-like career.

While I think it’s great to see another 20+ possessions game, I saw 2 great spoils to bash the ball out of bounds. Shows he’s a great aerialist with the timing for marks and spoils. A spoil out of bounds is very handy to give the defense time to set their structures.

The highlights make me think he’s the one Crows player that looks closest to achieving a Bont-like career.

It is basically criminal that Bont doesn't have 2 Brownlows and Cripps does